Enrolling a child for private general secondary education

In addition to public general secondary education, alternative forms of education are offered at post-primary level by some private educational institutions. Parents may enrol their child by paying a fee or by special agreement.

As is the case for public institutions, the aim of general secondary education in private schools is to impart general knowledge in areas such as literature, social sciences and humanities, mathematics and natural sciences. Studies in the upper cycle of secondary education lead to a secondary school diploma – either the Luxembourg version or an international one, both of which are recognised by universities and other higher institutions of higher learning, in Luxembourg and abroad.

Who is concerned

Private general secondary education is appropriate for students who have completed primary education and whose guiding decision certifying satisfactory knowledge in the basic primary subjects recommends this as a possible path.

How to proceed

There are 2 types of private educational institutions in Luxembourg:

  • private schools offering the same syllabi and preparing students for the same diplomas as the country’s public schools. These schools receive government subsidies;
  • international schools and the Waldorf School Luxembourg, which operate according to their own assessment and certification system. These schools form part of the private education system in Luxembourg, and as such, do not receive government subsidies.

7 of the private and international schools in Luxembourg welcome students for general secondary education – namely:

  • the Waldorf School Luxembourg;
  • St. George’s International School;
  • the International School of Luxembourg (ISL);
  • Ecole européenne de Luxembourg (EEL);
  • Ecole Privée Notre-Dame Sainte Sophie (EPND);
  • Ecole Privée Fieldgen; and
  • Lycée Vauban.

All of these schools are located in Luxembourg City. Certain international schools prepare their students for the exams and diplomas of the countries having approved their academic programmes:

  • Lycée Vauban offers the French Baccalauréat;
  • students at ISL can take part in the International Baccalaureate programme, with examinations in English at the end of their studies;
  • the EEL offers the European Baccalaureate, with examinations held at the end of the 7th year of secondary education. The diploma awarded to successful candidates is recognised in all EU countries and in various other countries around the world;
  • as part of the Waldorf School Luxembourg’s general secondary education programme, students can take part in the International Baccalaureate programme or pursue studies leading to the school’s own diploma.

The last 2 schools listed above – Fieldgen, exclusively for girls, and Sainte Sophie, a co-ed institution – offer academic programmes following the official curriculum established by the Ministry of National Education, Children and Youth (Ministère de l’Education nationale, de l’Enfance et de la jeunesse – MEN) and prepare students for the State diploma.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Last update

Inscrire un jeune dans l'enseignement secondaire général privé

En cours de mise à jour

A côté de l'enseignement secondaire général public, des alternatives pédagogiques sont proposées au niveau du cycle postprimaire par certains établissements d'enseignement privés. Les parents peuvent y inscrire leur enfant moyennant paiement d’une taxe ou convention spécifique.

De même que dans les établissements publics, l’enseignement secondaire général dispensé dans les lycées et écoles privés ont pour but de transmettre des connaissances générales dans des domaines comme la littérature, les sciences humaines, les mathématiques et les sciences naturelles. Le cycle supérieur secondaire se clôt par l’acquisition d’un diplôme de fin d’études secondaires luxembourgeois ou international (baccalauréat), qui donne accès aux universités et autres instituts supérieurs, au Luxembourg comme à l’étranger.

Personnes concernées

Sont concernés par l’enseignement secondaire général privé, les élèves qui ont terminé l’enseignement primaire et dont l’ avis d’orientation attestant des connaissances satisfaisantes dans les matières de base de l’enseignement primaire est favorable pour cette voie de formation.

Modalités pratiques

Il existe 2 types de structure scolaire privée :

  • les écoles privées qui offrent les mêmes programmes et préparent aux mêmes diplômes que les écoles publiques du pays. Elles bénéficient des subventions de l’Etat ;
  • les écoles internationales et l’Ecole Waldorf qui fonctionnent selon un système d’évaluation et de certification qui leur est propre. Ces écoles font partie de l’enseignement privé non subventionné par l’Etat.

Parmi les établissements privés et écoles internationales du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg, 7 accueillent les élèves pour le cycle secondaire général, à savoir :

  • Ecole Waldorf ;
  • St. George’s International School ;
  • International School of Luxembourg (ISL) ;
  • Ecole européenne de Luxembourg (EEL) ;
  • Ecole privée Notre-Dame Sainte-Sophie (EPND) ;
  • Ecole privée Fieldgen ;
  • Lycée français Vauban.

Tous ces établissements ont leur siège à Luxembourg-Ville. Certaines écoles internationales assurent la préparation aux examens et diplômes de l’état qui a homologué leurs programmes :

  • le lycée Vauban délivre le Baccalauréat français ;
  • à l’ISL, l’élève peut passer le Bac International en langue anglaise en fin de cursus ;
  • l’EEL délivre le Baccalauréat européen, qui sanctionne à la fin de la 7e année les études du cycle secondaire. Le diplôme délivré à l’issue des examens est reconnu dans tous les pays de l’Union européenne ainsi que dans un certain nombre d’autres pays ;
  • dans le cadre de l’enseignement secondaire classique à l’école Waldorf, l’adolescent peut choisir de passer le Bac International ou le diplôme de fin d’études Waldorf.

Les 2 écoles privées Fieldgen (réservée aux jeunes filles) et Sainte Sophie (établissement mixte) dispensent leurs cours en suivant les programmes officiels du ministère de l’Education nationale, de l'Enfance et de la Jeunesse (MEN) et préparent les élèves aux diplômes de l'Etat.

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le