Protection against scam

This page was last modified on 03-06-2015

Each year, many professionals are targeted by scams or fall victim to scams of any nature. A Benelux survey has revealed that 80 % of small and medium-sized businesses have been confronted with fraudulent practices between 2010 and 2013. These scams seriously affect the finances of businesses and the annual prejudice is estimated to be EUR 1 billion for companies established in Benelux.

At international level, the members of the International Consumer Protection and Enforcement Network (ICPEN) provide information to the public, namely with regard to:

  • telephone scams;
  • slamming;
  • phishing;
  • spams;
  • business directory scams;
  • or false invoices.

In Luxembourg, the General Directorate for SMEs and Entrepreneurship launches a scam awareness campaign each year within the framework of the "Fraud Prevention Month" organised by ICPEN. The campaign is launched at the same time in over 40 countries on 5 continents.

Who is concerned

Every individual is a possible target for scam.

Nevertheless, traders, craftsmen and liberal professions are the preferred target of scam of any nature.

It is imperative to know how to identify the various types of scam, to remain vigilant and to file a complaint where necessary.

How to proceed

Which precautions can be taken?

In order to protect yourself against scams:

  • before signing any document, carefully read its full content and clearly identify the company;
    warningAttention!: your signature and the indication of the date are a binding contractual action. If you have signed a contract and you intend to enforce your rights (obtain a reimbursement, cancellation of the contract, etc.), you must turn to the legal authorities.
  • do not trust the formal presentation and layout of letters, emails or websites;
  • spelling mistakes or strange and complicated wordings might be an indication of a fraudulent offer;
  • do not disclose confidential information;
  • never pay an invoice from a company you have never heard of;
  • do not click on links in emails, even if the sender seems reliable;
  • always check that the internet address you are visiting is in fact the one you were looking for;
    Example: www.luxenbourg.lu instead of www.luxembourg.lu

What are the different types of scams?

Telephone scams

Most scammers usually contact their potential victim by telephone in order to start a conversation whose objective is in fact a slamming attempt, a phishing attempt or the sale of goods whose price/quality ratio is very bad.

Slamming

Slamming, or "domain name registration scams", is a term used to describe the fraudulent practices used by certain domain name registrars. It consists in tricking domain name or trademark owners to subscribe to unsolicited services. This type of scam most often relies on an element of confusion or deception and takes advantage of the victim's lack of attention.

The scammer searches the internet registries, notes the domain names which are about to expire and sends the owner a false "notice of expiry" which looks like an official invoice for the renewal.

Via the fake notice of expiry, the domain name owner is invited to renew his domain name or to choose another domain name for one or more years. Entrepreneurs who are not familiar with the management process of domain names and the appropriate terminology may be led to believe, in good faith, that they need to pay the invoice in order to keep their domain name. By accepting the offer, entrepreneurs think that they have done the right thing to safeguard their rights, but it is obviously not the case.

Phishing

Phishing is the attempt to steal passwords for bank accounts, electronic access data or credit card numbers in order to divert funds.

The victim usually receives an email which seems to come from an official body (bank, police, etc.) and which contains an urgent warning. The internet user is then redirected to a fake website which is an almost perfect copy of the concerned body's official website where the user is invited to enter his login credentials, address or bank account number. As the user completes the fields on the fake website, he will reveal his confidential data to the scammer who can then steal funds from the user's account.

Spams

Spam usually takes the form of unsolicited emails containing advertisements. Spam is dangerous as it often contains malicious software or redirects to infected websites which force access to the user's personal data.

Business directory scam

Business directory scams consist in inviting businesses to enter or update their data in a business directory (paper directory, electronic directory or e-commerce platform).

The ambiguous presentation of certain requests may lead to believe that it is a simple verification of addresses, however a more thorough reading shows that it is in fact a real contract and that the business commits itself to paying registration fees, sometimes during several years. These contracts often include an automatic renewal clause.

False invoices

Certain scammers send false invoices or reminder letters which might suggest the existence of contracts which in reality do not exist.

The phantom invoice is one type of false invoice: it is in fact a sales offer "disguised" as an invoice with the following or similar text in small print: "this is not an invoice but a sales offer". The offer is for services or goods which were never provided; this is namely the case for false invoices concerning the registration of trademarks, drawings or designs. The trademark registry being public, data such as the name and address of the owner are accessible to all; some scammers send false invoices to the owner or offer the registration in private registers in return for payment of large amounts of money.

