Your questions

Staying/working in Luxembourg as a British citizen

I am a British citizen in possession of a registration certificate in Luxembourg. Why will I need a new residence document once the United Kingdom leaves the European Union?

Pursuant to Directive 2004/38 on the free movement of persons, the registration certificate was issued to British citizens and their family members, as were other residence documents (permanent residence certificate, residence permit and permanent residence permit).

However, after the United Kingdom’s withdrawal from the EU, the right of residence of British citizens and their family members will no longer derive from Directive 2004/38, but from the Withdrawal Agreement.

Your residence document issued before the United Kingdom’s withdrawal from the EU will be replaced by a new residence document valid from the end of the transition period. The exact details of the replacement procedure are available here:

The new residence document will specify that the holder is covered by the Withdrawal Agreement, which will allow them to exercise the specific rights that derive therefrom.

Do I need to register or submit a special application to get the new residence document?
I am a British citizen and I live and work in Luxembourg. Will I need a special permit to continue working in Luxembourg after Brexit?

No.

British citizens will not need a specific permit to exercise the right to work in Luxembourg, as they are entitled to work in any European Union Member State under the terms of the Withdrawal Agreement.

I am a British citizen and I work in Luxembourg, but live in France. Will I be allowed to continue working in Luxembourg after Brexit?

Yes.

Under the Withdrawal Agreement, British citizens will continue to enjoy the right to engage in a professional activity as a cross-border worker in a European Union Member State after the end of the transition period, if the paid activity started before the end of the transition period. The Withdrawal Agreement defines a cross-border worker as a person who works in one Member State and lives in another Member State, to which they return, in principle, every day or at least once a week.

In Luxembourg, it is anticipated that those concerned can request a document certifying their rights deriving from the Agreement after the 31st of December 2020. The exact details will be set out at a later date.

I am married to a British citizen and I am a third country national (non-EU and non-UK). Will I be allowed to stay in Luxembourg after Brexit?

Yes.

A third country national who is a family member of a British citizen covered by the Withdrawal Agreement will also benefit from the rights deriving from the Withdrawal Agreement. They will continue to enjoy their right of residence in Luxembourg after Brexit for as long as they fulfill the conditions for recognition as a family member of a British citizen. They will keep that right even after the end of the transition period.

However, they must dispose of a new residence document attesting their status as beneficiary of the Withdrawal Agreement and which replaces their current residence document (residence permit, permanent residence permit). The exact details of the replacement procedure are available here:

I am married to a British citizen and am, myself, a citizen of another EU Member State. Will I be allowed to stay in Luxembourg after Brexit?

Yes.

A British citizen’s family member who is an EU citizen will continue to enjoy the right of residence.

As the family member can avail themselves of their right of residence as an EU citizen, their current residence document (registration certificate or certificate of permanent residence) remains valid and they are not obliged to apply for a new document.

However, since the family member is also a beneficiary of the Withdrawal Agreement, they can apply for a new residence document to be issued in this capacity if they so wish.

I am a British national but also have the nationality of another EU Member State. Do I have to take any steps to obtain a new residence document?

No, not necessarily.

British nationals, who hold dual nationality [British nationality and a nationality of a European Union Member State or of one of the other states that have acceded to the Agreement on the European Economic Area (Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein or of the Swiss Confederation)], may avail themselves of the rights deriving from their second nationality and are not obliged to request a new document.

However, since the persons holding dual nationality are also beneficiaries of the Withdrawal Agreement, they can apply for a new residence document to be issued in this capacity if they so wish.

I am a British citizen and I work in Luxembourg. What will happen to my social security affiliation after the United Kingdom’s withdrawal from the European Union?

Persons working in Luxembourg are covered by social security regardless of their nationality. British citizens in this situation remain covered by the Luxembourg social security so long as they work in Luxembourg. As such, they continue to be covered for:

  • healthcare;
  • illness;
  • long-term care;
  • work-related accidents or illnesses;
  • pension;
  • family allowances.
Last update

Vos questions

Séjour et travail du ressortissant britannique au Luxembourg

Je suis ressortissant britannique et dispose d’une attestation d’enregistrement au Luxembourg. Pourquoi dois-je disposer d’un nouveau document de séjour après le retrait du Royaume-Uni de l’Union européenne ?

L’attestation d’enregistrement a été délivrée sur base de la directive 2004/38 sur la libre circulation des personnes, de même que les autres documents de séjour délivrés aux ressortissants britanniques et leurs membres de famille (attestation de séjour permanent, carte de séjour, carte de séjour permanent).

Or, après le retrait du Royaume-Uni de l'Union européenne, le droit de séjour des ressortissants britanniques, et leurs membres de famille, ne découlera plus de la directive 2004/38, mais de l’Accord de retrait.

