Choosing Incoterms

This page was last modified on 10-01-2018

Incoterms ("INternational COmmercial TERMS") are a set of codes developed by the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) with the aim of standardising the commercial terms most frequently used in international trade.

Incoterms define the obligations of the buyer and the seller in a commercial transaction with regard to:

  • the division of the costs of transporting goods (packaging, handling, carriage, customs duties, insurance, etc.);
  • the point of transfer of risk, i.e. the point from which the buyer is responsible for the goods in the event of loss or damage;
  • the documents and information which the seller must provide to the buyer.

By using one of the 11 existing Incoterms in their contracts, the buyer and seller can avoid misunderstandings related to different commercial practices in different countries. Incoterms, while optional, are standardised, internationally recognised clauses which enable disputes to be avoided.

The 11 Incoterms are divided into 2 groups:

  • terms which can be used regardless of the means of transport (multimodal);
  • terms which can be used for transport by sea and inland waterways.

Who is concerned

Any companies which buy or sell goods internationally must agree on their respective obligations during the transaction with their business partners.

They can specify these obligations in the contract by using the appropriate Incoterm.  The Incoterm defines the following, for each stage of the transaction:

  • who bears the costs;
  • who needs to take out insurance to cover the risks;
  • and who needs to provide which document.
Incoterms are only valid if agreed by the parties to the contract (the buyer and seller), i.e. if they form an integral part of the contract or are the subject of a separate agreement. They apply exclusively to the relationship between the buyer and the seller and do not concern third parties involved in transportation such as forwarding agents, carriers or others.

How to proceed

Basic principles

Classification into groups

  • Group E (EXW) – This group represents the minimum obligation for the seller who must simply make the packaged goods available to the buyer (at the factory of origin);
  • Group F (FAS, FCA, FOB) – The seller transfers liability for the goods in terms of risks and costs at the point at which they are consigned to the carrier previously designated by the buyer. The seller does not therefore take responsibility for the main carriage method;
  • Group C (CFR, CIF, CPT, CIP) – The seller arranges the main carriage method and bears the costs but not the risks, i.e. it bears the cost of the main carriage method and insurance, but the buyer is liable for the goods in the event of loss or damage;
  • Group D (DAT, DAP, DDP) – The seller assumes maximum liability because it bears the risks and costs of transport through to delivery to the buyer at the appointed destination.

Difference between "transfer of risk" and "transfer of costs"

Transfer of risk

The term "transfer of risk" refers to the transfer of liability for the goods from the seller to the buyer. This transfer implies that the consequences of loss or damage to the goods will be borne by the buyer.

The transfer of risk may be carried out separately from the transfer of title, i.e. the buyer may bear the risks relating to transporting the goods prior to the physical delivery thereof.

It is therefore important to specify the point at which the transfer of risk takes effect in order to determine who will bear the financial consequences in the event of loss or damage.

Example: a contract between seller X and buyer Y stipulates that the transfer of risk takes place on unloading the goods from the ship. If, at the time of unloading, the goods fall into the water, the buyer will be liable.

Transfer of costs

The term "transfer of costs" refers to the point at which the buyer becomes liable for the financial costs of carriage and insurance, as well as customs import/export formalities (duties and taxes).

Each Incoterm determines the extent of each party's liability in terms of risks and costs which can be more or less advantageous for the buyer or the seller:

Incoterms_1_EN

Difference between "sale on departure" and "sale on arrival"

Sale on departure

"Sale on departure" refers contractually to sales where the seller has completed its obligations when the goods leave its factory, or, at the latest, when the goods are handed over to the carrier. As a result, the seller does not assume any risks relating to carriage problems.

There are 8 Incoterms for "sale on departure".

For multimodal transportation:

  • EXW;
  • FCA;
  • CPT;
  • CIP.

For transportation by sea or inland waterways:

  • FAS;
  • FOB;
  • CFR;
  • CIF.

