Tangible guarantees involving movable or immovable assets

A tangible guarantee is a guarantee requested by the creditor and which involves movable or immovable assets. It allows the creditor, in the event of non-payment of the interest incurred or non-repayment of the principal by the debtor, to seize the specific asset and have it sold with a preferential claim over the proceeds, i.e. the right to be repaid before other creditors.

Who is concerned

This concerns any entrepreneur or company which may be asked by their bank to provide tangible guarantees in respect of a financing application.

Prerequisites

The prerequisite for a tangible guarantee is the existence of a movable or immovable asset which may be seized and/or sold. Creditors often ask for an asset that has not yet been provided to a third party as a guarantee.

How to proceed

Mortgage

A mortgage is a right in rem which involves immovable assets allocated to discharge an obligation, in this case, the repayment of a loan.

If a property has to be mortgaged, a mortgage registration deed has to be drawn up before a notary. The notary is responsible for checking if the property is already mortgaged. If it is, the bank, as mortgagee, shall not obtain first rank registration (preferential right which allows the creditor to be paid first in the event of default) and may refuse to grant the loan. The notary is responsible for registering the mortgage and recording it in the Mortgage Registry (Bureau des hypothèques).

The customer is entitled to keep and use the asset. There is therefore no dispossession of the immovable asset that is mortgaged.

Examples: it is possible to mortgage land to be built on or not, constructions, even uncompleted or in the planning stages, off-plan property to be completed in the future (only if the building permit has been granted), rights of usufruct, leasehold rights and rights of superficies.

Although, in principle, the mortgage constitutes a valid guarantee for the bank (valued between 50 % and 80 % of the value of the asset), it nevertheless represents a costly guarantee for the customer because of the costs it involves.

Pledge

A pledge is a contract whereby a debtor provides a tangible or intangible movable asset to a creditor as a guarantee. The pledge must be recorded by a public or private deed. In the case of the pledging of intangible movable assets, the pledge is served and accepted either by notarial deed or private deed.

Example: the asset provided by way of guarantee can be a tangible movable asset (such as transferable securities, machinery, raw materials, goods, vehicles) or an intangible asset, represented by a lien (such as an invoice, commercial papers, insurance policies).

The debtor remains the owner of the pledged asset. As the owner, the debtor is entitled to use the pledged asset and even sell it. However, the creditor has a right of retention over the pledged asset and also a preferential right allowing it to be paid first if the asset is sold.

Types of pledge (not exhaustive):

Pledging of transferable securities

The pledging of transferable securities is a very attractive guarantee, both for the bank (few administrative formalities) and for the debtor (no or few costs). For valuation reasons, banks only accept, as a pledge, securities which are listed on a stock exchange and which have good liquidity. In addition, as the securities listed on a stock exchange can experience significant price fluctuations, the banks apply a hedging coefficient to the different types of securities. Securities are generally pledged by a private deed drawn up between the debtor and the creditor. The securities in question are blocked in a securities account held at the creditor bank.

Pledging of goods

As with securities, only goods or raw materials which have a value that can be determined because they are quoted on organised markets (for example oil, energy, certain metals, sugar or coffee) are pledged.

Pledging of cash

With the pledging of cash, valuation is not an issue (at least if the currency is the same as that of the loan to be covered). As with the pledging of transferable securities, a pledge agreement is signed between the debtor and the creditor and a clearly defined amount is blocked on a specific account or deposit account held at the creditor bank.

Pledging of business assets

This is the pledging of the customer base, trade name, brands and/or patents, lease rights, movable assets, goods and road vehicles. This type of pledge is considered to be unpredictable because of the fluctuating value of the elements that it includes and the difficulty in monitoring it. The banks therefore only assign a low guarantee value to it.
Although it must be registered in the Mortgage Register to be enforceable on third parties, the pledging of business assets is still less costly than a mortgage.

