Entering into a credit agreement when a consumer is already in default on the initial credit agreement

Besides traditional consumer credit agreements, there are more specific agreements, including credit agreements that provide for payment terms in which the terms and conditions of repayment are covered by an agreement between the lender and a consumer when the latter is already in default on an initial agreement, and:

  • such an agreement would avert legal proceedings for default of payment; and
  • the consumer is thus not subject to provisions less favourable than those in the initial agreement.

Who is concerned

Professional lenders as well as consumers who are taking on or have taken on consumer credit.

Prerequisites

The lender or credit intermediary is subject to an obligation to provide pre-contractual information.

Thus, before entering into a contract, the lender or credit intermediary must provide the consumer with the information necessary to compare the various offers and make an informed decision as to whether to enter into a credit agreement. Such information should relate to the clauses and credit conditions being offered, based on the preferences expressed and the information provided by the consumer.

The information must be provided either on paper or on another durable medium, such as e-mail, using a specific form (the "Standard European Consumer Credit Information Form"), and include, in particular:

  • the type of credit;
  • the total amount of credit;
  • the duration of the credit agreement;
  • the interest rate;
  • if applicable, the length of time for which the lender is bound by the pre-contractual information, etc.

See the full list of information to be provided to the consumer by the lender or credit intermediary.

In the case of communication by telephone, and if the consumer asks for an overdraft facility to be immediately available, the following information must be provided to the consumer:

  • the total amount of credit;
  • the lending rate, as well as all of its components;
  • the effective annual percentage rate, illustrated through representative examples;
  • the terms and conditions for termination of the credit agreement;

At the consumer's request, the consumer must also receive, at no cost, a copy of the draft credit agreement containing the information that must be included in all credit agreements, to the extent that the type of agreement entered into is subject to the obligation to include such information in the credit agreement. If at the time of the request, the lender knows that it does not intend to enter into an agreement with the consumer, it is not required to send the consumer a copy.

It should be noted that these pre-contractual obligations do not apply to suppliers of goods or services who act as credit intermediaries as a secondary line of business.

How to proceed

Conclusion of the contract

The credit agreement is drafted on paper or on any other durable medium and each party receives a signed copy.

In addition, the following information must appear on a contract which was entered into by an agreement between the lender and the consumer when the consumer is in default of payment for the initial contract, in particular:

  • the type of credit;
  • the duration of the credit agreement;
  • the total amount of credit and the direct debit conditions;
  • the interest rate;
  • where applicable, the amortisation schedule, etc.

See the full list of information to be provided in the agreement.

If the agreement specifies that the payments made by the consumer do not immediately amortise the total credit amount, but instead are used to replenish the capital at the times and under the terms provided for in the credit contract, or an ancillary contract, the contract should clearly state that the credit agreement does not provide for a guarantee of repayment of the total amount of the credit debited from the consumer's account, unless such a guarantee is given.

If at the consumer's request, the agreement is entered into using a remote means of communication that does not enable such information to be provided, the lender must send the required contractual information immediately after conclusion of the contract.

Post-contractual obligations

Consumers must be informed of any change in the borrowing rate (interest rate) before the change enters into force. Notification must be given in paper form or another durable medium.

The amount to be paid after the new rate has entered into force must be specified. If the number or frequency of the payments has changed, this must be indicated.

If the change in the borrowing rate is caused by a change in the reference rate, and the new rate is made public by appropriate means, and the information concerning the new reference rate is also available on the premises of the lender, the consumer and the lender may agree that the consumer is to receive periodical information on changes in the borrowing rate.

Early repayment

Repayment procedure

The consumer may, at any time, repay in advance, either fully or partially, the amount provided for in the credit agreement. In that case, the consumer is entitled to a reduction of the total cost of the credit, which corresponds to the interest and charges due for the remaining term of the contract.

They must notify the lender, on paper or on any other durable medium, of their intention to repay the credit.

As soon as the lender has received notification of the consumer's intention, they must provide the consumer with the exact amount of the reduction in the total cost of the credit. Where applicable, the lender must also inform the consumer of the amount of the compensation due for early repayment.