Incoterms relating to "sale on departure" are therefore more attractive for the seller, who will be highly interested in using them for the long-haul transport of goods involving greater risk of loss or damage.

Sale on arrival

"Sale on arrival" refers to sales where the seller undertakes to bear the costs and risks relating to international transport through to the agreed destination. This type of sale is advantageous for the buyer because it does not have to take responsibility for transport; in this way, it receives the goods as if it had purchased them locally.

The seller may also opt for "sale on arrival" for the purpose of controlling the distribution of its product.

There are 3 Incoterms which are multimodal and are for "sale on arrival":

  • DAT;
  • DAP;
  • DDP.

Incoterms which can be used for all transportation methods (multimodal)

"Multimodal" Incoterms refer to deliveries which can be made by several different means of transport (road, rail or air).

EXW or "EX-works"

This Incoterm is the most attractive for the seller as it makes the packaged goods available on its premises (workshop, factory, warehouse, etc.) and the buyer is then responsible for loading, carriage and the resulting risks and costs.

FCA or "Free Carrier"

The seller takes responsibility for loading (the truck, wagon or ship), i.e. puts the packaged goods on board the means of carriage chosen by the buyer after having cleared the goods for export. The buyer then arranges carriage of the goods at its cost and risk.

CPT or "Carriage Paid To"

The seller takes responsibility for loading and initial carriage of the goods to the first carrier (or main carrier) after having cleared the goods for export. The risks are transferred to the buyer when the goods are handed over to the carrier at the agreed point.

CIP or "Carriage and Insurance Paid to"

The seller has the same obligations as in the case of CPT but must also provide insurance against the risk of loss or damage being incurred during transport.

DAT or "Delivered at Terminal"

The seller takes responsibility for the main carriage of the goods and has fulfilled its obligations when the goods are unloaded and delivered to the buyer at the "appointed terminal", i.e. the port, air, road or rail terminal agreed with the buyer. It therefore bears the risks relating to carriage and unloading the goods at their destination.

DAP or "Delivered at Place"

The seller takes responsibility for the main carriage of the goods and has fulfilled its obligations when the goods are made available to the buyer, ready for unloading at the agreed place, on the date and within the deadline stipulated in the contract. The seller bears the risks relating to transporting the goods to the final destination without however taking responsibility for clearing the goods for import.

DDP or "Delivered Duty Paid"

This term is the opposite of EXW (ex-works), and places the maximum obligations on the seller. The seller takes responsibility for the transport in its entirety, including clearing the goods for import and paying any taxes and duties due. The transfer of costs and risks takes place on delivery to the buyer. The buyer's sole obligation is to unload the goods.

Incoterms used for transportation by sea and inland waterways

FAS or "Free Alongside Ship"

The seller has fulfilled its obligation to deliver once the goods are placed alongside the buyer's vessel at the named port of shipment and the goods have been cleared for export. The buyer must then bear all the costs, damages and risks of loss which may be incurred from that moment.

FOB or "Free on Board"

The seller has fulfilled its obligations to deliver once the goods are placed on board the vessel at the named port of shipment and have been cleared for export. The transfer of risk takes place once the goods are on board the vessel (port transit). The buyer then bears all the risks and costs of marine freight transportation.

CFR or "Cost and Freight"

The seller must choose the vessel, clear the goods for export and pay the fees and freight charges needed to ship the goods to the named port of destination. The transfer of risk takes place at the point when the goods are on board the vessel (Incoterm equivalent of the CPT Incoterm for multimodal transportation).

CIF or "Cost, Insurance and Freight"

The seller has the same obligations as for CFR but must also provide maritime insurance against the risk of loss or damage to the goods during shipment. Clearing the goods for export is the seller's responsibility and the transfer of risk takes place at the point when the goods are placed on board the vessel (Incoterm equivalent of the CIP Incoterm for multimodal transportation).

