Amending an employment contract

This page was last modified on 24-10-2014

An employer may modify the conditions governing a working relationship unilaterally and at any time.

As a general rule, amending the working conditions is not subject to any formality except where the employer chooses to amend the employment contract to the disadvantage of the salaried worker and where the envisaged amendment concerns an essential clause in the employment contract. In order to protect salaried workers' rights, the amendment of an essential clause to the disadvantage of the salaried worker is subject to a number of formalities which must be complied with by the employer.

Amendments can be made to both a permanent employment contract and a fixed-term employment contract.

In principle, any amendment to an employment contract must be drawn up in writing (addendum to the employment contract) in duplicate and a copy given to the salaried worker and the employer respectively at the latest on the date the amendments take effect.

There are various scenarios for the amendment of an employment contract:

  • if the amendment is neutral or favourable to the salaried worker and relates to an essential clause, it can be applied without the salaried worker's consent after an addendum to the contract has been drawn up;
  • if the amendment is neutral, favourable or unfavourable to the salaried worker and relates to an ancillary clause, it may be applied without the salaried worker's consent after an addendum to the contract has been drawn up;
  • if the amendment is unfavourable to the salaried worker and relates to an essential clause of the employment contract, the employer must follow a well-defined procedure before drawing up an addendum to the contract.

How to proceed

Amending work contracts

Whether or not it is favourable to the salaried worker, any amendment to one of the elements of the employment contract must be made by means of a written addendum to the employment contract.

The addendum must be drawn up in duplicate with one copy for the employer and one for the salaried worker.

Neutral or favourable amendment of a clause of the employment contract

If the amendment is neutral or in the salaried worker's favour (for either an essential or ancillary clause), it may be applied without notice and without the consent of the salaried worker.

The employer may unilaterally decide to amend an essential clause in favour of or with a neutral effect on the salaried worker, without having to abide by any particular procedure or deadlines. Therefore, in this case, the employer is not obliged to notify the salaried worker in writing in advance of his intention to amend the contract.

Favourable or neutral amendments to a clause of the employment contract must be made by means of an addendum to the employment contract, drawn up in duplicate and signed by the two parties, with one copy given to the salaried worker at the latest on the date the amendments in question take effect. However, even if the salaried worker refuses to sign the addendum, the amendment takes effect and the salaried worked is obliged to accept the amendment to his working conditions.

If the salaried worker refuses to comply with the new working conditions, this may be construed as a refusal to work or to comply with orders and may, depending on the circumstances, be subject to sanctions which could go as far as dismissal of the salaried worker with notice or with immediate effect.

Unfavourable amendment of an ancillary clause of the employment contract

A clause in the employment contract is deemed to be ancillary if:

  • it concerns an element to which the parties clearly did not attach any great importance when signing the employment contract;
  • the employer and the salaried worker foresaw in the employment contract the possibility of a subsequent amendment (for example, the employment contract may stipulate that the salaried worker's assignments may vary in accordance with the needs of the business and the salaried worker's skills).

An element of the employment contract may be of great importance to a particular salaried worker at the time the contract is entered into, whereas, for another salaried worker, this same element may be considered an ancillary element.

For example, the following may be considered as ancillary clauses:

  • working hours, if the contract stipulates that these hours may be amended in accordance with the requirements of the business;
  • place of work (place of employment), particularly when the contract includes a geographical mobility clause, except where the parties have deemed this an element of importance (for example, if it is clearly indicated in the employment contract that the place of work is an essential element of the contract);
  • the nature of the tasks to be assigned to the salaried worker, provided that these tasks are in line with the salaried worker's qualifications and skills.

An amendment to an ancillary clause of the employment contract which is unfavourable to the salaried worker must be made by means of an addendum to the employment contract, drawn up in duplicate and signed by the two parties, with one copy given to the salaried worker at the latest on the date the amendments in question take effect. However, even if the salaried worker refuses to sign the addendum, the amendment takes effect and the salaried worker is obliged to accept his amended working conditions.

If the salaried worker refuses to comply with the new working conditions (for example, if he continues to work his former working hours even though his working hours have been changed), this may be construed as a refusal to work or to comply with orders and may, depending on the circumstances, be subject to sanctions which could go as far as dismissal of the salaried worker with notice or with immediate effect.

Unfavourable amendment of an essential clause of the employment contract

An essential clause is a clause regarding an element considered to be of great importance to the parties at the time the contract is entered into.

