Calculating the taxable result of a sole proprietorship or a transparent partnership

Understanding the interaction between accounting and taxation is fundamental as accounting elements determine the tax base and the amount of tax businesses have to pay.

Moreover, proper bookkeeping is required where the tax authorities offer the taxpayer a choice between two tax regimes.

The accounting result is used as a basis to calculate the taxable result. It is then adjusted by means of additions and deductions where the tax rules differ from the accounting rules (certain expenses may not be tax deductible, and certain income may not be taxable).

This is the principle of basing the tax balance sheet on the accounting balance sheet: the tax balance sheet is derived from the commercial balance sheet and in principle they are identical, except where there are derogations under tax law (in which case the tax rules take precedence).

Major accounting rules affecting taxation

'Income-expenses' accounting

Businesses use full accrual basis accounting and not cash basis accounting meaning that they must recognise receivables acquired and payables due independently of their date of collection or payment.

Examples:

  • an invoice sent in December of year N is settled in January of year N+1. The accounting income is recorded in year N; the same applies to the taxable income; 
  • the advance payment made by the business at the beginning of renovation works does not yet constitute an accounting expense because the works have not yet started. It is therefore not a tax expense either. The accounting and tax expense will be recorded when the works are completed. 

Distinction between financial years

Only the income and expenses relating to a given financial year should be charged to that year.

Examples:

  • a delivery made in December of year N is taxable in year N, even if the invoice is not issued until January of N+1;
  • conversely, an invoice issued before the delivery or provision of services does not yet count as accounting (and tax) income;
  • total rent of 90 is paid in advance in November of year N for the months of November, December and January. The accounts for year N will only record the rent paid for November and December as an expense, i.e. 2 x 30 = 60.

Currencies and nominal value

Tax accounts are kept in euro according to the principle of nominal value. Transactions in foreign currencies are converted into euro at the exchange rate prevailing on the date the transaction is concluded. Receivables and payables in foreign currencies are converted into euro at the exchange rate prevailing on the closing date of the balance sheet; unrealised foreign exchange gains are ignored and unrealised foreign exchange losses are recorded.

Examples:

  • 10 items at a price of USD 100 per item are sold to an American customer. The exchange rate at the time of the sale is USD 1 = EUR 0.9. Turnover is 10 x 100 x 0.9 = EUR 900;
  • The business has a receivable of USD 100 from this customer. On the date of the sale USD 100 was worth EUR 90, so this amount appears in the accounts. At the accounting year-end, USD 100 is worth EUR 100 due to a fall in the euro. The business therefore has an unrealised foreign exchange gain which it will ignore for accounting and tax purposes;
  • Now we will take the same example, but this time USD 100 is worth only EUR 80. Since the business was exposed to the risk of incurring a foreign exchange loss, this expense of EUR 10 will be recorded for accounting and tax purposes.

The concept of taxable result

Full accrual basis accounting determines the taxable profit by comparing successive balance sheets. The underlying philosophy is the taxation of any gain due to the activity of the business during the financial year.

Dividing the life of the business into financial years is both necessary (an operating balance must be established at regular intervals) and artificial (the break at the end of a financial year does not relate to a break in the operations or the activities of the business). It is normal practice to carry forward certain items beyond the financial year end to give continuity to the results. This is why the final taxable result of one year in the life of the business is calculated by deducting losses carried forward from the previous financial year from the commercial profit of the new financial year.

Carryforwards, i.e. charging the deficit from one financial year against the profits of subsequent financial years, are allowed with no restrictions in terms of duration, provided that the taxpayer keeps the accounts properly.

Calculation method

  • Take the balance sheet net assets at the end of the financial year. Deduct the balance sheet net assets at the beginning of the financial year from this amount.
  • From the amount thereby obtained, deduct any contributions received by the business during the financial year. Contributions increase the net assets but are not a gain produced by the business itself; only elements produced by the business constitute taxable gains.
  • Finally, add the private withdrawals made by the entrepreneur during the financial year, because although they reduced the net assets at the end of the financial year they are not a business loss.