Drafting the contract

Basic rules for international contracts

When drafting international contracts, certain clauses must be observed:

  • the contract must be drafted in a language understood by each of the parties. English is still the main business language and its use is advisable;
  • whenever a Luxembourg company draws up a contract with a foreign company, the law of only one country may apply in the event of dispute. The choice of applicable law is at the discretion of the parties.

    In certain cases, the parties can decide to apply different legislation for different parts of the contract;

  • if the applicable law is not mentioned in the contract, the judge will rely on international agreements to determine the applicable law;
  • the seller is expressly responsible for packing the goods concerned in the contract of sale. The transfer of responsibility for this obligation to the buyer must be clearly mentioned without ambiguity.

    The standards with which the packaging and packing must comply correspond to the usual packaging practices for goods of the same type. In the absence of such practices, the ICC shall refer to common practice in international trade or, failing this, to those of the place in which the seller is based. If there are no common practices, packaging must ensure that the goods are preserved and protected until they are delivered to the buyer;

  • the contract must include the means of payment (cheque, bank transfer, postal order, bill of exchange or promissory note), and the payment deadline.

    Example: 60 days from date of invoice.

Standards applicable to Incoterms

In order to use an Incoterm in a contract, the parties to the contract must observe certain typographical rules:

  • to avoid ambiguity, only Incoterms recognised by the ICC may be used and, preferably, the most recent version of the Incoterms (Incoterms 2010).
    Previous versions remain valid but the reference year must be stipulated (Incoterms 2000 or 2010);
  • the word "Incoterms" must not be written in capital letters or italics; only the first letter is capitalised;
  • the Incoterm must always be followed by precise details of the place of delivery.
    Examples: CPT New York (Incoterms 2010 ICC), FOB port of Amsterdam (Incoterms 2010 ICC), etc.;
  • other additional details or any restrictions may be added, e.g. the exact point of transfer of costs and/or risks from the seller to the buyer or the precise address of the warehouse/port/airport;
    Example: CPT Paris – Charles de Gaulle airport, 95700 Roissy-en-France, France – excluding taxes and duties (Incoterms 2010 ICC).

Only these rules have the force of law with the ICC in the event of dispute.

Summary table

Incoterms_EN

Choix d'un Incoterm

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 09-01-2018

Les Incoterms ("INternational COmmercial TERMS" ou "termes du commerce international") sont un ensemble de codifications élaborées par la Chambre de Commerce Internationale (CCI) ayant pour but d’uniformiser les termes commerciaux les plus utilisés dans le commerce international.

Les Incoterms définissent les obligations du vendeur et de l’acheteur lors d’une transaction commerciale en ce qui concerne :

  • la répartition des frais de transport des marchandises (emballage, manutention, transport, droits de douane, assurances, etc.) ;
  • le point de transfert des risques, c’est-à-dire l’étape à partir de laquelle l’acheteur sera responsable de la marchandise en cas de dommage ou d’avarie ;
  • les documents et informations que le vendeur doit fournir à l’acheteur.

En se référant dans leurs contrats à l’un des 11 incoterms existant, l'acheteur et le vendeur évitent les malentendus liés aux pratiques commerciales différentes d’un pays à l’autre. Ainsi, les Incoterms, bien que facultatifs, sont des clauses standardisées et reconnues internationalement qui permettent d’éviter tout litige.

Les 11 incoterms sont répartis en 2 familles :

  • les termes utilisables quel que soit le mode de transport (transport multimodal) ;
  • les termes utilisables pour le transport par mer et par voies navigables intérieures.

Personnes concernées

Toute entreprise qui achète ou vend des biens à l’international doit convenir avec son partenaire commercial des obligations de chacun au cours de la transaction.

