Magistrate's Court

The Magistrate's Court forms the first step in the judicial structure. There are 3 Magistrates' Courts in the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg: one in Luxembourg City, one in Esch-sur-Alzette and one in Diekirch.

The Luxembourg Magistrates' Court covers the cantons of Luxembourg, Grevenmacher, Mersch and Remich, as well as the communes of Garnich, Hobscheid, Kehlen, Koerich, Kopstal, Mamer, Septfontaines and Steinfort. The Magistrates' Court of Esch-sur-Alzette covers the canton of Esch-sur-Alzette and the communes of Bascharage, Clemency and Dippach. The Magistrates' Court of Diekirch covers the cantons of Diekirch, Clervaux, Echternach, Redange, Vianden and Wiltz. In order to determine which towns or communes are located in a particular administrative district, you can consult your commune's fact sheet in the Luxembourg commune directory on the Syvicol website.

Magistrates' Courts only have jurisdiction over minor cases in civil, commercial and interlocutory matters as well as in relation to penal law (acting as simple police courts).

Disputes in relation to civil, commercial or interlocutory matters must not exceed EUR 1,250 or EUR 10,000 if acting as an appeal court.

Each Magistrates' Court has a Labour court, with jurisdiction over disputes between employers and employees in relation to employment and apprenticeship contracts.

Magistrates' Courts also have jurisdiction over leasing issues as well as over seizures and attachments of earnings (unlimited amount in both cases).

The Courts of appeal, which fall under the auspices of the Supreme Court of Justice, are competent in matters of appeal against the rulings of the Labour courts.

Last update