Examples of known scams

Verified by Visa

"VerifiedByVisa" is originally an application for the protection of credit card data developped by VISA. The scam with the same name takes the form of an unsolicited email with the following text:

Arnaque "Verified by Visa"

Email supposedly sent by the "Apple Inc." corporation.

The scam takes the form of an unsolicited email which seems to have been sent by "Apple Inc." and where the user is invited to check his personal data on a malicious website:

Sans titre 2

Email supposedly sent by the Luxembourg Inland Revenue (ACD)

The scam takes the form of an unsolicited email which seems to have been sent by the Luxembourg Inland Revenue (Administration des contributions directes - ACD) and which, depending on the case, contains one of the following messages:

exemple-arnaque2

exemple-arnaque3

The clickable link directs to a fake version of the Luxembourg Inland Revenue's website where you will be asked to enter your credit card details (name, number, expiration date, date of birth and 3D Secure password).

Windows Phone Scam

Some telephone calls are actual phishing attempts and the "Microsoft Phone Scam" is a good example.

In order to achieve their goal, the scammers pretend to be Microsoft employees who inform their victims via telephone that their computer has been infected; in order to fix the problem, the victims are guided to a website for a remote maintenance procedure where said website actually contains a Trojan horse, i.e. malicious software which enables the cybercriminal to take control of the victim's computer without his knowledge.

The scammers usually request a certain amount of money to remove the malicious software again.

Update of business data in business registers, directories of phone books

Certain businesses are inviting companies to check the accuracy of their contact data for the purpose of being listed in a business register, directory or phone book such as:

  • the Registre des affaires;
  • the Répertoire professionnel;
  • the Registre Central Européen de saisie et de publication de numéros d'identification de la taxe sur le chiffre d'affaires;
  • the Annuaire international des branches d'activité ;
  • or the Portail des Entreprises de Luxembourg.

In certain cases, these businesses imitate and distort the use of logos of official bodies in order to voluntarily confuse the recipient of the mail.

The offer to list the company in these business directories often seems free of charge as the mail is a simple request to check the business' contact data, however, the offer is a proper contract proposal (and the details of the contract and its real cost are usually indicated in small print only). By signing the document, you enter into a contract and commit to pay for the publication of your business details in one of these business directories (click image to enlarge):


miniature-arnaque1

miniature-arnaque2

miniature-arnaque3
Example of scam - Portail des Entreprises 2015

Nigerian scam

The scammer asks the victim to make available his bank account for the temporary transfer of funds blocked abroad against a payment of 10 to 25 % of the amount. Moreover, the victim has to pay lawyer's fees and customs duty up front but will never receive the payment agreed upon.

Fake President scam

The fraud consisting in a "fraudulent international money transfer", also known as the "Fake President scam" has been targeting an increasing number of SMEs and large corporations.

In this type of scam, the fraudsters target a company (usually a subsidiary where the employees do not know the CEO, CFO, etc. in person) and try to gather a maximum of information on the company targeted (e.g. its organisation, hierarchy, etc.).

The fraudster then impersonates a group executive and calls or emails one of the business managers in the subsidiary or one of their trusted providers (lawyer, notary, etc.) and convinces the accounting department to transfer a large amount of money to an off-shore account.

Online job vacancy scam

An online job vacancy scam is a fake job offer published on an online recruiting website on behalf of a renowned multinational company.

After filing his application, the candidate receives an email from the scammer informing him that his application was accepted.

The applicant is then summoned to a fake job interview abroad, for which he must advance travel expenses and contact a fictitious travel agency.

Once the agency has been paid, generally several hundred euros, the candidate receives no more updates, neither from the travel agency nor from the advertiser.

(Click the image to enlarge)

miniature-exemple-arnaque6 miniature-exemple-arnaque7

What to do in the event of a scam?

Businesses often feel helpless against scams which is why many do not take legal action if they have fallen victim to a scam.

If you are a victim of scam or fraud in Luxembourg, you can inform the professional chambers and federations (Chamber of Commerce, Chamber of Skilled Trades and Crafts) and contact the Hotline of the General Directorate for SMEs and Entrepreneurship. These bodies and administrations will disseminate the information in order to actively participate in fraud prevention.

It is recommended to file a complaint with the nearest police station or with the criminal police department.