L’entreprise peut alors préciser ces obligations dans le contrat en y mentionnant l’Incoterm qui lui convient.  Cet Incoterm définira, à chaque étape de la transaction :

  • qui assume les frais ;
  • qui doit contracter une assurance pour couvrir les risques ;
  • et qui doit fournir tel ou tel document.
Les Incoterms ne sont valables que s’ils ont été convenus entre les parties contractantes (vendeur et acheteur), c’est-à-dire s’ils font partie intégrante du contrat ou font l’objet d’un accord séparé. Ils s’appliquent exclusivement aux relations entre le vendeur et l’acheteur et ne concernent pas les tiers impliqués dans le transport tels que les transitaires, transporteurs ou autres.

Modalités pratiques

Principes de base

Classification par groupes

  • groupe E (EXW) – Ce groupe représente l’obligation minimale du vendeur qui doit simplement mettre les marchandises emballées à disposition de l’acheteur (à l’usine de départ) ;
  • groupe F (FAS, FCA, FOB) – Le vendeur transfère la responsabilité des marchandises en termes de risques et de frais au moment où celles-ci sont remises au transporteur préalablement désigné par l’acheteur. Le vendeur ne supporte donc pas le transport principal ;
  • groupe C (CFR, CIF, CPT, CIP) – Le vendeur organise le transport principal et en assume les frais mais pas les risques, c’est-à-dire qu’il prend en charge le coût du transport principal et de l’assurance transport, mais l’acheteur sera responsable des marchandises en cas de dommage ;
  • groupe D (DAT, DAP, DDP) – La responsabilité du vendeur est maximale puisqu’il assume les risques et les frais du transport jusqu’à la livraison chez l’acheteur au lieu de destination désigné.

Distinction "transfert de risques" / "transfert de frais"

Transfert de risques

Le terme "transfert de risques" désigne le transfert de responsabilités des marchandises du vendeur à l’acheteur. Ce transfert implique que les conséquences de la perte ou de la détérioration des biens seront assumées par l’acheteur.

Le transfert de risques peut s’opérer indépendamment du transfert de propriété, c’est-à-dire que l’acheteur peut supporter les risques liés au transport de la marchandise avant que celle-ci ne lui soit physiquement remise.

Il est donc important de préciser le moment où le transfert de risques est effectué en vue de savoir qui devra subir les conséquences financières en cas de dommage.

Exemple : un contrat conclu entre le vendeur X et l’acheteur Y stipule que le transfert de risques s’effectue lors du déchargement des marchandises sur le bateau. Si au moment du déchargement la marchandise tombe à l’eau, l’acheteur sera responsable.

Transfert de frais

Le terme "transfert de frais" désigne  le moment à partir duquel l’acheteur assume la charge financière du transport, des assurances, ainsi que des formalités de douane à l’import et à l’export (droits et taxes).

Chaque Incoterm fixe un degré de participation en termes de risques et de frais plus ou moins intéressant pour le vendeur ou l’acheteur :

Incoterms

Distinction "vente au départ" / "vente à l'arrivée"

Vente au départ

Les ventes dites "au départ" désignent contractuellement des ventes pour lesquelles le vendeur a réalisé ses obligations à la sortie de son usine, ou, au plus tard, à la remise des marchandises au transporteur. Ainsi, le vendeur n’assume pas les risques liés aux aléas du transport.

Les Incoterms correspondant à des ventes au départ sont au nombre de 8.

Pour le transport multimodal :

  • EXW ;
  • FCA ;
  • CPT ;
  • CIP.

Pour le transport maritime et par voies fluviales :

  • FAS ;
  • FOB ;
  • CFR ;
  • CIF.

Les Incoterms correspondant à des ventes au départ sont donc les plus intéressants pour le vendeur, qui aura tout intérêt à y recourir pour le transport de marchandises vers des destinations éloignées impliquant plus de risques d’avarie ou de dommages.

Vente à l'arrivée

Les ventes dites "à l’arrivée" désignent des ventes pour lesquelles le vendeur s’engage à supporter les frais et risques liés au transport à l’international jusqu'à un lieu de destination convenu. Ce type de vente est avantageux pour l’acheteur puisqu’il n’a pas à assumer l’opération de transport ; il reçoit ainsi sa marchandise de la même manière que s’il l’avait achetée localement.