Compensation to be paid to the lender

In the case of early repayment, the lender has the right to ask the consumer to pay fair and objectively justified compensation for any costs directly linked to the early repayment of the credit, provided that:

  • the amount of the early repayment exceeds EUR 10,000.00 over a twelve-month period; and
  • the early repayment of the credit occurs at a time when the lending rate is fixed.

No compensation is due if the repayment was made under an insurance contract providing a credit repayment guarantee or in the case of overdraft facilities. The same applies if early repayment falls within a period for which the borrowing rate is not fixed.

The amount of the compensation may not exceed:

  • 1% of the repaid amount, if the length of time remaining until the agreed termination of the credit agreement exceeds one year;
  • 0.5% of the repaid amount, if the length of time remaining until the agreed termination of the credit agreement does not exceed one year.

The lender may exceptionally claim higher compensation if they can prove that the loss they suffered from early repayment exceeds the threshold defined by law. If the compensation claimed by the lender exceeds the loss actually suffered, the consumer may claim a corresponding reduction in the compensation.

Any compensation owing to the lender may not exceed the amount of interest the consumer would have paid had they not repaid the credit before the termination of the credit agreement.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Conclure un contrat de crédit lorsque le consommateur est déjà en situation de défaut de paiement pour le contrat de crédit initial

A côté du contrat traditionnel de crédit à la consommation existent des contrats plus spécifiques, dont notamment les contrats de crédit qui prévoient des délais de paiement où les modes de remboursement font l’objet d’un accord entre le prêteur et le consommateur lorsque celui-ci est déjà en défaut de paiement pour le contrat initial, et que :

  • un tel accord écarterait une procédure judiciaire pour défaut de paiement ; et
  • le consommateur n’est ainsi pas soumis à des dispositions moins favorables que celles du contrat initial.

Personnes concernées

Sont concernés les prêteurs professionnels ainsi que les consommateurs qui concluent ou ont conclu un crédit à la consommation.

Conditions préalables

Le prêteur ou l’intermédiaire de crédit est soumis à une obligation d’information précontractuelle.

Ainsi, avant la conclusion du contrat, le prêteur ou l’intermédiaire de crédit doit donner au consommateur, sur la base des clauses et conditions du crédit proposé et en fonction des préférences exprimées par le consommateur et des informations données par lui, les éléments nécessaires à la comparaison de différentes offres pour prendre une décision en connaissance de cause.

Ces informations doivent être fournies à l’aide d’un document papier ou d’un autre support durable (p.ex. par email), et sur base d’un formulaire spécifique ("informations européennes normalisées en matière de crédit au consommateur"), et portent notamment sur :

  • le type de crédit ;
  • le montant total du crédit ;
  • la durée du contrat de crédit ;
  • le taux d’intérêt ;
  • le cas échéant, le délai pendant lequel le prêteur est lié par les informations précontractuelles, etc.

Consulter la liste complète des informations que le prêteur ou l’intermédiaire doit fournir au consommateur.

En cas de communication par téléphone et si le consommateur demande à ce que la facilité de découvert soit immédiatement disponible, les éléments suivants doivent obligatoirement être communiqués au consommateur :

  • le montant total du crédit ;
  • le taux débiteur ainsi que tous les éléments qui s’y rapportent ;
  • le taux annuel effectif global illustré à l’aide d’exemples ;
  • les conditions et modalités pour résilier le contrat de crédit.

A la demande du consommateur, celui-ci reçoit également, sans frais, un exemplaire du projet de contrat de crédit contenant les informations qui doivent figurer dans tout contrat de crédit, pour autant que le type de contrat conclu soit soumis à l’obligation de faire figurer ces informations dans le contrat de crédit. Si au moment de la demande, le prêteur sait qu’il n’a pas l’intention de conclure de contrat avec le consommateur, il n’est pas tenu de lui en transmettre un exemplaire.

A noter que ces obligations précontractuelles ne s’appliquent pas aux fournisseurs de biens ou prestataires de services qui agissent en tant qu’intermédiaires de crédit à titre accessoire.

Modalités pratiques

Conclusion du contrat

Le contrat de crédit est établi sur un support papier ou sur un autre support durable, et chaque partie en reçoit un exemplaire signé.