Business profit (loss) =
Net assets at the end of the financial year
- Net assets at the beginning of the financial year
- Additional contributions during the financial year
+ Private withdrawals during the financial year

Example: a taxpayer operating a sole proprietorship has drawn up the following balance sheets:

Opening balance sheet on 1 January

N : total assets 1000 – liabilities 400

Closing balance sheet on 31 December

N : total assets 1130 – liabilities 430

The taxpayer carried out the following transactions during year N:

Withdrawal of a cash amount from the business account

360

Payment of a private insurance policy from the business account

20

Payment of income tax from the business account

60

Removal of goods from the business inventory for private use

10

New contribution from an inheritance to the business

200

Business profit for financial year N

Net assets at the end of the financial year = 1130 – 430

= 700

Net assets at the beginning of the financial year = 1000 – 400

= 600

+ private withdrawals = 360 (cash) + 20 (private insurance) + 60 (personal income tax) + 10 (in kind)

= 450

- new contributions (inheritance)

= 200

= profit for the financial year: 700 – 600 + 450 – 200

= 350

Business assets

An entrepreneur is not at liberty to decide what he wishes to be considered as an asset of the business. The assets used in the operation of the business must be itemised in order to distinguish them from the private assets of the entrepreneur because they fall under a different tax regime.

In order to form part of the business assets, an asset must satisfy 2 conditions: the asset must belong to the business manager and it must serve the business.

The asset must belong to the business manager

According to this principle, only assets owned by the business manager can form part of the business assets; in other words, assets that creditors can seize if necessary.

The legal owner of an asset might not also be the economic owner. In this case, economic ownership will prevail. Whoever has effective power over the asset will therefore be considered to be its owner.

Example: lease contract: if, according to the contract, the lessee becomes the owner of the asset at the end of the agreement, the entrepreneur can include it in the business assets as from the start of the contract.

The asset must serve the business

Certain assets, by their very nature, serve the business while others can only be used for private purposes and others can serve both the private needs of the taxpayer and his business.

Assets that are professional by nature

These always form part of the business assets even if the entrepreneur wishes otherwise (example: manufacturing workshop).

Assets that can be considered to be business assets

Assets which, although not generally intended to serve the business, are nevertheless likely to serve this purpose in the business sector concerned (example: building rented out by the company). The entrepreneur can choose whether such assets form part of the private assets or business assets (in which case the accounts must be kept properly and the asset must be recorded therein).

Assets that are private by nature

These are assets that cannot serve the business and therefore cannot form part of the business assets (example: private residence).

Mixed use assets

These are assets used by the entrepreneur for both business and private purposes. Whether they form part of the private or business assets of the taxpayer depends on whether they are movable or immovable assets. Movable assets form part of the business assets or private assets at the discretion of the entrepreneur. Mixed use assets are divided into two parts: one part allocated to the business assets and the other to the private assets.

Valuation of business assets

Each asset is valued when it enters the business assets. The overall assets are valued at the end of each financial year. Valuation requires knowledge of the rules and restrictions laid down by the relevant tax laws. These rules apply to business assets as well as liabilities.

General valuation rules

There are 3 reference values:

  • the purchase cost is the price paid by the business to acquire the assets plus any additional costs (transport cost, customs duties, etc.);
  • the cost price or production cost is the cost of purchasing the supplies and materials used plus all direct expenses (expenses associated with a given product). Indirect production costs (overheads not associated with a specific product) may be added at the discretion of the entrepreneur;
  • the going concern value is the price that the buyer of an entire business attributes to the purchase. The going concern value is presumed to equal:
    • the replacement cost of the asset for movable assets;
    • the net value of the asset for depreciable fixed assets;
    • the purchase cost for non-depreciable fixed assets.

Restrictions under tax laws

The restrictions vary depending on whether the item in question is a business asset or liability, in addition to which there are some exceptions.

Assets

There is more than one possible value. Assets can be valued at the purchase cost or the production cost (minus any depreciation). In addition, when the going concern value of the asset is lower than the purchase cost or production cost, the taxpayer may opt for a value adjustment and value the item at the lower value (not compulsory);

Liabilities

These are valued at their purchase cost. When the going concern value is greater than this amount, the taxpayer may record an additional liability and opt for the going concern value of the item (this rule is only valid for tax purposes and any losses must be entered in the accounts; where appropriate, the taxpayer must draw up 2 separate balance sheets, one based on accounting criteria and the other establishing his choices regarding taxation).

Exception with regard to fungible assets

In theory, valuations are carried out individually, item by item. For fungible assets (stock, transferable securities, etc.), the entrepreneur cannot assign an individual purchase cost to each unit held. For these assets, the taxpayer can choose between 3 approximate valuation methods:

  • the weighted average cost (WAC) method;
  • the First In, First Out (FIFO) method;
  • the Last In, First Out (LIFO) method (see 'Composition and valuation of stock').

Special regime for small businesses

The taxation of businesses is based on full accrual taxation (see 'Accounting and taxation'). Only those working in the liberal professions and taxpayers making a profit in agriculture or forestry benefit from a simplified method for determining profits, known as the cash basis accounting system. However, all traders are obliged to keep full accrual accounts.