As a general rule, the following in particular are considered to be essential clauses:

  • clauses concerning the remuneration of the salaried worker, i.e. any reduction in base pay and/or reduction or elimination of fringe benefits. However, a change in the calculation method of the salary is not necessarily an essential amendment, as long as the overall salary level is maintained and the new calculation method is favourable to the salaried worker;
  • clauses concerning the qualification of the salaried worker, in particular if the worker is downgraded to a function corresponding to a lower level of qualification, even if the remuneration remains unchanged. Also, if an employee is demoted from a managing position to a subordinate position, this is considered to be an essential amendment in the terms of the employment contract which is unfavourable to the employee. However, a simple transfer from one function to another or from one department to another, with no change in qualification or remuneration, is not considered to be an essential amendment;
  • clauses concerning working time, as any reduction or increase in the working time is likely to impact the level of remuneration.
    A change in the working hours is not generally considered to be an amendment of an essential clause of the employment contract, especially if it contains a clause stipulating that the working hours are flexible and may vary depending on the needs of the business;
  • non-competition clauses, i.e. adding a non-competition clause which restricts the salaried worker's liberty in the future.

The concept of an essential clause of a contract is subjective. An element of an employment contract may be of great importance to a particular salaried worker at the time the contract is entered into, but for another salaried worker this same element may only be considered as ancillary (change in the place of work, for example).

When the amendment to the employment contract is unfavourable to the salaried worker and concerns an essential clause of the contract which is not accepted by the salaried worker, the employer must announce the amendment to the salaried worker using the same procedures as for a dismissal:

  • either by giving a notice period;
  • or with immediate effect if there are serious grounds that justify the modification.

For businesses with more than 150 employees, the employer must invite the salaried worker to an interview before amending his employment contract, regardless of whether it is being amended with immediate effect or with notice. During this interview, the employer must explain to the salaried worker his intention to significantly amend the employment contract in a manner unfavourable to the salaried worker. Written notification of the amendment may be given to the salaried worker at the earliest on the day after this interview and at the latest 8 days after.

Salaried workers who are protected against dismissal (such as pregnant women, salaried workers on parental leave or leave for family reasons and staff delegates) may not have their employment contracts significantly modified in a manner unfavourable to them throughout the entire period they are protected. As a significant amendment to an employment contract is considered as similar to dismissal, it must be considered null and void if it concerns protected salaried workers. Salaried workers on parental leave may only have their employment contracts significantly amended due to serious misconduct.

Amendment with a notice period

An amendment to the employment contract for reasons other than serious misconduct must be notified to the salaried worker in accordance with the same procedures and deadlines as for dismissal with a notice period.

The employer must notify the salaried worker of the amendment to his employment contract in writing, stating the date on which the amendment takes effect. The notification must be sent by registered letter with acknowledgement of receipt or given directly to the salaried worker against signature.

The duration of the notice period before the amendment takes effect depends on the salaried worker's length of service.

In principle, the notice period will be 2 months for salaried workers with a continuous length of service of less than 5 years, 4 months for salaried workers with a continuous length of service of between 5 and 10 years and 6 months for salaried workers with a continuous length of service of at least 10 years.

If his employment contract is to be significantly amended, the salaried worker may:

  • accept the amendment: by signing the addendum to his employment contract proposed by the employer, or by continuing to come to work after the amendment has come into effect, which means that he is obliged to abide by it;
  • ask to be informed of the reasons behind the amendment within a period of one month of receipt of the letter announcing the amendment to his working conditions. The employer is then obliged to reply by registered letter within one month of receipt of the request to be informed of the reasons, stating the precise reasons for the amendment of the salaried worker's working conditions. The salaried worker may then decide to accept the significant amendment to his employment contract or to resign;
  • refuse to accept the amendment by resigning before the end of the notice period (regardless of whether or not he has asked to be informed of the reasons). If the salaried worker merely objects to the amendment but does not resign, he will be considered to have accepted the amendment.
    The resignation is considered to be a dismissal with notice and the salaried worker may initiate legal proceedings for unfair dismissal. The labour tribunal will examine, in this case, the validity of the significant amendment to the employment contract and may, where applicable, oblige the employer to pay damages to the salaried worker for unfair dismissal if the amendment is not justified.

