Your questions

I am pregnant and on antenatal leave. I am at high risk for a premature delivery. When will I have to return to work?

Maternity leave comprises an 8-week period of antenatal leave and a period of postnatal leave which generally lasts 8 weeks. The period of postnatal leave is increased to 12 weeks in the event of a premature delivery (delivery before the end of the 37th week of pregnancy), in the case of multiple births, or if the mother is breastfeeding.

If the delivery takes place before the due date, the unused portion of the antenatal leave is added to the postnatal leave, but the total duration of the maternity leave may not exceed 20 weeks.

For more information, see the maternity leave calculator on the website of the National Health Fund (Caisse Nationale de Santé - CNS).

Useful links:

I plan to present my baby to my family abroad. Does the baby need a travel document in his/her own name?

Yes, even your baby needs to have a personal travel document. Babies require at least their own identity card for travel within the EU and, in principle, a passport for travel outside the EU. Since the institution of the biometric passport, your child can no longer be listed on your passport and therefore requires to have his/her own.

Persons of Luxembourg nationality can chose whether they want a passport (to be applied for at the population's office - bureau de la population) or an identity card (to be applied for at the eID applications service at the Government IT Centre (CTIE) or at the communal administration of their place of residence). Non-Luxembourg nationals need to forward their application to their embassy or consulate in Luxembourg.

Useful links:

Can you send me a family-benefits payment certificate?

In order to obtain a family-benefits payment certificate, please fill in the following online form, where you can order one from the appropriate authority, i.e., the Children's Future Fund (Caisse pour l’avenir des enfants - CAE).

Once you have filled in the online form, remember to click on the "send" button. The payment certificate will be sent to you by post as soon as possible.

Useful links:

I work in Luxembourg but live in France. Am I entitled to parental leave?

Parental leave is a special kind of leave that is granted on the occasion of the birth of a child, or the adoption of a child that is not yet 5 years old.

Like Luxembourg residents, cross-border workers who work in the Grand Duchy may apply for either full-time or part-time parental leave to the extent that they meet the legally required conditionss.

Useful links:

I formed a civil partnership abroad. Is it officially recognised in Luxembourg?

No. If you wish to make your relationship official in Luxembourg, you must apply to have your civil partnership registered in the civil register maintained by the Luxembourgish Public Prosecutor's Office. Once you have registered your civil partnership in this way, it will be considered equivalent to a Luxembourgish partnership. You and your partner will be entitled to the same benefits as partners that have formed their partnership in Luxembourg (e.g., with regard to tax or labour laws).

Useful links:

I will be returning to work soon, but I would like to be able to continue nursing my baby. Does Luxembourg labour law provide for women in my situation?

The Luxembourg Labour Code provides that at your request, you have the right to breastfeeding breaks as follows:

  •   two (2) 45-minute breaks for a full-time worker, to be used at the beginning and end of your normal work day, respectively. If you only have a one-hour break in your work day, or if it is impossible to nurse your baby close to your workplace, the 2 periods may be combined into a single 90-minute breastfeeding break;
  •   one (1) 45-minute break for a half-time worker.

The breastfeeding breaks are counted as work time and are paid as such at your usual salary.

Certain employers ask for a breastfeeding certificate signed by the gynaecologist, to be provided when you return to work, and then a monthly certificate from a physician certifying that the mother is still breastfeeding. In all cases, it is a good idea to inform your employer before your return to work so that the employer can plan accordingly.

Useful links:

Last update

Ihre Fragen

Ich bin schwanger und derzeit im vorgeburtlichen Mutterschaftsurlaub (congé prénatal), wobei sich eine Frühgeburt abzeichnet. Wann müsste ich in diesem Fall meine Arbeit wieder aufnehmen?

Der Mutterschaftsurlaub besteht aus dem vorgeburtlichen Urlaub von acht Wochen und dem nachgeburtlichen Urlaub, das normalerweise ebenfalls acht Wochen dauert. Bei Frühgeburten (vor Ende der 37. Woche) wird das nachgeburtliche Urlaub jedoch auf 12 Wochen verlängert, genau wie bei Mehrfachgeburten und bei stillenden Müttern.

Erfolgt die Entbindung vor dem errechneten Termin, so wird der nicht in Anspruch genommene vorgeburtliche Urlaub dem nachgeburtlichen Urlaub hinzugerechnet (die Gesamtdauer des Mutterschaftsurlaubs darf jedoch nicht mehr als 20 Wochen betragen).

