Business Citizens

New health measures for air travel to Luxembourg

Coronavirus / COVID-19

In view of the evolution of the COVID-19 pandemic on an international level, the Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs and the Ministry of Health have decided to take new health measures regarding all air travel to Luxembourg.

These measures are applicable from 29 January to 28 February 2021 inclusive.

Persons concerned

When boarding, each person aged 6 years or over who wishes to travel to Luxembourg by air must present a negative test result of:

  • a COVID-19 test by PCR; or
  • a search for viral antigen (rapid test).

The test must have been carried out less than 72 hours before boarding.

The negative test result must be:

  • presented on paper or electronic media; and
  • accompanied, if necessary, by a translation:
    • into one of the administrative languages of Luxembourg (Luxembourgish, French, German); or
    • in English.

These measures concern all flight departures to Luxembourg, including those from Member States:

  • of the European Union (EU); and
  • of the Schengen area.

In addition, anyone travelling by air to Luxembourg from a third country, i.e. a country that is not an EU Member State or a member of the Schengen area, must undergo an additional test for viral antigen (rapid test) on arrival at Luxembourg airport.

If the person refuses to undergo this test, they must remain in quarantine for 14 days. Please note that this quarantine can end at any time, as soon as a negative test result is obtained.

Please note: the obligation to present a negative test result on boarding and to submit to an additional test on arrival also applies to third-country nationals exempted from entry restrictions on the territory of Luxembourg. This applies to persons who have their residence in one of the following countries:

  • Australia;
  • South Korea;
  • Japan;
  • New Zealand;
  • Rwanda;
  • Singapore;
  • Thailand.

These obligations are in addition to the temporary restrictions already in place for non-essential travel to the EU from a third country.

Reminder: third-country nationals coming from a third country cannot enter Luxembourg territory until 31 March 2021 inclusive. Certain categories of persons are exempted. More details on these restrictions are available in our explanatory information page.


The following persons are exempt from these obligations:

  • persons in service employed in the airport transport sector;
  • passengers in transit through the airport;
  • persons making a return journey by air, for less than 72 hours, from Luxembourg to a country which is a member of the Schengen area or the European Union, provided that they have not left the Schengen area or the territory of the EU Member States during this period;
  • provided that their stay in Luxembourg does not exceed 72 hours, members of the:
    • diplomatic corps;
    • staff of international organisations and persons invited by these international organisations whose physical presence is required for the proper functioning of these organisations;
    • military personnel;
    • personnel in the field of development cooperation and humanitarian aid;
    • civil protection personnel in the exercise of their respective functions;
  • persons who:
    • have had a recent SARS-CoV-2 infection within 3 months prior to their journey; and
    • have completed the isolation period applicable in the respective country with the disappearance of any symptoms of infection.

Such persons may present a medical certificate attesting to these facts, which allows them to board without having to undergo a new PCR or antigen test.

Last update 

Latest news