Authenticating with eIDAS

The electronic IDentification, Authentication and trust Services (eIDAS) for electronic transactions have been established at European Union (EU) level in order to enable cross-border authentication for accessing online public services.

The aim is to enable EU citizens and companies to carry out online administrative procedures in any other European country using the authentication system recognised in their own country.

Thus, in Luxembourg, in addition to LuxTrust products and the Luxembourg electronic identity card (eID), electronic means of identification from many other EU and European Economic Area (EEA) Member States can be used to authenticate to

Which countries can use eIDAS identification on

The following countries can currently use eIDAS for eletronic identification on

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Malta
  • The Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

If the country that issued your eIDAS means of identification does not appear in the list, it may not yet have been notified. However, this does not mean that it will not be made available in the future.

What must I do to use my country's eIDAS identification on

In order to use your country's eIDAS means of identification on, you need a Luxembourg national identification number. If you do not have such a number, you can follow an eIDAS registration procedure which will allow you to request such a number online. With this number you are registered in the National Registry of Natural Persons (RNPP), which will allow you to use

The RNPP groups all data relating to the identification of natural persons (residents or non-residents) who are in contact with a Luxembourg government administration department or public body.

When you apply for a Luxembourg national identification number by using your eIDAS means of identification, pour personal identification data associated with this means are registered in the RNPP.

You can also check the validity of your eIDAS means of identification and your related personal identification data online by following this link.

After having obtained your Luxembourg national identification number and having been registered in the RNPP, you must:

  • first register your eIDAS means of identification on ; et
  • then create a private and/or business eSpace on

Once you have created a private and/or business eSpace on, you can:

  • carry out online administrative procedures that require strong authentication but no electronic signature;
  • consult your data (or those concerning your company) which are, where applicable, held by Luxembourg administrations and public bodies (also known as 'authentic sources');
  • subscribe to the eDelivery service to receive certain emails and documents directly in your eSpace.

Please note: it is not possible to sign documents on using an eIDAS identification for online administrative procedures that require an electronic signature.

Last update