A distinction must be made here between the employer's possible failure to comply with the notification procedure to the salaried worker and the absence of grounds for the significant amendment:

  • if the notification procedure is not complied with, the amendment to the contract becomes null and void.
    The salaried worker may protest against the amendment and refer to the labour tribunal to confirm that it is null and void and, once he has this confirmation, return to work as if the amendment had never been made. However, in order to have the amendment declared null and void by the tribunal, the salaried worker must still be employed in the employer's company;
  • should the significant amendment lack serious grounds, the employer must bear the consequences of a dismissal being declared unfair.
    If the reasons for the amendment are not notified to the salaried worker within the deadline or if these reasons are not precise, this generally gives grounds for the dismissal or amendment being declared unfair. However, if the salaried worker does not ask to be informed of the reasons, the burden of proof is incumbent upon him and he will have to prove that the amendment is not based on real and serious reasons.

Amendment with immediate effect

An amendment with immediate effect must be notified to the salaried worker in accordance with the same procedures and deadlines as for dismissal with immediate effect.

The employer may:

  • notify the salaried worker immediately of the amendment to the employment contract with immediate effect;
  • or first announce a suspension and then notify the amendment of the employment contract. The notification of the amendment can occur at the earliest on the day following the announcement of the suspension and at the latest 8 days after the suspension.

The employer must notify the salaried worker of the amendment to his employment contract in writing by registered letter with acknowledgement of receipt or by giving the notification directly to the salaried worker against signature. The letter notifying the amendment to the salaried worker must explain in detail the serious reason(s) that prompted the employer to make such a change.

The salaried worker may then:

  • accept the amendment: by signing the addendum or continuing to work after the amendments have taken effect; he is then considered to have accepted them;
  • refuse to accept the amendment: he must then resign.
    If he simply objects to the amendment but does not resign, he is considered to have accepted the amendment. The resignation is considered to be a dismissal with immediate effect and the salaried worker may initiate legal proceedings for unfair dismissal. The labour tribunal will examine, in this case, the validity of the significant amendment to the employment contract and may, where applicable, oblige the employer to pay damages to the salaried worker for unfair dismissal if the reasons for the amendment with immediate effect are not considered to be justified.

A distinction must be made here between the employer's possible failure to comply with the notification procedure to the salaried worker and the absence of grounds for the significant amendment:

  • if the notification procedure is not complied with, the amendment to the contract becomes null and void.
    The salaried worker may protest against the amendment and refer to the labour tribunal to confirm that it is null and void and, once he has this confirmation, return to work as if the amendment had never been made. However, in order to have the amendment declared null and void by the tribunal, the salaried worker must still be employed in the employer's company.
  • should the significant amendment lack serious grounds, the employer must bear the consequences of a dismissal being declared unfair.
    If the reasons for the amendment are not notified to the salaried worker within the deadline or if these reasons are not precise, this generally gives grounds for the amendment being declared unfair. However, if the salaried worker does not ask to be informed of the reasons, the burden of proof is incumbent upon him and he will have to prove that the amendment is not based on real and serious reasons.

Modification d'un contrat de travail

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 11-03-2016

Pendant la durée de leur mandat, les délégués du personnel titulaires et suppléants et le délégué à la sécurité et à la santé ne peuvent pas se voir imposer de modification unilatérale d'une clause essentielle de leur contrat de travail en leur défaveur.

En ce qui concerne les autres catégories de salariés, l'employeur a en principe la possibilité de modifier les conditions d'une relation de travail unilatéralement et à tout moment.

En règle générale, une telle modification des conditions de travail ne requiert aucune formalité, sauf lorsque l'employeur choisit de modifier le contrat de travail en défaveur du salarié et que la modification envisagée porte sur une clause essentielle du contrat de travail.

Dans un souci de protection des droits des salariés, lors de la modification d'une clause essentielle en défaveur du salarié, l'employeur doit respecter certaines formalités.

Les modifications peuvent se faire aussi bien dans le cadre d'un CDI que dans le cadre d'un CDD.

En principe, toute modification du contrat de travail devrait être constatée par un écrit (avenant au contrat de travail), établi en 2 exemplaires et remis respectivement au salarié et à l'employeur au plus tard au moment de la prise d'effet des modifications.

