Transport of passengers by road - Community licence

This page was last modified on 09-04-2018

The Community licence enables transport operators to undertake the transport of passengers by road on a for-hire basis in all of the European Economic Area and in Switzerland. The original licence must be kept in the company's headquarters. Certified copies of the licence must be kept aboard the buses/coaches.

In order to obtain a Community licence for the transport of passengers by road, each transport operator must first have been granted access to the profession through a business permit from the Ministry of the Economy's General Directorate for SMEs and Entrepreneurship (Direction générale PME et Entrepreneuriat).

Transport operators can then request access to the market with a Community licence for the international transport of passengers by road, granted by the Ministry of Sustainable Development and Infrastructure's Department of Transport.

Forms / Online services

Carry out your procedure:

Who is concerned

Any natural or legal person can apply for a Community licence for the transport of passengers by road on a for-hire basis in any Member State of the European Economic Area (EEA).

Prerequisites

In order to carry out the occupation of road passenger transport operator, applicants must hold a business permit for road haulage or passenger transport operators and therefore have to:

  • provide proof of professional integrity;
  • provide proof of their financial capacity, i.e. prove that they have the necessary financial resources to correctly start up and ensure the proper management of their activity by providing a surety or guarantee from a banking or other financial establishment;
  • provide proof of professional competence, i.e.:
    • either have a certificate of successful completion of the final exam completing the training course attesting the knowledge acquired;
    • or provide proof of 10 years' professional experience with a carrier, acquired before 2009 (applies to the Community applicant who provides an EC certificate indicating his professional experience in another Member State as a manager of a transport company);
  • have a permanent establishment in Luxembourg.

How to proceed

Application for a Community licence

In order to carry out the international transport of passengers by road, the applicant must first obtain a business permit granted by the Ministry of the Economy's General Directorate for SMEs and Entrepreneurship.

After having received the business permit, the transport operator has to submit the original application for a Community licence, by mail or in person, to the Department of Transport (at the Guichet licences) at the Ministry of Sustainable Development and Infrastructure (ministère du Développement durable et des Infrastructures).

For transports from or to countries other than those in the European Economic Area (EEA) or Switzerland, it is recommended to first contact the Ministry of Sustainable Development and Infrastructure, Directorate of Public Transport, in order to find out if this type of transport is authorised under a bi- or multilateral agreement and if a special authorisation is needed.

Documents to be submitted with the application

The application for a Community licence for the international transport of passengers by road must be accompanied by the following documents:

All documents, i.e., the Community licence application and the 3 supporting documents, have to be duly completed and signed by the transportation company's technical manager before sending them to the Department of Transport (Guichet licences) at the Ministry of Sustainable Development and Infrastructure.

Annex A: the transport operator's staff summary sheet

The technical manager must list and certify all of the managing staff (manager(s) and partner(s)) as well as the transport operator's employees (drivers, administrative and maintenance staff) who are registered with the Luxembourg Joint Social Security Centre. The managing staff and employees registered with a foreign social security body must submit a copy of the form A1 completed and certified by the social security body concerned.

Specific information for new businesses (first application): new businesses who submit the application for the first time have to present annex A certified by the Joint Social Security Centre.

In addition, the technical manager must certify that:

  • all staff listed in annex A is legally employed by the transport operator;
  • the contractual relationship between the transport operator and their staff is compliant with Luxembourg and EU legislation in terms of labour law and employment law;
  • the collective agreement is respected;
  • the staff is registered with the Luxembourg Inland Revenue (administration des Constributions directes).

Vehicles registered in Luxembourg and belonging to the transport operator established in Luxembourg or made available to him under a hire or leasing contract can only be driven by the staff legally employed by the transport operator holding a Community licence. Non-compliance with these obligations will be regarded as an act of unfair competition by the Ministry of Sustainable Development and Infrastructure.

Annex B: vehicles hired by the transport operator

Vehicles belonging to the transport operator or made available to him under a leasing contract are directly checked by the Ministry of Sustainable Development and Infrastructure in the national directory of road vehicles.

In addition, the technical manager must certify that annex B lists all of the vehicles the company hired that are approved, by virtue of their type and equipment, for the transport of more than 9 people including the driver.