Nevertheless, small businesses may benefit from an exemption and opt for cash basis accounting (comparison of cash received and cash paid out) if they do not exceed any of the following 3 criteria:

  • annual turnover: EUR 50,000;
  • balance sheet total: EUR 12,500;
  • commercial profit: EUR 1,500.

Calculer le résultat imposable d'une entreprise individuelle ou d'une société de personnes transparente

La connaissance de l’interaction entre la comptabilité et la fiscalité est fondamentale, car des éléments comptables déterminent l’assiette et le montant des impôts dus par les entreprises.

Par ailleurs, la tenue d’une comptabilité régulière est exigée chaque fois que la fiscalité offre au contribuable une option entre deux régimes d’imposition.

Pour calculer le résultat imposable, il faut partir du résultat comptable et corriger celui-ci, au moyen d’ajouts ou de déductions lorsque les règles fiscales se distinguent des règles comptables (certaines charges peuvent ne pas être fiscalement déductibles, certains produits peuvent ne pas être imposables).

C’est le principe de l’accrochement du bilan fiscal au bilan comptable : le bilan fiscal est dérivé du bilan commercial et en principe identique à ce dernier, sauf s’il existe des règles dérogatoires prévues par la loi fiscale (ce sont alors ces règles dérogatoires qui devront être retenues).

Règles comptables importantes en matière de fiscalité

La comptabilité "produits-charges"

Les entreprises tiennent une comptabilité d’engagement et non de caisse de sorte qu’elles doivent comptabiliser les créances acquises et les dettes nées indépendamment de leur date d’encaissement ou de paiement.

Exemples :

  • La facture envoyée en décembre de l’année n est encaissée en janvier de l’année n+1. Le produit comptable est enregistré l’année n ; il en est de même du revenu imposable. 
  • L’acompte versé par l’entreprise au début des travaux de rénovation ne constitue pas encore une charge comptable, car les travaux n’ont pas encore été commencés. Il ne s’agit dès lors pas non plus d’une charge fiscale. La constatation de la charge comptable et fiscale sera reportée à l’achèvement des travaux. 

La distinction des exercices

Il faut imputer à chaque exercice fiscal les produits et les charges qui s’y rapportent et ceux-là seulement.

Exemples :

  • La livraison effectuée en décembre de l’année n est imposable l’année n, même si la facture n’est émise qu’en janvier de n+1 ;
  • A l'inverse, la facture envoyée avant livraison ou prestation des services ne constitue pas encore un revenu comptable (et fiscal) ;
  • Le loyer d'un total de 90 est payé par avance en novembre de l’année n pour les mois de novembre, décembre et janvier. La comptabilité de l’année n enregistrera dans ses charges uniquement les loyers de novembre et de décembre, soit 2 x 30 = 60.

Devises et nominalisme monétaire

La comptabilité fiscale est tenue en euros en respectant le principe de la valeur nominale. Les opérations conclues en devises étrangères sont converties en euros sur la base du cours de change existant à la date de conclusion de l’opération. Les créances et dettes en devises sont converties en euros sur la base du cours de change existant à la date de clôture du bilan ; les bénéfices de change non réalisés sont ignorés et les pertes de change latentes sont comptabilisées.

Exemples

  • 10 articles au prix de 100 dollars l’article sont vendus à un client américain. Le cours de change au moment de la vente est de 1 dollar = 0,9 euros. Le chiffre d’affaires est dès lors de 10 x 100 x 0.9 = 900 euros ;
  • L’entreprise a une créance de 100 dollars sur son client. Au jour de la vente, les 100 dollars valaient 90 euros, de sorte que c’est ce montant qui figure en comptabilité. A la clôture de l’exercice comptable, les 100 dollars valent 100 euros en raison d’un fléchissement de l’euro. L’entreprise dispose donc d’un gain de change non réalisé qu’elle négligera sur le plan comptable et fiscal ;
  • Même exemple, sauf que les 100 dollars ne valent plus que 80 euros. L’entreprise étant exposée à un risque de perte de change, cette charge éventuelle de 10 euros sera enregistrée en comptabilité et en fiscalité.

Notion de résultat imposable

La comptabilité d’engagement détermine le bénéfice imposable par voie de comparaison de bilans successifs. La philosophie sous jacente étant l’imposition de tout enrichissement dû à l’activité de l’entreprise pendant l’exercice fiscal.