Différents cas de figure se présentent quant à la modification d'un contrat de travail :

  • si la modification est neutre ou favorable au salarié et porte sur une clause essentielle, elle peut s'appliquer sans l'accord du salarié après rédaction d'un avenant au contrat ;
  • si la modification est neutre, favorable ou défavorable au salarié et porte sur une clause accessoire, elle peut s'appliquer sans l'accord du salarié après rédaction d'un avenant au contrat ;
  • si la modification est défavorable au salarié et porte sur une clause essentielle du contrat de travail, l'employeur est tenu de respecter une procédure bien définie avant de rédiger un avenant au contrat.

Modalités pratiques

Avenant au contrat de travail

Qu'elle soit favorable ou non au salarié, toute modification d'un des éléments du contrat de travail doit faire l'objet d'un avenant écrit au contrat de travail.

Cet avenant doit être établi en double exemplaire, dont l'un est remis à l'employeur et l'autre au salarié.

Modification favorable ou neutre d'une clause du contrat de travail

Lorsque la modification est neutre ou favorable au salarié (qu'elle concerne une clause essentielle ou accessoire), elle peut s'appliquer sans préavis et sans l'accord du salarié.

L'employeur peut en effet imposer unilatéralement la modification d'une clause essentielle en faveur du salarié ou de manière neutre pour celui-ci, sans être tenu au respect d'une procédure ou de délais particuliers. Ainsi dans ce cas, l'employeur ne sera pas tenu de notifier au salarié son intention de modifier le contrat par écrit et à l'avance.

La modification favorable ou neutre d'une clause du contrat de travail doit se faire par le biais d'un avenant au contrat de travail signé par les 2 parties et établi en 2 exemplaires, dont l'un est remis au salarié au plus tard au moment de la prise d'effet des modifications concernées.

Même si le salarié refuse de signer un tel avenant, la modification prend effet et la modification des conditions de travail s'impose au salarié.

Si le salarié refuse de se soumettre aux nouvelles conditions de travail, ce refus pourra s'interpréter comme un refus de travail ou un refus d'ordre pouvant, selon les circonstances, justifier une sanction pouvant aller jusqu'au licenciement avec préavis ou avec effet immédiat.

Modification défavorable d'une clause accessoire du contrat de travail

Une clause du contrat de travail est jugée accessoire :

  • si elle porte sur un élément auquel il est clair que les parties n'attachaient pas une importance déterminante lors de la signature du contrat de travail ;
  • si l'employeur et le salarié ont prévu d'emblée dans le contrat de travail la possibilité d'une modification ultérieure (le contrat de travail peut par exemple prévoir que l'affectation du salarié pourra varier en fonction des besoins de l'entreprise et des capacités du salarié).

Un élément du contrat de travail peut être déterminant pour un salarié au moment de la conclusion du contrat, tandis que pour un autre salarié, ce même élément sera accessoire.

A titre d'exemple, peuvent être considérées comme des clauses accessoires :

  • l'horaire de travail, si le contrat prévoit que cet horaire peut faire l'objet de modifications en fonction des nécessités de l'entreprise ;
  • le lieu d'exécution du travail (lieu d'affectation), notamment en présence d'une clause de mobilité géographique, sauf si les parties en ont fait un élément déterminant (par exemple, s'il est clairement indiqué dans le contrat de travail que le lieu de travail constitue un élément essentiel du contrat) ;
  • la nature des tâches affectées au salarié, à condition que ces tâches soient conformes à la qualification et aux aptitudes du salarié.

La modification d'une clause accessoire du contrat de travail en défaveur du salarié doit se faire par le biais d'un avenant au contrat de travail signé par les 2 parties et établi en 2 exemplaires, dont l'un est remis au salarié au plus tard au moment de la prise d'effet des modifications concernées.

Même si le salarié refuse de signer un tel avenant, la modification prend effet et la modification des conditions de travail s'impose au salarié.

Si le salarié refuse de se soumettre aux nouvelles conditions de travail (par exemple, s'il continue à venir travailler à son ancien horaire alors que son horaire de travail a été modifié), ce refus pourra s'interpréter comme un refus de travail ou un refus d'ordre pouvant, selon les circonstances, justifier une sanction pouvant aller jusqu'au licenciement avec préavis ou avec effet immédiat.

Modification défavorable d’une clause essentielle du contrat de travail

Une clause essentielle porte sur un élément auquel les parties ont attaché une importance déterminante au moment de la conclusion du contrat.