For vehicles made available to the transport operator under a hire contract, a copy of the hire contract and of the registration certificate (carte grise) must be attached to the application.

Moreover, transport operators established in Luxembourg can only provide transport services with a certified copy of the Community licence and any other transport authorisation if they have registered and presented for a technical inspection in Luxembourg all vehicles owned, hired or leased by them.

This obligation is mandatory and non-compliance will be regarded as an act of unfair competition by the Ministry of Sustainable Development and Infrastructure which will compromise, at least in part, the transport operator's integrity and is likely to result in the full or partial administrative withdrawal of all transport authorisations.

Who to contact

Ministry of Sustainable Development and Infrastructure
4, Place de l'Europe
L-1499 - Luxembourg
Postal box L-2938
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 247 84 400
Fax: (+352) 22 85 68, e-CMR : (+352) 22 54 30
Email info@mt.public.lu

Ministry of the Economy

B.P. 535 - L-2937 - Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Phone: (+352) 247-74700
Fax: (+352) 247-74701
Email info.pme@eco.etat.lu

Opening hours
The telephone helpline is open Monday to Friday, from 13.00 to 17.00 (not on public holidays).

Transport de voyageurs par route-licence communautaire

Dernière mise à jour de cette page le 04-04-2018

La licence communautaire permet au transporteur d’effectuer des transports de voyageurs pour compte d’autrui dans tous les pays de l’Espace Economique Européen ainsi qu’en Suisse. L’original de la licence doit être gardé au siège de l’entreprise. Les copies conformes de la licence doivent être à bord des autocars/autobus.

Afin d’obtenir une licence communautaire de transport de voyageurs par route, tout transporteur doit préalablement avoir obtenu l’accès à la profession, matérialisée par une autorisation d’établissement relevant de la compétence de la Direction générale PME et Entrepreneuriat du ministère de l’Economie.

Ensuite, il peut demander l’accès au marché, matérialisé par une licence communautaire de transports internationaux de voyageurs par route, octroyée par le Département des transports du ministère du Développement durable et des Infrastructures.

Formulaires / Services en ligne

Effectuez votre démarche

Personnes concernées

Toute personne physique ou morale peut demander une licence communautaire pour le transport des voyageurs par route pour compte d’autrui, dans tous les pays de l’Espace Economique Européen (EEE).

Conditions préalables

Pour exercer la profession de transporteur de voyageurs par route, le demandeur doit détenir une autorisation d’établissement pour transporteur de marchandises ou de voyageurs et doit pour cela :

  • justifier de son honorabilité professionnelle ;
  • justifier de sa capacité financière, c’est-à-dire prouver, par un cautionnement ou une garantie établie par un établissement bancaire ou financier, qu’il dispose des ressources financières nécessaires pour assurer la mise en marche adéquate et la bonne gestion de son activité ;
  • justifier de sa capacité professionnelle, c’est-à-dire :
    • soit être en possession d’un certificat de réussite à un examen final clôturant une formation qui démontre les connaissances acquises ;
    • soit justifier d’une expérience professionnelle de 10 ans auprès d’un transporteur, acquise avant 2009 (s'applique au requérant communautaire qui fournit une attestation CE renseignant son expérience professionnelle dans un autre Etat membre comme dirigeant d'une entreprise de transport) ;
  • avoir un établissement stable au Luxembourg.

Modalités pratiques

Demande de licence communautaire

Afin de pouvoir effectuer le commerce de transport international de voyageurs par route, le requérant doit tout d’abord être en possession d’une autorisation d’établissement octroyée par la Direction générale PME et Entrepreneuriat du ministère de l’Economie.

Après l’obtention de son autorisation d’établissement, le transporteur doit adresser l’original sa demande de licence communautaire, par courrier ou en mains propres, auprès du Département des transports (Guichet licences) du ministère du Développement durable et des Infrastructures.

Pour les transports en provenance ou à destination de pays autres que les pays de l’Espace économique européen (EEE) ou la Suisse, il est recommandé de s’enquérir en avance auprès du ministère de Développement durable et des Infrastructures, Direction des transports publics, si ces transports sont autorisés en vertu d’un accord bi- ou multilatéral et si, le cas échéant, une autorisation spéciale est nécessaire.

