Defining a business’ financial requirements and the most suitable banking solutions (illustration with a balance sheet)

This page was last modified on 21-06-2013

Funding is needed at each stage in the business life cycle and as the economic activity develops, other projects may require financing as well. Entrepreneurs must analyse a potential project in order to best ascertain its profitability as well as the funding that it will require. Based on these 2 factors, both the amount and type of financing can be determined. The business manager must then seek information on the financing options available with respect to a project or activity in order to determine if he should use his own capital or resort to third party funds or bank financing. There are many different banking solutions available depending on the type of project.

Who is concerned

Bank financing concerns any business set up in the form of a sole proprietorship or company that wishes to develop its commercial activity via:

  • the creation of a business;
  • capital investment (acquisition of machinery or equipment);
  • international expansion;
  • cash flow requirements (payment of suppliers, balancing unpaid invoices by clients);
  • internal growth (development of activities, creation of subsidiaries);
  • external growth (merger or takeover of another business).

Prerequisites

Guarantees

The type of guarantee and the guarantee requirements vary depending on the type of bank financing sought and the risks involved. Receiving a guarantee enables the bank to ensure that there will be no problems with the financing and that it will be fully repaid. The bank first looks at the client’s solvency as well as the profitability of the project to be financed. Beyond this, the bank may request one or more of the following guarantees:

  • a mortgage;
  • a pledge;
  • a surety;
  • a moral commitment;
  • contribution of capital;
  • an insurance policy.

Balance sheet structure

The new 'Basel II' regulations include all of the requirements in terms of own capital in order to provide security in respect of credit. Among a whole range of financial criteria and indicators, the business must have a good rating with the bank and other creditors. Before starting a project requiring significant funding, it is therefore advisable to examine the balance sheet structure and ensure its optimisation.

The structure of a balance sheet perfectly illustrates the financial requirements, the suitable financial solutions and the guarantees required by banks to cover the risk. This table shows the business' financial situation as well as its requirements:

 

ASSETS (uses of funds)

LIABILITIES (sources of funds)

Fixed assets
  • tangible fixed assets
  • intangible fixed assets
  • capital assets

Long-term

Less liquid

 

 

 

 

 

Short-term

More liquid

Long-term capital
  • share capital
  • reserves
  • profit/loss carried forward
  • subordinated debt
  • provisions

Current assets

  • stocks
  • receivables
  • cash

Payables

  • long-term bank debt (LT)
  • short-term bank debt (ST)
  • accounts payable and other payables
  • social security liabilities

 

As a general rule, the balance sheet is organised chronologically from top to bottom, i.e. from the long-term to the short-term. This applies to both assets and liabilities. Long-term uses of funds have to be financed by long-term sources of funds. Long-term sources must exceed the long-term uses, thereby enabling the financing of part of the short-term uses to ensure that the business has a certain degree of liquidity.

The assets represent the company’s requirements on the one hand and its investments on the other:

  • long-term items are those that are the least realisable; they are grouped together under the term 'fixed assets';
  • short-term items (the most realisable) are called 'current assets'.

The word realisable means the ability to dispose of the items and convert them into liquid assets (cash), with a view to investing them elsewhere.

The liabilities represent the different sources of funds available to the company for financing the investments necessary for the smooth running of the business:

  • long-term items are funds which are 'permanently' available to the company (long-term capital);
  • short-term items consist of funds that are made available to the company on a temporary basis.

How to proceed

Financing intangible fixed assets and capital assets

A subordinated loan (junior debt) is generally used to finance intangible fixed assets and capital assets. This is particularly the case for the takeover of a business or the purchase of a business, patents or licences. On the liabilities side of the balance sheet, this type of credit is situated between owned capital and long-term loans in terms of risk. A subordinated loan can be in the form of a mezzanine loan, a debenture loan or even a convertible debenture loan (convertible into shares).