De plus, plusieurs informations doivent apparaître sur le contrat qui a été conclu par accord entre le prêteur et le consommateur lorsque ce dernier est en situation de défaut de paiement pour le contrat initial, dont notamment :

  • le type de crédit ;
  • la durée du contrat de crédit ;
  • le montant du crédit et les conditions de prélèvement ;
  • le taux d’intérêt ;
  • le cas échéant, le tableau d’amortissement, etc.

Consulter la liste complète des informations devant figurer dans le contrat.

Si le contrat mentionne que les paiements effectués par le consommateur n’entraînent pas immédiatement un amortissement correspondant du montant total du crédit, mais servent à reconstituer le capital aux périodes et dans les conditions prévues par le contrat de crédit ou par un contrat accessoire, il doit indiquer clairement que ce type de contrat de crédit ne comporte pas de garantie de remboursement total du crédit prélevé, sauf si une telle garantie est donnée.

Si le contrat a été conclu, à la demande du consommateur, à l’aide d’un moyen de communication à distance qui ne permet pas de fournir ces informations, le prêteur communique immédiatement après la conclusion du contrat les informations contractuelles requises.

Obligations post-contractuelles

Le consommateur doit être informé du changement du taux débiteur (taux d’intérêt) avant que la modification du taux n’entre en vigueur. Il doit être informé à l’aide d’un support papier ou d’un autre support durable.

Le montant des paiements à effectuer après l’entrée en vigueur du nouveau taux doivent être indiqués. Il est également précisé si le nombre ou la périodicité des paiements doit changer.

Si la modification du taux d’intérêt résulte d’une modification d’un taux de référence, que le nouveau taux est rendu public par des moyens appropriés et que l’information relative au nouveau taux de référence est également disponible dans les locaux du prêteur, le consommateur et le prêteur peuvent prévoir que le consommateur reçoive périodiquement des informations sur le changement du taux débiteur.

Remboursement anticipé

Procédure de remboursement

A tout moment, le consommateur peut rembourser en avance, soit intégralement, soit partiellement, le contrat de crédit. Il a alors droit à une réduction du coût total du crédit, qui correspond aux intérêts et frais dus pour la durée résiduelle du contrat.

Le consommateur doit indiquer son intention de remboursement au prêteur par écrit ou sur un autre support durable.

Dès que le prêteur est informé de la volonté de remboursement du consommateur, il communique sans délai à ce dernier le montant exact de la réduction du coût total du crédit. Le cas échéant, le prêteur informe également le consommateur du montant de l’indemnité de compensation que le consommateur devra lui verser.

Indemnité à verser au prêteur

En cas de remboursement anticipé, le prêteur a le droit de demander au  consommateur le versement d’une indemnité équitable et objectivement justifiée pour les coûts éventuels liés directement au remboursement anticipé du crédit, sous réserve que :

  • le montant du remboursement anticipé dépasse 10.000 euros au cours d’une période de douze mois ; et
  • que le remboursement anticipé du crédit se fasse à un moment où le taux débiteur est fixe.

Aucune indemnité n’est due si le remboursement anticipé a été effectué dans le cadre d’un contrat d’assurance garantissant le remboursement du crédit ou en cas de facilité de découvert sur un compte bancaire. Il en va de même lorsque le remboursement anticipé intervient dans une période pour laquelle le taux débiteur n’est pas fixe.

Le montant de l’indemnité de compensation ne peut pas dépasser :

  • 1% du montant remboursé s’il reste encore plus d’un an à courir jusqu’à la fin du crédit ;
  • 0,5 % du montant remboursé s’il reste moins d’un an à courir jusqu’à la fin du crédit.

Le prêteur peut toutefois exceptionnellement demander une indemnité supérieure à ce plafond s’il peut prouver qu’il a subi un préjudice qui dépasse le plafond fixé légalement. Si l’indemnité demandée par le prêteur dépasse le préjudice effectivement subi, le consommateur peut réclamer une réduction de l’indemnité à due concurrence.

L’indemnité à verser au prêteur ne peut cependant pas être supérieure à la somme des intérêts que le consommateur aurait dû payer s’il n’avait pas remboursé le crédit avant sa fin.

Organismes de contact

Double click pour activer la carte
Dernière modification le