Le vendeur peut également choisir d’avoir recours à des ventes à l’arrivée dans le but de maîtriser la distribution de son produit.

Les Incoterms correspondant à des ventes à l’arrivée sont multimodaux et sont au nombre de 3 :

  • DAT ;
  • DAP ;
  • DDP.

Incoterms utilisables pour tous les types de transports (transport multimodal)

Les Incoterms dits "multimodaux" désignent les livraisons pouvant être effectuées par plusieurs modes de transports (routiers, ferroviaires ou aériens).

A l'usine (EXW ou "Ex-Works")

Cet Incoterm est le plus intéressant pour le vendeur puisque ce dernier met à disposition la marchandise emballée dans ses locaux (atelier, usine, entrepôt, etc.) et l’acheteur doit en assumer le chargement, le transport et les risques et frais qui en découlent.

Franco transporteur (FCA ou "Free Carier")

Le vendeur assure le chargement (du camion, du wagon ou navire), c’est-à-dire qu’il met la marchandise emballée à bord du transport choisi par l’acheteur après avoir exécuté le dédouanement à l'exportation. L’acheteur organise ensuite à ses frais et risques l’acheminement de la marchandise.

Port payé jusqu'à...(CPT ou "Carriage Paid to")

Le vendeur assure le chargement et préachemine la marchandise jusqu’au premier transporteur (ou transport principal) après avoir dédouané la marchandise à l’exportation. Les risques sont transférés à l’acheteur lorsque la marchandise est remise au transporteur au lieu convenu.

Port payé, assurance comprise, jusqu'à...(CIP ou "Carriage and Insurance Paid to")

Le vendeur a les mêmes obligations qu'en CPT, mais il doit également fournir une assurance contre le risque de perte ou de dommages que peut courir la marchandise au cours du transport.

Rendu au terminal de destination convenu (DAT ou "Delivered at Terminal")

Le vendeur prend en charge le transport principal de la marchandise et a rempli ses obligations dès lors celle-ci est déchargée et mise à disposition de l'acheteur au "terminal désigné", c’est-à-dire dans le port, au terminal aérien, routier ou ferroviaire convenu avec l’acheteur. Il assume ainsi les risques liés au transport et au déchargement des marchandises à destination.

Rendu au lieu de destination convenu (DAT ou "Delivered at Place")

Le vendeur prend en charge le transport principal de la marchandise et a rempli ses obligations dès lors que celle-ci est mise à disposition de l’acheteur, prête à être déchargée à l’endroit convenu, à la date et dans les délais précisés dans le contrat. Le vendeur assume les risques liés à l'acheminement des marchandises jusqu'au lieu de destination finale sans toutefois prendre en charge le dédouanement à l'importation.

Rendu droits acquittés (DDP ou "Delivered Duty Paid")

A l'inverse du terme EXW (à l'usine), ce terme désigne l'obligation maximum du vendeur. Le vendeur assume l’ensemble du transport, y compris le dédouanement à l'importation et le paiement des droits et taxes exigibles. Le transfert des frais et risques se fait à la livraison chez l'acheteur. L’acheteur a pour seule obligation le déchargement de la marchandise.

Incoterms utilisables pour le transport par mer et voies navigables intérieures

Franco le long du navire (FAS ou "Free Alongside Ship")

Le vendeur a rempli son obligation de livraison quand la marchandise a été placée le long du navire, sur le quai au port d'embarquement convenu, et que la marchandise a été dédouanée à l'exportation. L'acheteur doit ensuite supporter tous les frais, dommages et risques de perte que peut courir la marchandise.

Franco à bord (FOB ou "Free on Board")

Le vendeur a rempli son obligation de livraison lorsque la marchandise est placée à bord du navire au port d'embarquement désigné et qu’elle a été dédouanée à l’exportation. Le transfert des risques s'effectue dès lors que les marchandises sont à bord du navire (passage portuaire). L’acheteur supporte ensuite tous les risques et frais de fret maritime.