Mehr Informationen erhalten Sie im Formular Simulationsrechner des Mutterschaftsurlaubs auf der Internetseite der Nationalen Gesundheitskasse.

Nützliche Links:

Ich möchte mit meinem Baby meine im Ausland lebende Familie besuchen. Muss es ein auf seinen Namen lautendes Reisedokument besitzen?

Ja, selbst Babys müssen ein eigenes Reisedokument besitzen. Um innerhalb der EU zu reisen, benötigen sie demnach mindestens einen Personalausweis und außerhalb der EU in der Regel einen Reisepass. Seit der Einführung des biometrischen Reisepasses können Kinder nicht mehr auf dem Reisepass der Eltern stehen und benötigen einen eigenen.

Luxemburger können einen Reisepass oder einen Personalausweis (bei ihrer Gemeindeverwaltung oder bei der Stelle für die Beantragung des Personalausweises des Zentrums für Informationstechnologien des Staates - CTIE) erhalten. Nicht-Luxemburger müssen sich an die jeweilige Botschaft oder Konsulat in Luxemburg wenden.

Nützliche Links:

Können Sie mir eine Bescheinigung über die Zahlung von Kindergeld zuschicken?

Wenn Sie eine Bescheinigung über die Zahlung von Kindergeld benötigen, füllen Sie bitte folgendes Online-Formular aus. So können Sie die Bescheinigung direkt bei der Zukunftskasse (Caisse pour l'avenir des enfants - CAE) als zuständiger Behörde beantragen.

Sobald Sie das Online-Formular vollständig ausgefüllt haben, klicken Sie auf „Senden“. Sie erhalten die Bescheinigung dann in Kürze per Post.

Nützliche Links:

Ich arbeite in Luxemburg, lebe jedoch in Frankreich. Habe ich Anspruch auf Elternurlaub?

Der Elternurlaub ist ein Sonderurlaub, der aufgrund der Geburt oder der Adoption eines Kindes gewährt wird und bis zur Vollendung des 5. Lebensjahres in Anspruch genommen werden kann.

Sowohl Grenzgänger als auch in Luxemburg Ansässige, die im Großherzogtum arbeiten, können den Voll- oder Teilzeitelternurlaub beantragen, sofern sie die gesetzlichen Voraussetzungen erfüllen.

Nützliche Links:

Ich habe im Ausland eine eingetragene Lebenspartnerschaft geschlossen. Wird diese in Luxemburg automatisch anerkannt?

Nein. Wenn Sie möchten, dass Ihre Lebenspartnerschaft in Luxemburg offiziell anerkannt wird, müssen Sie die Eintragung der Partnerschaft in das von der luxemburgischen Generalstaatsanwaltschaft geführte Personenstandsregister beantragen. Durch diese Eintragung wird die ausländische Lebenspartnerschaft der luxemburgischen Lebenspartnerschaft gleichgestellt. Ihnen und Ihrem Lebenspartner kommen nach der Eintragung alle Vorteile zu, die in Luxemburg geschlossene Partnerschaften genießen (zum Beispiel auf arbeitsrechtlicher oder steuerlicher Ebene).

Nützliche Links:

Ich fange bald wieder an zu arbeiten, möchte mein Kind aber weiterhin stillen. Ist im Arbeitsrecht etwas für Frauen in meinem Fall vorgesehen?

Laut dem Arbeitsgesetzbuch haben Sie auf Anfrage Anspruch auf Stillpausen von:

  • 2 x 45 Minuten zu Beginn und am Ende Ihrer normalen täglichen Arbeitszeit, wenn Sie Vollzeit arbeiten. Wird Ihr Arbeitstag nur von einer Pause von einer Stunde unterbrochen oder falls Sie Ihr Kind nicht in der näheren Umgebung Ihres Arbeitsplatzes stillen können, können die beiden Pausen zu einer einzigen Stillzeit von 90 Minuten zusammengezogen werden;
  • 1 x 45 Minuten, wenn Sie Teilzeit arbeiten.

Die Stillzeit gilt als tatsächliche Arbeitszeit und wird demnach normal vergütet.

Einige Arbeitnehmer verlangen eine von einem Gynäkologen erstellte Stillbescheinigung, die bei der Wiederaufnahme der Arbeit vorzulegen ist, und anschließend ein monatliches ärztliches Attest, dass die Mutter ihr Kind immer noch stillt. Es ist auf jeden Fall ratsam, den Arbeitgeber vor der Wiederaufnahme der Arbeit zu informieren, damit dieser sich gegebenenfalls organisieren kann.

Nützliche Links:

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am