Who to contact

Chamber of Commerce
7, rue Alcide de Gasperi
L-2981 - Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 42 39 39-1
Fax: (+ 352) 43 83 26
Email chamcom@cc.lu

Opening hours
08.00 - 12.00 and 14.00 - 18.00
2, Circuit de la Foire Internationale
L-1016 - Luxembourg
Postal box B.P. 1604
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 42 67 67 - 1
Fax: (+352) 42 67 87
Email contact@cdm.lu

Grand Ducal Police
24, rue de Bitbourg
L-1273 - Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 49 97 60 02
Fax: (+ 352) 49 97 60 99

Protection contre les arnaques

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 02-06-2015

De nombreux entrepreneurs sont chaque année victimes d’arnaques ou de tentatives d’arnaques de différentes natures. Une enquête Benelux révèle que 80 % des PME ont déjà été confrontés à des pratiques frauduleuses entre 2010 et 2013. Ces escroqueries affectent gravement les finances des entreprises puisque le préjudice annuel a été estimé pour le Benelux à 1 milliard d’euros.

Au niveau international, les membres du Réseau International de Contrôle et de Protection des Consommateurs (ICPEN-RIPC) informent le public, notamment en ce qui concerne :

  • les arnaques téléphoniques ;
  • le slamming ;
  • le phishing ;
  • les spams ;
  • les arnaques au répertoire professionnel ;
  • ou les fausses factures.

Au Luxembourg, une action de sensibilisation aux différents types d’arnaques est organisée chaque année par la Direction générale PME et Entrepreneuriat dans le cadre du "Mois de la prévention de l’arnaque" de l'ICPEN-RIPC. Cette action se déroule au même moment dans plus de 40 pays sur les 5 continents.

Personnes concernées

Toute personne est susceptible d’être victime d’arnaques.

Néanmoins, les commerçants, artisans et professions libérales sont la cible privilégiée d’arnaques de différentes natures.

Il est donc impératif de savoir identifier les différents types d’arnaques, de rester vigilant et de porter plainte si nécessaire.

Modalités pratiques

Quelles précautions prendre ?

Pour vous prémunir contre les arnaques :

  • avant de signer tout document, lisez entièrement le contenu et identifiez clairement l’entreprise ;
    warningATTENTION : la signature et la mention de la date constituent un engagement contractuel ferme. Si vous avez signé un contrat et que vous souhaitez faire valoir vos droits (obtenir un remboursement, une résiliation du contrat, etc.), seules les autorités judiciaires pourront vous y aider.
  • ne vous fiez pas à la présentation formelle des courriers, e-mails ou sites internet ;
  • la présence de fautes d’orthographe ou de tournures alambiquées est une indication d’irrégularité de la proposition ;
  • ne divulguez pas d’informations confidentielles ;
  • ne payez aucune facture provenant d’une société que vous ne connaissez pas ;
  • ne cliquez pas sur les liens contenus dans des e-mails, et ce même si l’expéditeur vous semble fiable ;
  • vérifiez toujours que l’adresse internet sur laquelle vous naviguez correspond bien à celle que vous recherchez ;
    Exemple : www.luxenbourg.lu au lieu de www.luxembourg.lu

Quels sont les différents types d’arnaques ?

Arnaques téléphoniques

De nombreux arnaqueurs contactent leur victime potentielle par téléphone afin d’amorcer un dialogue pouvant déboucher entre autres sur du slamming, du phishing ou la vente de produits dont le rapport qualité / prix peut se révéler très mauvais.

Slamming

Le slamming, ou "chantage à l’enregistrement des noms de domaine", est un terme utilisé pour désigner les pratiques frauduleuses de certains registraires. Il consiste à inciter les propriétaires de noms de domaine ou marques déposées à souscrire à des services non sollicités. Ce type d’arnaque repose le plus souvent sur un élément de confusion ou de tromperie visant à profiter de l’inattention de la victime.

En effectuant une recherche via les registres internet, le fraudeur adepte du slamming repère les noms de domaine arrivant à expiration et envoie au propriétaire un faux "avis d’expiration" s’apparentant à une facture de renouvellement officielle.

Par le biais de ce faux avis d’expiration, l’escroc propose à l’entrepreneur de renouveler son nom de domaine ou de choisir un autre nom de domaine pour une ou plusieurs années. L’entrepreneur peu familiarisé avec les procédures de gestion des noms de domaine et la terminologie employée pourra, de bonne foi, considérer qu’il doit honorer cette facture pour ne pas perdre son nom de domaine. En acceptant cette offre, l’entrepreneur pense avoir fait le nécessaire pour sauvegarder ses droits, ce qui n’est évidemment pas le cas.