Votre document de séjour délivré avant le retrait devra être remplacé par un nouveau document de séjour qui sera valable dès la fin de la période de transition. Les modalités exactes de la procédure de remplacement sont disponibles sur cette page :

Le nouveau document de séjour indiquera que le détenteur tombe sous le champ d’application de l’Accord de retrait, ce qui facilitera aux concernés de faire valoir les droits spécifiques découlant de cet Accord.

Est-ce que je dois m’enregistrer ou faire une demande spécifique pour obtenir le nouveau document de séjour ?
Je suis ressortissant britannique et je réside et travaille au Luxembourg. Est-ce que j’ai besoin d’une autorisation spécifique pour continuer à travailler au Luxembourg après le Brexit ?

Non.

Les ressortissants britanniques n’ont pas besoin d’une autorisation spécifique au Luxembourg pour faire valoir le droit de travailler dans un Etat membre de l'Union européenne, selon les dispositions de l'Accord de retrait.  

Je suis ressortissant britannique et je travaille au Luxembourg, mais je réside en France. Est-ce que j’ai le droit de continuer à travailler au Luxembourg après le Brexit ?

Oui.

L’Accord de retrait dispose que les ressortissants britanniques gardent le droit d’exercer une activité professionnelle en tant que travailleur frontalier dans un Etat membre de l’Union européenne après la fin de la période de transition, si l'activité salariée a débuté avant la fin de la période de transition. L’Accord de retrait définit qu’un travailleur frontalier est un travailleur qui est occupé sur le territoire d’un Etat membre et qui séjourne sur le territoire d’un autre Etat, où il retourne en principe chaque jour ou au moins une fois par semaine.

Au Luxembourg, il est prévu que les personnes concernées peuvent demander un document attestant les droits découlant de l’Accord après le 31 décembre 2020. Les modalités exactes seront précisées ultérieurement.

Je suis conjoint d’un ressortissant britannique et j’ai moi-même une nationalité d’un pays tiers (pays non-UE et non-UK). Est-ce que j’ai le droit de séjourner au Luxembourg après le Brexit ?

Oui.

Le ressortissant de pays tiers, qui est membre de famille d’un ressortissant britannique tombant sous le champ d’application de l’Accord de retrait, bénéficie de droits découlant de cet Accord de retrait. Il garde son droit de séjour au Luxembourg après le Brexit, tant qu’il remplit les conditions pour être reconnu comme membre de famille d’un ressortissant britannique. Il garde ce droit même après la fin de la phase de transition.

Il doit toutefois disposer d’un nouveau document de séjour qui atteste de sa qualité de bénéficiaire de l’Accord de retrait et qui remplace son document de séjour actuel (carte de séjour, carte de séjour permanent). Les modalités exactes de la procédure de remplacement sont disponibles sur cette page :

Je suis conjoint d’un ressortissant britannique et j’ai moi-même la nationalité d’un autre Etat membre de l’Union. Est-ce que j’ai le droit de séjourner au Luxembourg après le Brexit ?

Oui.

Le membre de famille d’un ressortissant britannique, qui est lui-même citoyen de l’Union, garde son droit de séjour.

Comme le membre de famille peut se prévaloir de son droit de séjour en tant que citoyen de l’Union, son document de séjour actuel (attestation d’enregistrement ou attestation de séjour permanent) garde sa validité et il n'est pas obligé de solliciter un nouveau document.

Toutefois, comme le membre de famille est également bénéficiaire de l’Accord de retrait, il peut faire une demande de délivrance d’un nouveau document de séjour à ce titre s’il le souhaite.

Je suis ressortissant britannique mais j’ai également la nationalité d’un autre Etat membre de l’Union. Est-ce que je dois faire des démarches pour obtenir un nouveau document de séjour ?

Non, pas obligatoirement.

Le ressortissant britannique qui détient une double nationalité (nationalité britannique et une nationalité d’un État membre de l’Union européenne ou d’un des autres États ayant adhéré à l’Accord sur l’Espace économique européen (Norvège, Islande, Liechtenstein ou de la Confédération suisse) peut se prévaloir des droits découlant de sa deuxième nationalité et il n’est pas obligé de solliciter un nouveau document.

Toutefois, comme les personnes détenant une double nationalité sont également bénéficiaires de l’Accord de retrait, elles peuvent faire une demande de délivrance d’un nouveau document de séjour à ce titre si elles le souhaitent.

Je suis ressortissant britannique et je travaille au Luxembourg. Qu’en est-il de mon affiliation à la sécurité sociale après le retrait du Royaume-Uni de l'Union européenne ?

Les personnes qui travaillent au Luxembourg sont affiliées à la sécurité sociale, quelle que soit leur nationalité.  Les ressortissants britanniques dans cette situation continuent donc à être affiliés à la sécurité sociale luxembourgeoise tant qu’ils travaillent au Luxembourg. Ils continuent donc à être couverts pour :

  • les soins de santé ;
  • la maladie ;
  • la dépendance ;
  • les accidents du travail et maladies professionnelles ;
  • la pension ;
  • les prestations familiales.
Dernière modification le