Pièces à joindre à la demande

La demande de licence communautaire de transports internationaux de voyageurs par route doit être accompagnée des documents suivants :

L’ensemble des documents, à savoir, la demande relative à la licence communautaire ainsi que les 3 pièces à joindre, doivent être dûment remplis et signés par le gérant technique de l’entreprise de transport avant d’être envoyés au Département des transports (Guichet licences) du ministère du Développement durable et des Infrastructures.

Annexe A : relevé du personnel du transporteur

Le gérant technique doit détailler et certifier l’ensemble du personnel dirigeant (gérant(s) et associé(s)) ainsi que les salariés du transporteur (chauffeurs, personnels administratifs et personnel de maintenance) affiliés auprès du Centre commun de la sécurité sociale luxembourgeoise. Le personnel dirigeant et les salariés affiliés auprès d’un organisme de sécurité sociale étranger doivent remettre une copie d’un formulaire A1 établi et certifié par l’organisme de sécurité sociale en question.

Information spécifique aux nouvelles entreprises (première demande) : les nouvelles entreprises  introduisant pour la première fois  une demande doivent présenter une annexe A certifiée par le Centre Commun de la Sécurité Sociale.

De plus, le gérant technique doit certifier:

  • que l’ensemble du personnel repris sur l’annexe A est légalement employé par le transporteur ;
  • que la relation contractuelle entre le transporteur et le personnel respecte la législation luxembourgeoise et communautaire en matière de droit du travail et de droit social ;
  • que la convention collective est respectée ;
  • que le personnel soit déclaré  auprès de l’Administration des Contributions directes.

Enfin, les véhicules immatriculés au Luxembourg et appartenant au transporteur établi au Grand-Duché ou mis à sa disposition en vertu d’un contrat de location ou de leasing ne peuvent être conduits que par le personnel légalement employé par le transporteur titulaire d’une licence communautaire. Le non-respect de cette obligation est considéré par le ministère du Développement durable et des Infrastructures comme un comportement de concurrence déloyale.

Annexe B : véhicules loués par le transporteur

Les véhicules appartenant au transporteur ou mis à sa disposition en vertu d’un contrat de leasing sont vérifiés directement par le ministère du Développement durable et des Infrastructures dans le répertoire national des véhicules routiers.

De plus, le gérant technique doit certifier que l’annexe B reprend l’ensemble des véhicules aptes, d’après leur type de construction et leur équipement, à transporter plus de neuf personnes, conducteur compris, mis à sa disposition en vertu d’un contrat de location.

Pour tout véhicule mis à disposition du transporteur par un contrat de location, une copie du certificat de location (ou du contrat de location), ainsi que du certificat d’immatriculation (« carte grise ») sont à joindre à la présente demande.

Par ailleurs, un transporteur établi au Luxembourg ne peut effectuer des opérations de transports sous le couvert d’une copie conforme de licence communautaire et de toute autre autorisation de transport sans avoir immatriculé et présenté au contrôle technique au Luxembourg, les véhicules lui appartenant ou mis à sa disposition en vertu d’un contrat de location ou de leasing.

Cette obligation constitue un impératif et tout non-respect est considéré par le ministère du Développement durable et des infrastructures comme un comportement de concurrence déloyale mettant en cause au moins partiellement l’honorabilité du transporteur et est susceptible d’entrainer un retrait administratif total ou partiel des autorisations de transports.

Organismes de contact

Ministère du Développement durable et des Infrastructures
4, Place de l'Europe
L-1499 - Luxembourg
Adresse Postale L-2938
Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 247 84 400
Fax : (+352) 22 85 68, e-CMR : (+352) 22 54 30
E-mail info@mt.public.lu

Ministère de l'Economie

B.P. 535 - L-2937 - Luxembourg
Luxembourg
Tél. : (+352) 247-74700
Fax : (+352) 247-74701
E-mail info.pme@eco.etat.lu

Heures d'ouverture
Accueil téléphonique du lundi au vendredi, de 13h00 à 17h00 (sauf les jours fériés).