Phishing

Le phishing, également appelé "hameçonnage", désigne les tentatives de dérober des mots de passe de comptes bancaires, mots de passe informatiques ou numéros de cartes de crédit afin de détourner des fonds.

La victime reçoit généralement un e-mail qui semble provenir d’un organisme officiel (banque, police, etc.) contenant un avertissement d’urgence. L’internaute est ensuite redirigé vers un faux site ressemblant fortement au site officiel de l’organisme en question et est invité à saisir ses identifiants, son adresse ou son numéro de compte bancaire. En remplissant les champs, l’internaute dévoile ses données confidentielles à l’arnaqueur qui peut ensuite subtiliser de fortes sommes d’argent.

Spams

Les spams prennent généralement la forme d’e-mails non sollicités avec un contenu publicitaire. Ils représentent une source de danger car ils transmettent souvent des logiciels malveillants ou redirigent vers des sites infestés forçant l’accès aux données personnelles de l’utilisateur.

Arnaque au répertoire professionnel

L’arnaque au répertoire professionnel consiste à inviter les entreprises à renseigner ou mettre à jour leurs données dans un annuaire professionnel (répertoire papier, répertoire électronique ou centrale d’achat électronique).

La présentation ambigüe de certaines sollicitations peut laisser croire qu’il s’agit d’une simple vérification d’adresse, cependant, une lecture plus approfondie permet de constater qu’il s’agit d’un véritable contrat et que l’entreprise s’engage à payer des frais d’inscription, parfois sur plusieurs années. Ces contrats sont en effet souvent assortis d’une clause de reconduction tacite.

Fausses factures

Certains arnaqueurs envoient de fausses factures ou rappels laissant supposer l’existence d’un contrat en réalité inexistant.

La facture fantôme en est une variante : il s’agit d’une offre déguisée sous forme de facture avec la mention en petits caractères "ceci n’est pas une facture mais une proposition". Elle se rapporte à des services ou des biens qui n’ont jamais été fournis ; c’est notamment le cas des fausses factures concernant l’enregistrement de marques, dessins ou modèles. Le Registre des Marques étant public, les données telles que le nom et l'adresse du déposant sont donc accessibles à tous ; ainsi, certains arnaqueurs envoient de fausses factures aux titulaires de droits ou proposent l’inscription dans des registres privés contre le paiement d’une somme importante.

Exemples d'arnaques connues

Verified by Visa

"VerifiedByVisa" est à l’origine un programme de protection des données de cartes bleues développé par la société VISA. L'arnaque du même nom se présente sous la forme d'un e-mail non sollicité contenant le texte ci-dessous :

Arnaque "Verified by Visa"

E-mail supposé provenir de la société "Apple Inc."

Cette arnaque se présente sous la forme d'un e-mail non sollicité supposé provenir de la société "Apple Inc." et invitant l'internaute à vérifier ses données personnelles via un site malicieux :

Sans titre 2

E-mail supposé provenir de l'Administration des contributions directes (ACD)

Cette arnaque se présente sous la forme d'un e-mail non sollicité supposé provenir de l'ACD contenant, suivant le cas, l'un des textes ci-dessous :

exemple-arnaque2

exemple-arnaque3

Le lien cliquable redirige vers une copie frauduleuse du site officiel de l'Administration des contributions directes sur laquelle il vous est demandé de remplir vos données de carte de crédit (nom, numéro, date d'expiration, date de naissance et mot de passe 3D Secure).

Windows Phone Scam

Certains appels téléphoniques peuvent déboucher sur du phishing, l’arnaque "Microsoft Phone Scam" en est un très bon exemple.

Pour parvenir à leurs fins, les arnaqueurs prétendent travailler pour la société Microsoft et informent leurs victimes par téléphone que leur ordinateur est infecté ; pour remédier au problème, ces dernières doivent accéder à une page de maintenance à distance qui est en réalité un "cheval de Troie", c’est-à-dire un logiciel malveillant qui permet au cybercriminel d’exécuter des actions à l’insu de l’utilisateur, il prend donc totalement la main sur sa machine.

Les arnaqueurs demandent ensuite une certaine somme d’argent à leurs victimes pour réparer l’infection.

