Registration for social security of a resident employee

This page was last modified on 28-08-2013

Any person carrying out a paid professional activity in Luxembourg must be affiliated to the Luxembourg social security bodies and administrations. A person residing in Luxembourg and carrying out his activity outside the Grand Duchy may also be affiliated to Luxembourg social security.

This affiliation at the Joint Social Security Centre (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale - CCSS) aims to provide cover for the employee in terms of sickness and maternity insurance, pension insurance, accident insurance and long-term care insurance. The CCSS is the body responsible for the registration of affiliations and collection of contributions for all social security institutions.

The contributions related to the different types of insurance are deducted directly by the employer from the insured party's income.

Moreover, family members benefit from co-insured status for sickness insurance, if they are not insured themselves.

Forms / Online services

Carry out your procedure:

Who is concerned

Competent socio-professional bodies and administrations

Each person carrying out a paid professional activity is affiliated to the Joint Social Security Centre (CCSS) and benefits from sickness and maternity insurance provided by the competent administration responsible for his socio-professional regime.

The National Health Fund (Caisse nationale de santé - CNS or "Gesondheetskees") covers the private sector, the Public-Sector Civil Servants and Employees Health Fund (Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés publics) or the Communal Civil Servants and Employees Health Fund (Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés communaux) is responsible for the public sector and the CFL Mutual Assistance (Entraide médicale des CFL) for Luxembourg railway workers.

Employees carrying out occasional activities

Employees who carry out their activity occasionally are exempt from compulsory sickness-maternity and pension insurance.
When submitting the declaration of start of employment to the CCSS in paper format or via SECUline, the employer must tick the "occasional occupation" box in order for these employees to be exempt from affiliation.

The following are considered as employees who carry out an occasional activity:

  • those who work occasionally and on an irregular basis, and;
  • those who work for a specified period, established in advance and which must not exceed 3 months per calendar year.
The following activities are also exempt from affiliation: unpaid business activities exercised as a main or accessory activity and where the professional income does not exceed 1/3 of the annual minimum social wage. These persons may nevertheless register for social security insurance voluntarily, provided they are Luxembourg residents.

Family members

Dependent family members covered by the principal insured residing in Luxembourg benefit from the protection related to the affiliation to sickness insurance as co-insured parties, on condition that they are not individually affiliated. This sickness insurance covers:

  • the spouse;
  • the declared partner;
  • parents and direct or collateral relatives up to the third degree who are part of the principal insured's household;
  • children entitled to family allowance;
  • children under 30 years of age whose resources do not exceed the guaranteed minimum income (RMG) for a single person.

Students

Students covered by compulsory or voluntary affiliation to the CCSS also benefit from sickness insurance.

Carrying out an activity in various countries

A Luxembourg resident carrying out a professional activity in various Member States of the European Union (EU) is affiliated to the CCSS in Luxembourg, on condition that he carries out a substantial part of his activity in Luxembourg.

The notion of 'substantial activity' applies to:

  • the working time and/or the remuneration for an employee;
  • turnover, working time, income and the services provided, for a self-employed worker.

In the opposite case, when a substantial part of his activity is carried out in another Member State of the European Union, a Luxembourg resident may however take advantage of the benefits in kind in Luxembourg.

Prerequisites

Carrying out a paid activity for an employer in Luxembourg involves compulsory affiliation of the employee to the CCSS and enables co-insured parties to benefit from sickness insurance on request.

As soon as the employee is registered at the CCSS, his health insurance covers healthcare costs and pays sickness benefit, which aims to compensate for the loss of professional income. In order to be eligible for maternity benefits, the person must already have been affiliated for least 6 months during the 12 months prior to the maternity leave or adoption leave (in the event of adoption of one or more children).

How to proceed

Carrying out a paid activity in Luxembourg

Within 8 days of the employee's entry into service, the employer must register the worker with the Joint Social Security Centre (CCSS) by submitting a start of employment declaration form for private-sector employees or for public-sector employees.

Registration of co-insured parties with social security

Each family member who is a co-insured party within the family is only registered for social security through the principal insured, i.e. the person with whom the family member lives in the same household or who sees to the family member's maintenance and education.

When these conditions are fulfilled for several principal insured parties (for example, for children whose parents both carry out a paid activity in Luxembourg), they are covered by the eldest principal insured.