Le découpage de la vie de l’entreprise en exercices présente un caractère à la fois nécessaire (il faut arrêter un solde d’opérations à intervalles réguliers) et artificiel (la rupture que constitue la fin d’un exercice ne constitue pas la fin des opérations, de l’activité de l’entreprise). Il est normal de recréer un report, au-delà des exercices, une continuité dans la constitution du résultat. Voilà pourquoi le passage au résultat imposable final d’une année de l’entreprise s’effectue en retranchant les pertes reportées de l’exercice précédent du bénéfice commercial du nouvel exercice.

Un tel report en avant, imputation du déficit d’un exercice sur les bénéfices des exercices ultérieurs, est autorisé sans condition de durée pour autant que le contribuable tienne une comptabilité régulière.

Mode de calcul

  • On prend l’actif net du bilan de clôture de l’exercice. On retranche de ce montant l’actif net du bilan d’ouverture de l’exercice ;
  • On retranche du montant ainsi obtenu les apports faits au cours de l’exercice. En effet, l’apport augmente l’actif net sans toutefois être un enrichissement produit par l’entreprise elle-même ; or seuls les éléments produits par l’entreprise constituent des enrichissements imposables ;
  • On ajoute enfin les prélèvements privés opérés par l’entrepreneur lors de l’exercice, car ils ont diminué l’actif net investi de fin de période sans pour autant traduire une perte commerciale.

Bénéfice (perte) de l’entreprise =
  Actif net fin de l’exercice
- Actif net début de l’exercice
- Suppléments d’apport de l’exercice
+ Prélèvements privés de l’exercice

Exemple : un contribuable exploitant une entreprise individuelle a établi les bilans suivants :

Bilan d’ouverture au 1er janvier

N : actif total 1000 - passif exigible 400

Bilan de clôture au 31 décembre

N : actif total 1130 - passif exigible 430

Le contribuable a effectué les opérations suivantes lors de l’année N :

Prélèvement d’une somme numéraire sur le compte de l’entreprise

360

Paiement d’une assurance privée avec le compte de l’entreprise

 20

Paiement de l’impôt sur le revenu avec le compte de l’entreprise

 60

Prélèvement de marchandises de l’entreprise pour des besoins privés

 10

Apport nouveau provenant d’un héritage à l’entreprise

 200

Bénéfice de l’entreprise pour l'exercice N

Actif net fin exercice = 1130 – 430

 = 700

Actif net début exercice = 1000 – 400

 = 600

+ prélèvements privés = 360 (numéraire) + 20 (assurance privée) + 60 (impôts personnels) + 10 (nature)

 = 450

- apports nouveaux (héritage)

 = 200

= bénéfice de l’exercice : 700 – 600 + 450 – 200

 = 350

Patrimoine de l’entreprise

L’entrepreneur n’est pas libre de considérer ce qu’il veut comme étant un bien de son entreprise. Il faut individualiser le patrimoine de l’entreprise ayant trait à son exploitation afin de le distinguer du patrimoine privé de l’entrepreneur, leur régime fiscal étant différent.

Afin de figurer au patrimoine de l’entreprise, un bien doit remplir 2 conditions cumulatives : le bien doit appartenir au chef d’entreprise et il doit servir à l’entreprise.

Le bien doit appartenir au chef d’entreprise

En vertu de ce principe, ne peuvent figurer au patrimoine de l’entreprise que les biens dont le chef d’entreprise est propriétaire, c’est-à-dire les biens que les créanciers peuvent, le cas échéant, saisir.

La propriété juridique d’un bien peut parfois ne pas coïncider avec sa propriété économique. Dans un tel cas, la propriété économique prime. Sera ainsi considéré comme propriétaire celui qui a le pouvoir effectif sur le bien.

Exemple : contrat de leasing : si le contrat prévoit qu’à son terme, le locataire devient propriétaire, l’entrepreneur peut faire figurer le bien dans le patrimoine de son entreprise dès le début du contrat.

Le bien doit servir à l’activité de l’entreprise

Certains biens servent par nature à l’entreprise, d’autres ne peuvent servir qu’à un usage privé, d’autres enfin peuvent servir tant à l’usage privé du contribuable qu'à son activité professionnelle.

Biens professionnels par nature

Ils figurent toujours dans le patrimoine de l’entreprise même si l’entrepreneur voulait en décider autrement (exemple : hall de fabrication).

Biens professionnels par option

Biens qui, quoique n’étant généralement pas destinés à servir à l’entreprise, sont néanmoins, dans le secteur d’activité envisagé, susceptibles d’être affectés à cette fin (exemple : immeuble donné en location par l’entreprise). L’entrepreneur a le choix de faire figurer de tels biens soit dans son patrimoine privé, soit dans son patrimoine professionnel (il faudra pour cela qu’il tienne une comptabilité régulière et qu’il y fasse figurer le bien).

