Industrial activities - pollution prevention and control (IPPC)

Last updated more than 5 years ago

The IPPC Directive (Integrated Pollution Prevention and Control) aims towards the improvement and harmonisation of EU environmental policies which consist in preventing, from the beginning, the creation of pollution or nuisances rather than having to combat their effects afterwards.

The directive foresees an authorisation procedure which is similar to the operating permit for classified establishments procedure.

The conditions to be met by the businesses concerned have been integrated into the application for the operating permit for classified establishments class 1.

Who is concerned

The establishments concerned are those likely to release significant quantities of pollution into the air, water or earth. They are listed:

In general, this refers to industrial facilities in the following sectors:

  • energy industry;
  • metal production and processing;
  • mineral industry;
  • chemical industry;
  • waste management.

How to proceed

Permit application

Establishments falling under the IPPC Directive must submit a standard application for an operating permit for classified establishments class 1 (known as commodo/incommodo authorisation).

Content of the permit

The order regarding the operating permit for classified establishments issued by the Minister for Sustainable Development and Infrastructure indicates the limit values for pollutants which are likely to be emitted in larger quantities (namely those indicated in annex I of the law on classified establishments).

These limit values are determined based on the 'Best Available Techniques' (BAT) and are detailed in the 'BREF' documents" published by the European IPPC Committee for each sector. These documents also list, where possible, consumption and emission levels associated with the use of the BAT.

The order also details:

  • the provisions relating to minimising pollution in the event of abnormal operating conditions such as start-up, leakage, malfunctioning, brief shut-downs and permanent shut-downs of the installation and;
  • the requirements in terms of regular monitoring of the emissions of installations (frequency and method) as well as in terms of the information to be provided to the authorities with respect to the results of said monitoring.

In the case of an installation subject to a greenhouse gas emission permit, the permit issued does not state an emission limit value for direct emissions of greenhouse gas, unless it becomes necessary in order to avoid any significant pollution of the local area.

Authorisation review

The permit will be reviewed if:

  • the type and/or quantity of the establishment's emissions are such that the emission limit values stated in the order must be reviewed or new limit values must be added;
  • the BATs change significantly;
  • the safety of the activity in question requires the use of other techniques.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Industriebetriebe - Vermeidung und Verminderung von Umweltverschmutzung (IVU)

Vor mehr als 5 Jahren aktualisiert

Die IVU-Richtlinie (Integrierte Vermeidung und Verminderung der Umweltverschmutzung) bezweckt die Verbesserung und Harmonisierung der gemeinschaftlichen Umweltpolitik und besteht darin, die Entstehung einer Verschmutzung oder Schädigung zu verhindern, anstatt die späteren Auswirkungen bekämpfen zu müssen.

Diese Richtlinie sieht ein Genehmigungsverfahren vor, das dem für den Betrieb klassifizierter Einrichtungen vergleichbar ist.

Die von den betreffenden Unternehmen zu erfüllenden Voraussetzungen sind daher in einem Antrag auf eine Betriebsgenehmigung für klassifizierte Einrichtungen der Klasse 1 enthalten.

Zielgruppe

Bei den betroffenen Einrichtungen handelt es sich um diejenigen, die möglicherweise große Mengen an Schadstoffen in Luft, Wasser oder in den Boden freisetzen. Sie sind aufgeführt:

Dabei geht es in der Regel um Industriebetriebe, die folgenden Sektoren angehören:

  • Energieindustrie;
  • Herstellung und Verarbeitung von Metall;
  • Mineralstoffindustrie;
  • Chemieindustrie;
  • Abfallentsorgung.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Genehmigungsantrag

Für Einrichtungen, die unter die IVU-Richtlinie fallen, ist eine Betriebsgenehmigung für klassifizierte Einrichtungen der Klasse 1 („Commodo/Incommodo“) nach dem herkömmlichen Verfahren zu beantragen.

Inhalt der Genehmigung

Der Genehmigungsbescheid für den Betrieb einer klassifizierten Einrichtung, die vom Minister für nachhaltige Entwicklung und Infrastrukturen (Ministre du Développement durable et des Infrastructures) ausgestellt wird, enthält die Grenzwerte der Schadstoffe, die in erheblichen Mengen freigesetzt werden könnten (insbesondere diejenigen in Anhang I des Gesetzes über klassifizierte Einrichtungen).

Diese Grenzwerte werden auf der Grundlage der „Besten verfügbaren Technologien“ (MTD oder BAT, Best Available Techniques) festgelegt, die in den „BREF“-Dokumenten enthalten sind und durch das European IPPC Bureau (Bureau européen IPPC) für jeden Sektor veröffentlicht werden. In diesen Dokumenten sind ferner soweit wie möglich die Verbrauchs- und Emissionsniveaus im Zusammenhang mit dem Einsatz dieser BAT erläutert.

Der Bescheid enthält ferner:

  • die Bestimmungen zur Minimierung von Schadstoffen unter Störfallbedingungen wie Anlaufphase, Leckagen, Funktionsstörungen, bei zeitweiligem und endgültigem Stillstand der Anlage und
  • die Anforderungen in Bezug auf die regelmäßige Überwachung von Ableitungen der Anlage (Häufigkeit und Methode) sowie die Informationen, die den Behörden als Ergebnis dieser Überwachung mitzuteilen sind.

Unterliegt eine Anlage der Genehmigung für die Emission von Treibhausgasen, enthält die ausgestellte Genehmigung keinen Emissionsgrenzwert für die direkten Emissionen dieses Gases, es sei denn dies ist zur Vermeidung aller wesentlichen Umweltverschmutzungen vor Ort erforderlich.

Erneute Überprüfung der Genehmigung

Es erfolgt eine Prüfung der Genehmigung, wenn:

  • die Art und/oder der Umfang der Emissionen der Einrichtung sich derart entwickelt haben, dass die Emissionsgrenzwerte des Bescheides revidiert oder ergänzt werden müssen;
  • die BAT erhebliche Entwicklungen erfahren haben;
  • die Betriebssicherheit den Einsatz anderer Technologien erfordert.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am