En règle générale, sont notamment considérées comme essentielles les clauses se rapportant à :

  • la rémunération du salarié, c'est-à-dire toute réduction de la rémunération de base et/ou toute réduction ou suppression des compléments de salaires. Cependant, un changement du mode de calcul de la rémunération n'est pas nécessairement une modification essentielle, du moment que le niveau global du salaire est maintenu et que la nouvelle méthode de calcul est favorable au salarié ;
  • la qualification du salarié, notamment si le salarié est déclassé, c'est-à-dire si l'employeur veut lui attribuer une fonction correspondant à un niveau de qualification inférieur, même si la rémunération reste inchangée. De même, la rétrogradation du salarié d'une fonction dirigeante à une fonction subalterne constitue une modification d'une clause essentielle du contrat de travail en défaveur du salarié. En revanche, une simple mutation d'un poste à un autre ou d'un service à un autre, sans modification de la rémunération et de la qualification, n'est pas considérée comme une modification essentielle ;
  • la durée du travail, toute réduction ou augmentation de la durée de travail étant susceptible d'avoir des répercussions sur le niveau de rémunération.
    Un changement d'horaires de travail n'est généralement pas considéré comme une modification d'une clause essentielle du contrat de travail, surtout si ce dernier comporte une clause prévoyant que l'horaire de travail est mobile et peut varier en fonction des besoins de l'entreprise ;
  • la non-concurrence, c'est-à-dire l'ajout d'une clause de non-concurrence qui restreint pour l'avenir la liberté du salarié.

La notion de clause essentielle du contrat est une notion subjective. Un élément du contrat de travail peut en effet être déterminant pour un salarié au moment de la conclusion du contrat et n'être qu'accessoire pour un autre salarié (par exemple un changement du lieu de travail).

Dans le seul cas où la modification du contrat de travail en défaveur du salarié porte sur une clause essentielle du contrat non acceptée par le salarié, l'employeur devra annoncer la modification au salarié de la même manière que pour un licenciement, à savoir :

  • soit avec préavis ;
  • soit avec effet immédiat en cas de motifs graves justifiant ce changement.

Dans les entreprises de plus de 150 salariés, l'employeur est tenu de convoquer le salarié à un entretien préalable à la modification de son contrat de travail, qu'elle soit avec effet immédiat ou avec préavis. Lors de cet entretien, l'employeur doit expliquer au salarié son intention de modifier substantiellement son contrat de travail en sa défaveur. La notification écrite au salarié de la modification peut avoir lieu au plus tôt le lendemain de l'entretien préalable et au plus tard 8 jours après cet entretien.

Les salariés protégés contre le licenciement (tels que la femme enceinte, le salarié en congé parental ou familial et le délégué du personnel) ne pourront pas se voir notifier une modification substantielle et défavorable de leur contrat de travail pendant toute la durée de la protection. La modification substantielle du contrat de travail étant assimilée à un licenciement, elle doit être déclarée nulle lorsqu'elle intervient à l'encontre des salariés protégés. Le salarié en congé parental pourra seulement voir modifier substantiellement son contrat de travail pour motif grave.

Modification avec préavis

La modification du contrat de travail pour une raison autre qu'un motif grave doit être notifiée au salarié dans les mêmes formes et délais qu'un licenciement avec préavis.

L'employeur doit notifier la modification du contrat de travail au salarié par écrit et indiquer la date à laquelle la modification prend effet. La notification se fait :

  • par lettre recommandée avec accusé de réception ;
  • ou par remise en mains propres contre signature.

La durée du préavis avant la prise d'effet de la modification est fonction de l'ancienneté du salarié.

Ce préavis sera en principe de :

  • 2 mois pour le salarié ayant une ancienneté de services continue de moins de 5 ans ;
  • 4 mois pour le salarié ayant une ancienneté de services continue comprise entre 5 ans et 10 ans ;
  • et 6 mois pour le salarié ayant une ancienneté de services continue d'au moins 10 ans.

