Customs and Excise Agency

Role

Under the authority of the Ministry of Finance, the Customs and Excise Agency (Administration des douanes et accises) has a combined fiscal, policing, economic and health-related role:

  • policing role: fight against substance abuse and drugs, environmental protection, vehicle oversight;
  • economic and health-related role: monitoring of animal feed, plant products, products subject to agricultural levies, watchdog role on offences under the legislation on dangerous or unsanitary premises;
  • fiscal role: customs duty (tax charged on imported goods coming through borders), excise duty (a specific tax on the consumption or use of certain products, such as tobacco, alcohol or oil-based products), VAT auditing in businesses, tax on licensed premises (taxes de cabaretage), tax regime for automotive vehicles ('tax stamp'), tax regime for beers and alcohol produced in the country.

This is an indirect tax, as the tax applies to the movement of goods and not to the income of the taxpayer.

Organisation

In addition to management, this administration includes the revenue and audit department, the inspections department and a number of others:

  • the revenue and audit department includes, in addition to the Central Customs and Excise Office (Caisse centrale des douanes et accises), several customs offices. These offices are, in particular, responsible for collecting customs duties (duties and taxes charged upon entry of certain products or objects, i.e. imported goods, into Luxembourg). Ordinary citizens are usually only affected by this duty when buying a vehicle abroad. In this case, buyers must visit the Customs centre in Gasperich, or one of the customs offices, bringing the vehicle, the administrative documentation and the invoice. In addition to customs and excise duty, the tax collected includes:
    • the tax on automotive vehicles (tax stamp with taxation based on carbon dioxide emissions);
    • the levying of charges for certain roads for heavy goods vehicles (HGVs).
Similarly to the payment of customs duties, for example, when a vehicle is imported, road tax can be paid at various revenue offices nationwide, one of which being the Road Tax Revenue Department.
  • the supervision department, which mainly includes divisional inspectorates and monitoring sections, lieutenancies and squads. This department carries out checks on persons at border crossings and has the same powers as ordinary police officers.
Double click to activate the map
Last update

Zoll- und Verbrauchsteuerverwaltung

Aufgaben

Die Zoll- und Verbrauchsteuerverwaltung (Administration des douanes et accises) untersteht dem Finanzministerium (Ministère des Finances) und ist gleichzeitig mit steuerlichen, polizeilichen, wirtschaftlichen und sanitären Aufgaben betraut:

  • polizeiliche Aufgaben: Drogen- und Rauschgiftbekämpfung, Umweltschutz, Fahrzeugkontrolle;
  • wirtschaftliche und sanitäre Aufgaben: Kontrolle von Tierfutter, pflanzlichen Erzeugnissen, Produkten, auf denen Agrarabschöpfungen erhoben werden, Verfolgung von Verstößen gegen die Gesetzgebung über gefährliche und gesundheitsschädliche Einrichtungen;
  • steuerliche Aufgaben: Zölle (beim körperlichen Verbringen über die Zollgrenze auf importierte Ware erhobene Steuer), Verbrauchsteuern (die Verbrauchsteuern sind eine Art Sondersteuer auf den Verzehr oder Gebrauch verschiedener Waren, wie z.B. Tabakwaren, alkoholische Getränke oder Erdölprodukte), Kontrolle der MwSt. in den Unternehmen, Schankgebühren, Steuerregelung der Kraftfahrzeuge („Steuervignette”), Steuerregelung der im Land hergestellten Biere und alkoholischen Getränke.

Es handelt sich hier um eine indirekte Besteuerung, da nicht die Einkünfte der Steuerpflichtigen besteuert werden, sondern der Warenverkehr.

Organisation

Neben der Direktion gibt es in dieser Verwaltung die Einnahmen- und Kontrollabteilung, die Inspektionsabteilung und andere Abteilungen:

  • le Einnahmen- und Kontrollabteilung comprend, en dehors de la Zentralkasse der Zölle und Verbrauchsteuern, plusieurs Zollamt. Diese Ämter sind mit der Erhebung der Zölle (Gebühren und Abgaben bei der Einfuhr bestimmter Produkte oder Gegenstände, d.h. importierter Ware) beauftragt. Für den Bürger ist diese Abgabe in der Regel beim Kauf eines Fahrzeugs im Ausland von Bedeutung. In diesem Fall muss der Käufer im Hauptzollamt in Gasperich oder in einem der Zollämter mit dem Auto sowie den administrativen Unterlagen und der Rechnung vorstellig werden. Neben dem Zoll und der Verbrauchsteuer beinhaltet die erhobene Steuer:
    • die Kfz-Steuer (Steuervignette mit Besteuerung entsprechend dem CO2-Ausstoß);
    • die Benutzungsgebühr für die Benutzung verschiedener Straßen durch schwere Nutzfahrzeuge.
Die Zahlung der Kfz-Steuer kann ebenso wie die Zahlung der Zölle, beispielsweise bei der Einfuhr eines Fahrzeugs, bei einer der Steuerkassen erfolgen, die über das ganze Land verteilt sind, und zu denen auch die Kfz-Steuerkasse gehört.
  • zur Aufsichtsabteilung gehören die Inspektions- und Kontrollabteilungen, die Statthalterschaften und die Brigaden. Diese Abteilung übernimmt die Zollkontrolle von Personen an den Grenzen vor und besitzt diesbezüglich die gleichen Befugnisse wie Polizeibeamte.
Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am