[Updated on 1 April 2021] Measures concerning the entry into Luxembourg of third-country nationals

Coronavirus / Covid-19

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the ban on the entry of third-country nationals into the territory of Luxembourg is valid until 30 June 2021.

Persons authorised to enter Luxembourg

The following persons are currently authorised to enter the territory of Luxembourg:

  1. third-country nationals who have long-term resident status as well as any other persons with a right of residence or holding a national long-term visa issued by an EU Member State or a Schengen country;
  2. healthcare professionals, health researchers, and elderly care professionals;
  3. cross-border workers;
  4. seasonal workers in agriculture;
  5. transport personnel;
  6. diplomats, staff of international organisations and people invited by international organisations whose physical presence is required for the well-functioning of these organisations, military personnel, development cooperation personnel, humanitarian aid workers and civil protection personnel in the exercise of their functions;
  7. passengers in transit;
  8. passengers travelling for imperative and duly justified family reasons;
  9. seafarers;
  10. persons wishing to apply for international protection or for protection for other humanitarian reasons in Luxembourg;
  11. third-country nationals travelling for the purpose of study;
  12. highly qualified third-country workers if their employment is necessary from an economic perspective and the work cannot be postponed or performed from abroad.

For traveller categories 8, 11 and 12, an express request for the issue of a specific certificate must be sent to the Passport, Visa and Legalisation Office (BPVL) by email (

For further information on this subject, third-country nationals may contact:

  • the BPVL via:
  • the embassy of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg in their country of residence.

In addition, since 1 July 2020, third-country nationals who are resident in one of the following countries are also authorised to enter the territory of Luxembourg:

  • Australia;
  • China (subject to confirmation of reciprocity at EU level);
  • South Korea;
  • New Zealand;
  • Rwanda;
  • Singapore;
  • Thailand.
Third-country nationals having their residence in:
  • Morocco are no longer authorised to enter Luxembourg since 14 August 2020;
  • Uruguay are no longer authorised to enter Luxembourg since 11 January 2021;
  • Japan are no longer authorised to enter Luxembourg since 8 February 2021.

Travellers from the countries listed above will need official documents proving their residence in one of these countries (residence permit, residence certificate, work permit, etc.). These documents must be accompanied by a translation into one of the administrative languages of Luxembourg (Luxembourgish, German or French) or into English.

Presentation of a negative test result

Until 15 May 2021, any person, regardless of nationality, aged 6 years or older, who wishes to travel by air to Luxembourg, must present a negative result (on paper or electronically) of a biological test for COVID-19 upon boarding. This may be a detection test or a search for the COVID-19 viral antigen.

The examination must have been carried out less than 72 hours before the flight, by a medical analysis laboratory or any other organisation authorised for this purpose.

The negative result must be accompanied, if necessary, by a translation into one of the administrative languages of Luxembourg (Luxembourgish, German or French) or into English. As of now, documents in Italian, Spanish or Portuguese will also be accepted.

In addition, from 1 April 2021, persons travelling by air from a third country no longer have to undergo an additional test for viral antigen (rapid test) on arrival at Luxembourg airport.

The testing requirements for all persons wishing to enter Luxembourg by air travel are in addition to the temporary restrictions already in place for non-essential travel to the European Union (EU).

Special provisions

Citizens of the European Union (EU), the United Kingdom and the countries associated with the Schengen area, as well as their family members from these territories (EU, UK and Schengen area) can enter the EU freely.

Family members from third countries must meet the usual conditions for entry into Luxembourg, whether for a short or long stay in Luxembourg.

Last update 

Latest news