Face à une modification substantielle de son contrat de travail, le salarié peut :

  • accepter la modification en signant l'avenant à son contrat de travail proposé par son employeur ou en continuant à venir travailler après l'entrée en vigueur de la modification qui s'impose alors à lui ;
  • demander les motifs de la modification dans un délai d’un mois à partir de la réception de la lettre annonçant le changement de ses conditions de travail. L'employeur est alors tenu de répondre par lettre recommandée dans le mois de la réception de la demande de motifs, en indiquant avec précision les motifs de la modification des conditions de travail du salarié. Le salarié pourra ensuite décider d'accepter la modification substantielle de son contrat de travail ou démissionner ;
  • refuser la modification en démissionnant avant la fin du délai de préavis (en ayant ou non demandé les motifs). Une simple protestation contre la modification non accompagnée d'une démission vaut acceptation de cette modification.
    La démission est assimilée à un licenciement avec préavis et peut faire l'objet d'un recours judiciaire en licenciement abusif par le salarié. Le Tribunal du travail examinera dans ce cas le bien-fondé de la modification substantielle du contrat de travail, et pourra, le cas échéant, condamner l'employeur à verser au salarié des dommages et intérêts pour licenciement abusif si la modification n'est pas justifiée.

Il convient ici de distinguer l'éventuel non-respect par l'employeur de la procédure de notification au salarié de l'absence de bien-fondé de la modification substantielle :

  • en cas de non-respect de la procédure de notification, la modification contractuelle est nulle.
    Le salarié peut alors protester contre la modification intervenue et saisir le Tribunal du travail dans un délai raisonnable pour voir constater cette nullité et, une fois la nullité constatée, reprendre son travail comme si la modification n'était jamais intervenue. Le succès de l'action en nullité suppose toutefois que le salarié soit encore occupé au sein de l'entreprise ;
  • en cas d'absence de bien-fondé de la modification substantielle, l'employeur doit assumer les conséquences d'un licenciement déclaré abusif.
    L'absence de communication des motifs dans les délais prévus ou le caractère imprécis des motifs entraîne en règle générale une qualification abusive du licenciement ou de la modification. Par contre, si le salarié ne demande pas les motifs, il y aura renversement de la charge de la preuve et le salarié devra prouver que la modification ne repose pas sur des motifs réels et sérieux.

Modification avec effet immédiat

La modification avec effet immédiat doit être notifiée au salarié dans les mêmes formes et délais qu'un licenciement avec effet immédiat. Elle est, en général, décidée par l'employeur en réponse à une faute grave commise par le salarié.

L'employeur peut ainsi :

  • soit notifier tout de suite au salarié la modification du contrat de travail avec effet immédiat ;
  • soit prononcer d'abord une mise à pied conservatoire et notifier ensuite la modification du contrat de travail. Cette notification peut intervenir au plus tôt le lendemain et au plus tard 8 jours après la mise à pied.

L'employeur doit notifier la modification du contrat de travail au salarié par écrit :

  • par lettre recommandée avec accusé de réception ;
  • ou par remise en main propre contre signature.

La lettre annonçant la modification au salarié doit obligatoirement préciser de manière très circonstanciée le ou les motifs graves qui amènent l'employeur à procéder à un tel changement.

Le salarié peut alors :

  • accepter la modification en signant l'avenant ou en continuant à travailler après l'entrée en vigueur des modifications, il est alors présumé les avoir acceptées ;
  • refuser la modification, il doit alors démissionner.
    Une simple protestation contre la modification non accompagnée d'une démission vaut acceptation de cette modification. La démission est assimilée à un licenciement avec effet immédiat et peut faire l'objet d'un recours judiciaire en licenciement abusif par le salarié. Le Tribunal du travail examine dans ce cas le bien-fondé de la modification substantielle du contrat de travail, et peut, le cas échéant condamner l'employeur à verser au salarié des dommages et intérêts pour licenciement abusif, si les motifs de la modification avec effet immédiat ne sont pas considérés comme justifiés.

Il convient ici de distinguer l'éventuel non-respect de la procédure de notification au salarié de l'absence de bien-fondé de la modification substantielle :

  • en cas de non-respect de la procédure de notification, la modification contractuelle sera nulle.
    Le salarié peut alors protester contre la modification intervenue et saisir le Tribunal du travail dans un délai raisonnable pour voir constater cette nullité et, une fois la nullité constatée, reprendre son travail comme si la modification n'était jamais intervenue. Le succès de l'action en nullité suppose toutefois que le salarié soit encore occupé au sein de l'entreprise ;
  • en cas d'absence de bien-fondé de la modification substantielle, l'employeur doit assumer les conséquences d'un licenciement déclaré abusif.
    L'absence de communication des motifs dans les délais ou le caractère imprécis des motifs, entraîne en règle générale une qualification abusive de la modification. Par contre, si le salarié ne demande pas les motifs, il y aura renversement de la charge de la preuve et le salarié devra prouver que la modification ne repose pas sur des motifs réels et sérieux.