Coût et fret (CFR ou "Cost and Freight")

Le vendeur doit choisir le navire, dédouaner la marchandise à l’exportation et payer les frais et le fret nécessaires à l’acheminement de la marchandise au port de destination désigné. Le transfert des risques s'effectue au moment où les marchandises sont à bord du navire (Incoterm équivalent à l’Incoterm CPT du transport multimodal).

Coût, assurance et fret (CIF ou "Cost, Insurance and Freight")

Le vendeur a les mêmes obligations qu'en CFR mais il doit en plus fournir une assurance maritime contre le risque de perte ou de dommage que la marchandise pourrait courir au cours du transport. Le dédouanement à l’exportation incombe au vendeur et le transfert des risques s'effectue au moment où les marchandises sont mises à bord du navire (Incoterm équivalent à l’Incoterm CIP du transport multimodal).

Rédaction du contrat

Règles de base des contrats à l'international

Lors de la rédaction des contrats à l’international, certaines clauses doivent être respectées :

  • le contrat doit être rédigé dans une langue compréhensible par chacune des parties. L’anglais reste la langue des affaires par excellence et son utilisation est à privilégier ;
  • lorsqu’une entreprise luxembourgeoise établit un contrat avec une entreprise étrangère, le droit d’un seul pays doit être applicable en cas de litige. Le choix du droit applicable est laissé à la libre appréciation des parties.

    Dans certains cas, les parties peuvent décider d’appliquer différentes législations à différentes parties du contrat ;

  • à défaut de mention de la législation applicable dans le contrat, le juge s’appuiera sur les conventions internationales afin de déterminer la loi applicable ;
  • le vendeur est expressément chargé de l’emballage de la marchandise faisant l’objet du contrat de vente. Le transfert de cette obligation à charge de l’acheteur doit être mentionné clairement et sans équivoque.

    Les normes auxquelles l’emballage et le conditionnement doivent répondre correspondent à l’emballage habituel pour des marchandises de même type. En l’absence d’usage uniforme, la CCI se réfèrera aux usages dans le commerce international, ou à défaut, à ceux du lieu où le vendeur a son siège d’activité. A défaut d’usage, l’emballage doit permettre de conserver et protéger les marchandises jusqu’au moment où les biens sont remis à l’acheteur ;

  • le contrat doit inclure le moyen de paiement (chèque, virement bancaire, mandat poste, lettre de change ou billet à ordre), ainsi que le délai de paiement.

    Exemple : 60 jours à partir de la date d'émission de la facture.

Normes applicables aux Incoterms

Pour utiliser un Incoterm dans un contrat, les parties contractantes doivent respecter certaines règles typographiques :

  • pour éviter toute ambiguïté, seuls les Incoterms reconnus par la CCI doivent être utilisés, et, de préférence, les Incoterms de la dernière révision (Incoterms 2010).
    Les versions précédentes restent valables mais l'année de référence doit être stipulée (Incoterms 2000 ou 2010) ;
  • on ne doit pas écrire le mot "Incoterms" en lettres capitales ou en italique, seule la première lettre du mot est en majuscule ;
  • l’Incoterm doit toujours être suivi de la mention précise du lieu de livraison.
    Exemples : CPT New York (Incoterms 2010 CCI), FOB port d’Amsterdam (Incoterms 2010 CCI), etc ;
  • d’autres mentions complémentaires ou restrictions éventuelles peuvent être ajoutées, par exemple le moment exact du transfert de frais et / ou risques du vendeur à l’acheteur ou l’adresse exacte de l’entrepôt / port / aéroport ;
    Exemple : CPT Paris – Aéroport Charles de Gaulle, 95700 Roissy-en-France, France – à l’exclusion des droits et taxes (Incoterms 2010 CCI).

Seules ces règles font foi juridiquement auprès de la CCI en cas de litige.

Tableau récapitulatif

Incoterms_2