Mise à jour de données pour insertion dans des registres, répertoires ou annuaires

Certaines sociétés invitent les entreprises à vérifier l'exactitude de leurs données afin qu'elles soient référencées dans différents registres, répertoires ou annuaires, par exemple :

  • le Registre des affaires ;
  • le Répertoire professionnel ;
  • le Registre Central Européen de saisie et de publication de numéros d'identification de la taxe sur le chiffre d'affaires ;
  • l'Annuaire international des branches d'activité ;
  • ou encore le Portail des Entreprises de Luxembourg.

Dans certains cas, ces sociétés imitent et détournent les logos d’organismes officiels afin de créer volontairement la confusion dans l'esprit du destinataire.

Ces propositions d'insertion dans des annuaires professionnels semblent le plus souvent gratuites puisqu'elles apparaissent comme de simples vérifications de coordonnées, cependant ce sont de véritables propositions contractuelles (l’offre de contrat et le montant à payer sont le plus souvent indiqués en petits caractères). En apposant votre signature, vous vous engagez à payer l'insertion dans l'un de ces registres ou annuaires (cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir) :


miniature-arnaque1

miniature-arnaque2

miniature-arnaque3
Exemple d'arnaque - Portail des Entreprises 2015

Arnaque nigériane 

Le fraudeur propose à sa victime l'hébergement de fonds bloqués à l'étranger contre une rémunération de 10 à 25 % de ces fonds. La victime doit par ailleurs payer des frais d'avocat et de douane sans jamais recevoir la rémunération attendue.

Arnaque au président

L'escroquerie par "faux ordre de virement international", également appelée "arnaque au président" sévit de plus en plus dans les PME ou grandes sociétés.

Dans ce type d'arnaque, les escrocs ciblent une entreprise (souvent au sein d'une filiale dont les employés ne connaissent pas personnellement les dirigeants), et cherchent à rassembler un maximum d'informations sur la société ciblée (ex.: son organisation, son organigramme, etc.).

Par téléphone ou par email, le fraudeur se fait ensuite passer pour le président, l'un des directeurs de la société ou un prestataire de confiance (avocat, notaire, etc.) et persuade le service comptable de virer une forte somme d'argent sur un compte à l'étranger.

Arnaque à l'offre d'emploi sur internet

L'arnaque à l'offre d'emploi sur internet consiste à publier sur un site d'offres d'emploi une offre de recrutement fictive au nom d'une société multinationale réputée.

Après avoir déposé sa candidature, le candidat reçoit un e-mail de l'arnaqueur lui annonçant que sa candidature a été retenue.

Le postulant est ensuite convoqué à un faux entretien à l'étranger, pour lequel il doit avancer des frais de voyage et s'adresser à une agence de voyage fictive.

Une fois le paiement effectué à l'agence, à savoir généralement plusieurs centaines d'euros, le candidat n'a plus de nouvelles, ni de la part de l'agence, ni de la part de l'annonceur.

(Cliquez sur l'image pour l'agrandir)

miniature-exemple-arnaque6 miniature-exemple-arnaque7

Que faire suite à une arnaque ?

Les entreprises se sentent souvent impuissantes face aux arnaques, c’est la raison pour laquelle beaucoup d’entre elles ne prennent aucune mesure suite à une escroquerie.

Si vous avez été victime d’une arnaque ou d’une tentative d’arnaque au Luxembourg, vous pouvez en informer les chambres et fédérations professionnelles (Chambre de Commerce, Chambre des Métiers) et contacter la hotline mise en place par la Direction générale PME et Entrepreneuriat. Ces organismes diffuseront l’information afin de participer activement à la prévention de l’arnaque.

Il est également conseillé de porter plainte au commissariat le plus proche ou auprès de la Police judiciaire.

Organismes de contact

Chambre de commerce
7, rue Alcide de Gasperi
L-2981 - Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 42 39 39-1
Fax : (+ 352) 43 83 26
E-mail chamcom@cc.lu

Heures d'ouverture
de 8h00 à 12h00 et de 14h00 à 18h00
2, Circuit de la Foire Internationale
L-1016 - Luxembourg
Adresse Postale B.P. 1604
Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 42 67 67-1
Fax : (+352) 42 67 87
E-mail contact@cdm.lu

Police Grand-Ducale
24, rue de Bitbourg
L-1273 - Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 49 97 60 02
Fax : (+ 352) 49 97 60 99