Update of our information on divorce

In Luxembourg law, there are now only 2 types of divorce:

  • divorce by mutual consent: when the spouses agree on the breakdown of their marriage and its consequences (residence, parental authority, visiting and accommodation rights over the children, alimony, division of property, etc.);
  • divorce on the grounds of irretrievable breakdown of marriage in the event of:
    • agreement or disagreement on the principle of divorce; and
    • total or partial disagreement on its consequences.

Our explanatory information pages on divorce have been updated. Do not hesitate to inform yourself on the procedure of:

Last update 

Latest news