Pledging of receivables

The debtor’s receivables constitute intangible assets. The value of this type of guarantee depends on the debtor’s solvency, the reality and the transferability of the receivable and its recoverability. If it is pledged, the receivable remains part of the pledgor’s assets. The bank does not become the owner of the receivable, but has a preferential right over it. It also maintains a right of recourse against the pledgor, who is still its primary debtor.

Pledging of commercial papers

The drawer of a commercial paper (creditor) has two options when it comes to exercising their right:

  • either they need the money straight away and have the commercial papers discounted by their bank;
  • or they keep the commercial papers in their portfolio until the due date of the bill in question.
    The commercial papers which the drawer keeps in their portfolio can be used to improve the business' liquidity by pledging them to the bank in exchange for loans granted.

Assignment of an insurance policy

There is a wide range of insurance policies which cover different aspects and which can be taken out to limit the risks incurred by the business:

  • endowment insurance (lump sum payable on maturity of the policy if the insured is still alive);
  • life insurance (lump sum payable on the death of the insured);
  • loan protection insurance or assurance solde restant dû (lump sum corresponding to the insured’s debt at the time of his/her death);
  • key person insurance (insurance covering the death or permanent disability of the business manager);
  • fire insurance (insurance covering damage caused by fire);
  • business interruption insurance (insurance covering an accident preventing the continuation of operations for a certain amount of time. These costs are not, in principle, covered by fire insurance);
  • credit insurance (insurance covering the loss arising from the insolvency of customers).

The cover provided under all these insurance policies can be assigned to the bank. Assigning an insurance policy to the bank is done by simple private deed, normally by an addendum signed by the bank, the policyholder and the insurance company, in which the three parties agree on the rights allocated and the procedure to be complied with.

Endorsement of invoices

The majority of receivables can be assigned or pledged by simple endorsement of the invoice. Endorsement in favour of the bank has the effect of rendering the pledge enforceable on third parties and allowing the bank itself to demand payment from the debtor.

Last update

Dingliche Sicherheiten an beweglichen oder unbeweglichen Gütern

Die dingliche Sicherheit ist eine Sicherheit, die von Gläubigern verlangt wird und sich auf bewegliche oder unbewegliche Güter bezieht. Sie ermöglicht es dem Gläubiger bei Nichtentrichtung aufgelaufener Zinsen oder nicht erfolgter Rückzahlung des Darlehens durch den Schuldner das bezeichnete Gut zu beschlagnahmen und vorrangig verkaufen zu lassen, d. h. als erster und damit vor allen anderen Gläubigern den Verkaufserlös zu beanspruchen.

Zielgruppe

Betroffen sind Unternehmer und Gesellschaften, von denen die Bank dingliche Sicherheiten im Rahmen eines Antrags auf Finanzierung verlangen kann.

Voraussetzungen

Die Voraussetzung einer dinglichen Sicherheit ist das Vorhandensein eines beweglichen oder unbeweglichen Gutes, das einbehalten und/oder verkauft werden kann. Häufig verlangen Gläubiger als Sicherheit ein Gut, das nicht bereits anderweitig als Sicherheit für Dritte dient.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Hypothek

Die Hypothek ist ein dingliches Recht an Immobilien, das die Begleichung einer Verpflichtung, nämlich die Rückzahlung eines Darlehens sichert.

Wenn eine Immobilie mit einer Hypothek belastet werden soll, ist es geboten, die Hypothekeneintragung notariell beurkunden zu lassen. Der Notar prüft dann, ob die Immobilie nicht bereits mit einer anderen Hypothek belastet ist. Ist dies der Fall, erhält die Bank als Hypothekengläubiger nicht die Eintragung 1. Ranges (Vorzugsrecht, das es dem Gläubiger erlaubt als erster den Verkaufserlös zu beanspruchen) für den Fall eines Zahlungsausfalls und kann eventuell die Kreditgewährung verweigern. Der Notar nimmt die Hypothekeneintragung und die Übertragung an das Hypothekenamt (Bureau des hypothèques) vor.