Financing investment projects

A business’ investment projects are often of a long-term nature and are generally financed over the medium or long-term. They can involve movable assets (production tools, machinery, vehicles) or property (land, industrial buildings, offices) intended for the creation, improvement or development of the business activity. The entrepreneur can choose between various banking solutions in order to finance investments, namely:

Financing everyday investment projects

Everyday investments involve, above all, the acquisition and renewal of smaller-scale equipment and the vehicle fleet and are generally carried out through short and medium-term financing, namely:

Financing growth

The financing of the operating cycle, working capital needs and cash flow requirements affects, in particular, stocks, receivables and cash flow. There are various ways to finance growth, namely:

  • a cash credit: temporary current account overdraft;
  • fixed advances: temporary provision of a certain amount for a clearly specified period;
  • invoice advances: advances paid by the bank against a pledge on receivables;
  • discount credit: payment of the amount of a commercial paper by the bank in return for fees;
  • factoring: assigning receivables to the bank.

Définir les besoins de l'entreprise et les solutions bancaires appropriées (illustrations à l'aide d'un bilan)

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 19-06-2013

A chaque phase dans le cycle de vie d’une entreprise elle a besoin de fonds et au fur et à mesure du développement de son activité économique, il peut y avoir différents projets à financer. L’entrepreneur doit analyser le projet à réaliser afin de connaître au mieux sa rentabilité et les coûts pour sa réalisation. Suite à ces 2 facteurs, le besoin ainsi que le type de financement peuvent être déterminés. Le chef d'entreprise doit alors s'informer sur le financement d'un projet ou d'une activité afin de savoir s'il doit plutôt utiliser ses fonds propres, recourir à des fonds tiers ou encore opter pour un financement bancaire. Les solutions bancaires sont multiples et peuvent présenter un financement adapté pour chaque type de projet à réaliser.

Personnes concernées

Peut être concerné par le financement de ses besoins par des solutions bancaires, toute entreprise, sous forme individuelle ou sociétaire, qui souhaite développer son activité commerciale par le biais de :

  • la création de l’entreprise ;
  • l’investissement en capital (acquisition de machines ou de matériel) ;
  • l’expansion internationale ;
  • le besoin de liquidités (paiement des fournisseurs, équilibrer le non-paiement par les clients) ;
  • la croissance interne (développement de ses activités, création de filiales) ;
  • la croissance externe (fusion ou rachat d’une autre entreprise).

Conditions préalables

Garanties

Selon le type et le risque de financement bancaire, varient aussi le type et les exigences en matière de garanties. La présentation d’une garantie au banquier lui permet de s’assurer du bon déroulement du financement ainsi que de son remboursement. Une première garantie doit constituer la solvabilité du client et la rentabilité du projet à financer. Au-delà, la banque peut demander une ou plusieurs des garanties suivantes :

  • une hypothèque immobilière ;
  • un gage ;
  • un cautionnement ;
  • un engagement moral ;
  • apport de fonds propres ;
  • conclusion d’une assurance.

Structure du bilan

Les nouvelles normes "Bâle II" comprennent l’ensemble des exigences en matière de fonds propres afin de garantir une sécurisation dans l’octroi de crédits. Parmi tout un éventail de critères et indicateurs financiers, il s’agit d’assurer un bon rating de l’entreprise auprès de la banque et d’autres créanciers. Avant de se lancer dans la réalisation d’un projet à fonds élevés, il s’avère donc judicieux de s’intéresser davantage à sa structure du bilan et de veiller à son optimisation.