In order to benefit from co-insurance, the principal insured or the person who whishes to be co-insured have to submit an application to the Joint Social Security Centre (CCSS) and state the identity and ties to the principal insured. The application can be made in person at the counter, by phone, email, fax or post. Supporting documents such a a copy of the family record book or a schooling certificate may be requested in order to allow for the person to be co-insured.

Carrying out a substantial part of the activity outside of the Grand Duchy and residing in Luxembourg

The person will be insured by the social security body of the State where he carries out the main part of his activity. However, the principal insured and his family members resident in Luxembourg are entitled to benefits in kind in Luxembourg.

To this end, it is necessary to apply to the administration in the State where the insured person carries out the main part of his activity for an S1 certificate and to submit it to the competent health insurance fund, i.e. the CNS for private-sector employees.

Where applicable, the CNS will inform the bodies and administrations of the country of affiliation of the existence of family members, in order for them to be registered as co-insured parties.

Following his official affiliation to the Luxembourg social security, the affiliated party (principal insured or co-insured party) will receive their social security card automatically.

The newly affiliated employee is requested to undergo a pre-employment medical examination with the competent Occupational Health Service.

Who to contact

125, route d'Esch
L-2975 - Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 40141-1
Fax: (+352) 40 44 81

Opening hours
08.00 - 16.00
125, route d'Esch
L-1471 - Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 27 57-1
Email cns@secu.lu

Affiliation du salarié résident

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 28-08-2013

Toute personne exerçant une occupation professionnelle rémunérée au Luxembourg est affiliée de manière obligatoire auprès des organismes de la sécurité sociale luxembourgeoise. Une personne résidant au Luxembourg et exerçant son activité en dehors du Grand-Duché peut également être affiliée auprès de la sécurité sociale luxembourgeoise.

Cette affiliation auprès du Centre commun de la sécurité sociale (CCSS) vise à couvrir le salarié en matière d'assurance maladie-maternité, d'assurance pension, d'assurance accident et d'assurance dépendance. Le CCSS est le centre d'affiliation et de perception des cotisations pour toutes les institutions de sécurité sociale.

L’employeur doit prélever directement sur les revenus de l'assuré les cotisations relatives aux différentes branches d’assurance.

Par ailleurs, les membres de famille bénéficient à titre de coassurés de l’assurance maladie, pour autant qu’ils ne soient pas assurés à titre personnel.

Formulaires / Services en ligne

Effectuez votre démarche

Personnes concernées

Organisme socioprofessionnel compétent

Toute personne exerçant une activité professionnelle rémunérée est affiliée auprès du Centre commun de la sécurité sociale (CCSS) et bénéficie des prestations de l'assurance maladie-maternité par le biais de l'organisme compétent selon son régime socioprofessionnel.

Il s’agit de la Caisse nationale de santé (CNS ou "Gesondheetskees") pour le secteur privé, de la Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés publics ou de la Caisse de maladie des fonctionnaires et employés communaux pour le secteur public et de l’Entraide médicale des CFL pour les salariés des chemins de fer luxembourgeois.

Salariés exerçant une activité occasionnelle

Les salariés qui exercent leur activité de manière occasionnelle sont dispensés des cotisations de l'assurance obligatoire maladie-maternité et pension.
Lors de la déclaration d’entrée du salarié au CCSS en version papier ou via SECUline, l'employeur doit alors cocher la case "occupation occasionnelle", afin que ces salariés puissent bénéficier d'une dispense d'affiliation.

Sont considérés comme occasionnels les salariés qui exercent une activité professionnelle :

  • de façon occasionnelle et non habituelle et ;
  • pour une durée déterminée à l'avance, qui ne doit pas dépasser 3 mois par année de calendrier.
Sont également dispensées d’affiliation, les activités non salariées exercées à titre principal ou accessoire, lorsque le revenu professionnel retiré ne dépasse pas 1/3 du salaire social minimum par an. Ces personnes peuvent néanmoins s'affilier volontairement, à condition notamment d'être résidentes au Grand-Duché.

Membres de famille

Les membres de la famille à charge de l’assuré principal résidant au Luxembourg bénéficient de la protection liée à l’affiliation à l’assurance maladie au titre de coassurés, à condition de ne pas être affiliés personnellement. Ce bénéfice de l’assurance maladie s’étend :

  • au conjoint ;
  • au partenaire déclaré ;
  • au parent et allié en ligne directe ou collatérale jusqu’au 3e degré qui fait partie du ménage de l’assuré principal ;
  • aux enfants ouvrant droit aux allocations familiales ;
  • aux enfants de moins de 30 ans qui disposent de ressources inférieures au revenu minimum garanti (RMG) pour une personne seule.