Der Kunde hat seinerseits das Recht, das Gut zu bewahren und zu nutzen. Daher erfolgt bei der Hypothek keine Besitzherausgabe hinsichtlich der belasteten Immobilie.

Beispiele: es ist möglich, Baugrundstücke und sonstige Grundstücke, bauliche Anlagen, auch unvollendete oder in der Planung befindliche Bauwerke, Verkaufsobjekte im Bauzustand (nur wenn die Baugenehmigung vorliegt), Nutzungs-, Erbpacht- und Baurechte mit einer Hypothek zu belasten.

Obgleich die Hypothek für die Bank grundsätzlich eine werthaltige Sicherheit darstellt (mit 50 bis 80 % des Sachwertes angesetzt), ist sie dennoch für den Kunden aufgrund der anfallenden Gebühren eine kostenaufwändige Sicherheit.

Pfand

Das Pfand oder die Verpfändung ist ein Vertrag, durch den ein Schuldner einem Gläubiger ein materielles oder immaterielles bewegliches Gut übergibt, das Letzterem als Sicherheit dienen soll. Das Pfand muss durch öffentliche oder Privaturkunde hinterlegt werden. Handelt es sich um die Verpfändung von immateriellen beweglichen Gütern, erfolgen Meldung und Annahme des Pfandes entweder durch notarielle Beurkundung oder durch Privaturkunde.

Beispiel: als Sicherheit kann ein bewegliches materielles (wie etwa bewegliche Güter, Maschinen, Rohstoffe, Waren, Fahrzeuge) oder immaterielles Gut in Form eines Forderungsrechts (wie etwa eine Rechnung, Wechsel, Versicherungspolicen) gegeben werden.

Der Schuldner bleibt Eigentümer des verpfändeten Gutes. Als Eigentümer hat er das Recht, über das verpfändete Gut zu verfügen, es sogar zu verkaufen. Dennoch hat der Gläubiger ein Zurückbehaltungsrecht sowie ein Vorzugsrecht in Bezug auf das verpfändete Gut, das ihm im Falle des Verkaufs des Gutes zusichert, als erster ausgezahlt zu werden.

Einige Varianten von Verpfändung oder Pfand:

Verpfändung von beweglichen Vermögenswerten

Die Verpfändung von beweglichen Vermögenswerten stellt eine sehr interessante Garantie dar, sowohl für die Bank (wenig Verwaltungsaufwand) als auch für den Schuldner (keine oder geringe Gebühren). Aus Bewertungsgründen akzeptieren Banken als Pfand nur Vermögenswerte, die an der Börse notiert sind und eine gute Liquidität bieten. Da an der Börse gehandelte Wertpapiere erheblichen Kursschwankungen unterliegen können, wenden die Banken einen Deckungskoeffizienten auf die verschiedenen Arten von Titeln an. Die Verpfändung von Wertpapieren zwischen Schuldner und Gläubiger erfolgt im Allgemeinen per Privaturkunde. Die betreffenden Titel werden in einem Wertpapierdepot (oder Wertpapierkonto) bei der Gläubigerbank gesperrt.

Verpfändung von Waren

Wie bei den Immobilien werden nur Waren oder Rohstoffe verpfändet, die einen bestimmten Wert besitzen, weil sie an organisierten Märkten notiert sind (zum Beispiel Erdöl, Energie, Metalle, Zucker oder Kaffee).

Verpfändung von Barvermögen

Bei der Verpfändung von Barvermögen stellt sich die Bewertungsfrage nicht (sofern die Währung dieselbe wie die des abzusichernden Kredits ist). Ähnlich wie bei der Verpfändung beweglicher Vermögenswerte wird ein Verpfändungsvertrag zwischen Schuldner und Gläubiger geschlossen, wobei ein festgelegter Betrag auf einem Konto oder Sonderkonto bei der Gläubigerbank gesperrt wird.