Biens privés par nature

Il s’agit des biens qui ne peuvent servir à l’entreprise et qui ne peuvent par conséquent pas figurer dans son patrimoine (exemple : habitation privée).

Biens à usage mixte

Biens utilisés par l’entrepreneur tant professionnellement que dans sa vie privée. Leur affectation au patrimoine privée ou professionnel du contribuable varie selon qu’il s’agit de biens meubles ou immeubles. Les biens meubles feront partie soit du patrimoine de l’entreprise soit du patrimoine privé selon le choix de l’entrepreneur. Les immeubles à usage mixte seront scindés en deux parties, une partie dans le patrimoine professionnel, une partie dans le patrimoine privé.

Evaluation du patrimoine de l'entreprise

Chaque bien est évalué à son entrée dans le patrimoine de l’entreprise. Le patrimoine est lui-même évalué à la fin de chaque exercice comptable. L'évaluation requiert une connaissance des règles et des limites qu’impose le droit fiscal en la matière. Ces règles valent tant pour les avoirs de l’entreprise que pour son passif.

Règles générales d’évaluation

Il existe 3 valeurs de reference :

  • le coût d’achat est égal au prix payé par l’entreprise pour acquérir les biens augmenté des frais accessoires d’achat (frais de transport, droits de douanes, etc.) ;
  • le coût de revient ou coût de production est égal au coût d’achat des fournitures et matières consommées augmenté de toutes les charges directes (charges se rattachant à un produit donné). Les charges indirectes de production (frais généraux d’administration non rattachés à un produit spécifique) peuvent être ajoutées sur option de l’entrepreneur ;
  • la valeur d’exploitation est égale au prix que l'acquéreur de la totalité d'une entreprise attribuerait à cet achat. Il est présumé que la valeur d’exploitation correspond :
    • au coût de remplacement du bien pour les biens meubles ;
    • à la valeur nette du bien pour les immobilisations amortissables ;
    • au coût d’achat pour les immobilisations non amortissables.

Limites imposées par le droit fiscal

Les limites diffèrent selon que le bien est situé à l’actif ou au passif de l’entreprise, par ailleurs certains cas particuliers sont à envisager.

Eléments de l’actif

Il n’existe pas une seule valeur possible. Ils sont à évaluer au coût d’achat ou au coût de production (diminué des amortissements éventuels). Par ailleurs, lorsque la valeur d’exploitation du bien est inférieure à son coût d’achat ou de production, le contribuable peut opter pour une correction de valeur et évaluer le bien à cette valeur inférieure (non obligatoire) ;

Eléments du passif

Ils sont à évaluer au coût d’achat. Lorsque la valeur d’exploitation est supérieure à celui-ci, le contribuable peut constater un supplément de dettes et opter pour la valeur d’exploitation du bien (cette règle ne vaut que pour le volet fiscal, les pertes éventuelles doivent obligatoirement être comptabilisées, le cas échéant, le contribuable devra établir 2 bilans distincts, l'un répondant aux critères comptables, l’autre établissant ses choix en matière d’imposition).

Cas particulier des biens fongibles

En principe, l’exercice d’évaluation est à effectuer individuellement, bien par bien. Pour les biens fongibles (stocks, valeurs mobilières, etc.), l’entrepreneur ne peut matériellement pas attribuer à chaque unité détenue un coût d’achat individualisé. Pour ces biens, le contribuable a le choix entre trois méthodes de valorisation approximative :

  • la méthode du coût moyen pondéré (CMP) ;
  • la méthode "First in - First out" (FIFO) ;
  • la méthode "Last in - First out" (LIFO) (voir Composition et évaluation des stocks).

Régime particulier des petites entreprises

La fiscalité des entreprises se trouve basée sur la fiscalité d’engagement (voir Comptabilité et fiscalité). Seuls les titulaires de professions libérales, ainsi que les contribuables réalisant un bénéfice agricole et forestier bénéficient d’un mode simplifié de détermination du bénéfice, à savoir le système recettes-dépenses. Les commerçants par contre, sont en principe tous obligés de tenir une comptabilité d’engagement.

Il existe néanmoins un régime dérogatoire pour les petites entreprises qui peuvent opter pour une comptabilité de caisse (comparaison des encaissements et des décaissements) si elles ne dépassent aucun des 3 critères suivants :

  • chiffre d'affaires annuel : 50.000 euros ;
  • total du bilan : 12.500 euros ;
  • bénéfice commercial : 1.500 euros.