La structure d’un bilan illustre parfaitement les besoins, les solutions financières adaptées ainsi que les garanties demandées par les banques en vue de couvrir le risque. Le présent tableau permet de mettre en évidence l’état financier et les besoins de l’entreprise :

 

ACTIF (emplois)

PASSIF (ressources)

Actif immobilisé
  • immobilisations corporelles
  • immobilisations incorporelles
  • immobilisations financières

Long terme

Moins liquide

 

 

 

 

 

Court terme

Plus liquide

Capitaux permanents
  • capital social
  • réserves
  • résultats reportés
  • obligations subordonnées
  • provisions

Actif circulant

  • stocks
  • créances clients
  • trésorerie

Dettes

  • dettes bancaires long terme (LT)
  • dettes bancaires court terme (CT)
  • dettes fournisseurs et autres
  • dettes sociales et autres

 

En règle générale, le bilan est organisé de haut en bas par ordre chronologique, c'est-à-dire du long terme vers le court terme et ceci aussi bien pour l’actif que pour le passif. Les emplois long terme sont à financer par des ressources long terme. Les ressources long terme doivent excéder les emplois long terme et donc permettre de financer une partie des emplois court terme afin d’assurer une certaine liquidité à l’entreprise.

L’actif représente d’une part les besoins et d’autre part les investissements de la société :

  • les postes à long terme sont ceux qui sont les moins réalisables, ils sont regroupés sous le nom "d’actif immobilisé" ;
  • les postes à court terme (les plus réalisables) sont appelés "actif circulant".

Par réalisable, on entend le fait de pouvoir céder et liquéfier en espèces (cash) les postes, en vue de pouvoir les investir ailleurs.

Le passif représente les différentes ressources dont dispose la société pour financer les investissements nécessaires au bon fonctionnement de l’entreprise :

  • les postes à long  terme sont des fonds qui sont à disposition "permanente" de la société (on parle de capitaux permanents) ;
  • les postes à court terme consistent en des fonds qui sont mis à la disposition de la société de façon temporaire.

Modalités pratiques

Financer des immobilisations incorporelles et financières

Le prêt subordonné (prêt Junior) est généralement utilisé pour le financement des immobilisations incorporelles et financières. Ceci est le cas notamment pour une reprise d’entreprise et l’achat de fonds de commerce, de brevets ou de licences. Au passif du bilan, ce type de crédit se situe en termes de risque entre les capitaux propres et les emprunts à long terme. Le prêt subordonné peut se présenter sous forme de prêt mezzanine, emprunt obligataire ou encore emprunt obligataire convertible en actions.

Financer des projets d’investissement

Les projets d’investissement d’une entreprise présentent souvent un caractère durable et se financent généralement à moyen ou à long terme. Il peut s’agir de biens mobiliers (outils de production, machines, véhicules) ou immobiliers (terrains, halls industriels, bureaux) destinés à la création, l’amélioration ou le développement de l’activité professionnelle. L’entrepreneur peut choisir entre plusieurs solutions bancaires pour le financement de ses investissements, à savoir :

  • le prêt d'investissement à long terme pour biens mobiliers ou immobiliers ;
  • le prêt in fine : le remboursement du crédit se fait en un seul versement à l’échéance ;
  • le crédit-pont (crédit relais) : financement d’une impasse de trésorerie ;
  • le prêt syndiqué : utilisé pour le financement de projets d'une certaine envergure ;
  • le leasing immobilier (crédit-bail) : acquisition d’un bien immobilier en échange de redevances.

Financer des projets d’investissement courant

Les investissements courants concernent avant tout l’acquisition et le renouvellement du petit outillage et du parc automobile, et se font généralement par des financements à court ou à moyen terme, à savoir :

Financer la croissance

Le financement du cycle d’exploitation, des besoins en fonds de roulement et des besoins en liquidités touche notamment les stocks, les créances et la trésorerie. Il existe plusieurs méthodes pour financer sa croissance, à savoir :

  • le crédit de caisse : dépassement temporaire du compte courant ;
  • l’avance à terme fixe : mise à disposition temporaire d’un certain montant pour une durée bien déterminée ;
  • l’avance sur factures : avances payées par la banque contre gage sur créances ;
  • le crédit d'escompte : paiement du montant d’un effet de commerce par la banque contre frais ;
  • l’affacturage : cession de créances commerciales à la banque.