Verpfändung des Firmenwerts

Dabei handelt es sich um ein Pfandrecht am Kundenstamm, der Firma, den Marken und/oder den Patenten, dem Pachtanspruch, dem Mobiliar, den Waren und dem Fuhrpark. Das Pfand gilt aufgrund des schwankenden Wertes seiner Bestandteile und der schwierigen Kontrolle als Zufallsgröße. Die Bank kann ihm daher nur einen geringen Sicherheitswert beimessen.
Obwohl sie beim Hypothekenamt eingetragen sein muss, um Dritten gegenüber wirksam zu sein, ist eine Verpfändung des Firmenwerts kostengünstiger als eine Hypothek.

Verpfändung von Forderungen

Forderungen des Schuldners sind nicht materielle Güter. Die Qualität dieser Sicherheit hängt von der Solvenz des Schuldners, dem Bestehen der Forderung und ihrer Abtretbarkeit sowie ihrer Eintreibbarkeit ab. Ist die Forderung verpfändet, verbleibt sie im Vermögen des Pfandgebers. Die Bank wird nicht Eigentümer der Forderung, sondern besitzt nur einen vorrangigen Anspruch auf ihre Summe. Sie behält ferner das Rückgriffsrecht gegenüber dem Pfandgeber, der ihr Hauptschuldner bleibt.

Verpfändung von Wechseln

Der Bezogene eines Wechsels (Gläubiger) hat zwei Optionen in Bezug auf die Wahrnehmung seines Rechts:

  • entweder er benötigt direkt Geld und diskontiert die Wechsel bei seiner Bank
  • oder er behält die Wechsel in seinem Portfolio bis zur Fälligkeit der betreffenden Tratte.
    Die Wechsel, die der Bezogene in seinem Portfolio behält, können dazu dienen, die Liquidität des Unternehmens zu verbessern, indem sie der Bank gegen Kredite als Pfand übergeben werden.

Abtretung einer Versicherungspolice

Es gibt eine Vielzahl von Versicherungspolicen, die verschiedene Bereiche abdecken und herangezogen werden können, um die vom Unternehmen eingegangenen Risiken zu begrenzen:

  • Lebensversicherung (Aufbau eines Kapitals, das bei Fälligkeit des Vertrags dem Versicherten im Erlebensfall ausgezahlt wird)
  • Todesfallversicherung (Summe zahlbar im Todesfall des Versicherten)
  • Restschuldversicherung (Kapital entsprechend einer Schuld des Versicherten im Moment seines Versterbens)
  • Lebens-/Berufsunfähigkeitsversicherung des Geschäftsführers (Entschädigung bei Tod oder dauerhafter Erwerbsunfähigkeit des Geschäftsführers)
  • Feuerversicherung (Entschädigung zur Abdeckung von Brandschäden)
  • Betriebsausfallversicherung (Entschädigung zur Abdeckung eines Schadens, der die Betriebseinstellung während eines bestimmten Zeitraums zur Folge hat. Diese Kosten sind grundsätzlich nicht durch die Feuerversicherung abgedeckt)
  • Kreditversicherung (Entschädigung zur Abdeckung der Verluste aus einer Kundeninsolvenz).

Die Rechte aus diesen Policen können an die Bank abgetreten werden. Die Abtretung einer Versicherungspolice an die Bank erfolgt durch einfache Privaturkunde, normalerweise durch einen Nachtrag, der von der Bank, dem Versicherungsnehmer und dem Versicherungsunternehmen unterzeichnet wird und in dem die drei Parteien zugewiesene Ansprüche und das zu befolgende Verfahren vereinbaren.

Indossierung von Rechnungen

Die Mehrheit der Forderungen kann abgetreten oder durch einfache Indossierung der Rechnung verpfändet werden. Die Indossierung zugunsten der Bank macht die Verpfändung gegenüber Dritten wirksam und versetzt die Bank in die Lage, selbst vom Schuldner die Zahlung zu verlangen.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am