Etudiants

Les étudiants, affiliés à titre obligatoire ou volontaire auprès du CCSS, bénéficient également des prestations de l’assurance maladie.

Exercice d’une activité sur plusieurs territoires

Le résident luxembourgeois exerçant une activité professionnelle sur le territoire de plusieurs Etats membres de l’Union européenne (UE) est affilié auprès du CCSS au Luxembourg, à condition qu’il exerce une partie substantielle de son activité au Luxembourg.

La notion d'activité substantielle s'apprécie en fonction :

  • du temps de travail et/ou de la rémunération pour un salarié ;
  • du chiffre d'affaires, du temps de travail, du revenu et des services prestés pour les travailleurs indépendants.

Dans le cas contraire, lorsque l’exercice de l’activité substantielle se déroule sur le territoire d’un autre Etat membre, le résident luxembourgeois pourra néanmoins bénéficier des prestations en nature au Luxembourg.

Conditions préalables

L’exercice d’une activité salariée auprès d’un employeur au Luxembourg implique l’affiliation obligatoire du salarié auprès du CCSS et permet l’extension sur demande du bénéfice de l’assurance maladie aux coassurés.

Dès l’affiliation auprès du CCSS, l’assurance maladie donne lieu à la  prise en charge des soins de santé et au paiement de l’indemnité pécuniaire de maladie, visant à compenser la perte de revenu professionnel. L’octroi de l’indemnité pécuniaire de maternité est subordonné à l’affiliation obligatoire préalable pendant au moins 6 mois au cours de l’année précédant le congé de maternité ou le congé d’accueil (pris en cas d'adoption d'un ou plusieurs enfants).

Modalités pratiques

Exercice d’une activité salariée au Luxembourg

Dans les 8 jours de l’entrée en service du salarié, l’employeur déclare le travailleur auprès du Centre commun de la sécurité sociale (CCSS) moyennant une déclaration d’entrée pour salarié du secteur privé ou pour salarié du secteur public.

Affiliation des coassurés à la sécurité sociale

Tout membre coassuré au sein de la famille ne bénéficie d'une affiliation à la sécurité sociale que par rapport à un seul assuré principal, à savoir celui avec qui il vit en communauté domestique ou qui lui assure l’éducation et l’entretien.

Lorsque ces conditions sont remplies à l’égard de plusieurs assurés principaux (par exemple pour les enfants dont les 2 parents exercent une activité salariée au Luxembourg), la protection opère dans le chef de l’assuré principal le plus âgé.

Pour bénéficier du statut de coassuré, l’assuré principal ou la personne souhaitant être coassurée doit introduire une demande auprès du Centre commun de la sécurité sociale (CCSS) en précisant l’identité et le lien avec l’assuré principal. Cette demande peut se faire au guichet, par téléphone, e-mail, fax ou par courrier. Des pièces justificatives telles qu'une copie du livret de famille ou un certificat de scolarité peuvent être demandées afin de pouvoir justifier une situation permettant de devenir coassuré.

Exercice d’une activité substantielle hors du Grand-Duché et résidence au Luxembourg

La personne sera assurée auprès de l’organisme de sécurité sociale de l’Etat du lieu où est exercée l’activité substantielle. Cependant, l’assuré principal et les membres de sa famille résidents au Luxembourg bénéficient des prestations en nature au Luxembourg.

A cette fin, il est nécessaire de demander auprès de l’organisme de l’Etat du lieu de l’exercice de l’activité substantielle la délivrance d’un certificat S1 et de le transmettre à la caisse de maladie compétente, c’est-à-dire la CNS pour les salariés du secteur privé.

La CNS informera, le cas échéant, l’organisme du pays d’affiliation de l’existence de membres de famille, afin de leur donner la possibilité de bénéficier du statut de coassuré.

Suite à son affiliation régulière auprès de la sécurité sociale luxembourgeoise, l'affilié (à titre principal ou coassuré) reçoit ensuite automatiquement une carte de sécurité sociale.

Le salarié nouvellement affilié est invité à se rendre à une visite médicale d'embauche auprès du service de santé au travail compétent.

Organismes de contact

125, route d'Esch
L-2975 - Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 40141-1
Fax : (+352) 40 44 81

Heures d'ouverture
de 08h00 à 16h00
125, route d'Esch
L-1471 - Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 27 57-1
E-mail cns@secu.lu