Enrolling for supplementary insurance

Last updated more than 5 years ago

In some cases, for example in the case of healthcare delivered abroad, it may be advisable for persons enrolled with the Luxembourg health insurance fund to also take out supplementary insurance.

Such insurance, still called mutual (mutuel) insurance, allows for the reimbursement, under certain conditions, of any difference between the expenses incurred by the insured individual and the reimbursement received from the Luxembourg health insurance fund for those expenses.

Who is concerned

Any person enrolled with the Luxembourg Joint Social Security Center (Centre Commun de la Sécurité Sociale - CCSS), as a resident or non-resident, and who wishes to obtain supplementary reimbursement for their healthcare expenses.

Prerequisites

To receive supplementary insurance benefits, applicants must be validly enrolled with the CCSS. Additionally, applicants must have taken out supplementary insurance with an agency that covers health insurance expenses in Luxembourg. In some cases, the insured must have been enrolled with the supplementary insurance scheme for a certain period of time in order to be able to request reimbursement of healthcare expenses.

How to proceed

The health insurance fund will reimburse only a part of the healthcare expenses. Without supplementary insurance, the difference between expenses incurred and those reimbursed by the health insurance fund, as well as fee premiums, will have to be borne by the insured individual.

Enrolment for supplementary insurance allows insured individuals to receive supplementary reimbursement of their expenses for:

  • hospital stays;
  • internal and external prostheses;
  • assistance;
  • certain dental care procedures and prostheses;
  • healthcare delivered abroad (unplanned or planned care);
  • supplementary medical and medical-dental fees;
  • "soft" medicine (for example: osteopathy), etc.;

Individuals insured with the CCSS interested in enrolling for supplementary insurance can contact different insurance providers.

These insurance companies offer various benefits adapted to different categories of individuals (residents, cross-border workers, students, etc.)

Supplementary insurance policies catering to specific professional groups also exist. The contact details of state-recognised mutual insurance companies are available on the website of the Medical-Surgical Fund (Caisse médico-chirurgicale mutualiste).

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Eine Zusatzversicherung abschließen

Vor mehr als 5 Jahren aktualisiert

In bestimmten Fällen, insbesondere bei im Ausland erbrachten Gesundheitsdienstleistungen, kann es sich für einen bei einer luxemburgischen Krankenkasse Versicherten als zweckmäßig erweisen, eine Zusatzversicherung abzuschließen.

Eine solche Versicherung, auch Versicherung auf Gegenseitigkeit genannt, ermöglicht unter bestimmten Bedingungen die Erstattung einer etwaigen Differenz zwischen den vom Versicherten verauslagten und den seitens der luxemburgischen Krankenkasse erstatteten Kosten.

Zielgruppe

Jede gebietsansässige oder nicht gebietsansässige Person, die bei der Zentralstelle der Sozialversicherungen (Centre commun de la sécurité sociale - CCSS) versichert ist und eine zusätzliche Erstattung der Kosten für die von ihr erhaltenen Gesundheitsdienstleistungen wünscht.

Voraussetzungen

Um in den Genuss der Leistungen einer Zusatzversicherung zu gelangen, muss der Antragsteller rechtmäßig bei der CCSS versichert sein. Der Antragsteller muss zudem eine Zusatzversicherung bei einer Gesellschaft abgeschlossen haben, die die Gesundheitskosten in Luxemburg abdeckt. In bestimmten Fällen wird verlangt, dass die Mitgliedschaft bei der Versicherung auf Gegenseitigkeit eine gewisse Zeit besteht, bevor eine Erstattung der Gesundheitskosten beantragt werden kann.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Die Krankenkasse erstattet nur einen Teil der Gesundheitskosten. Ohne Zusatzversicherung gehen die Selbstbeteiligung (Differenz zwischen den entstandenen Kosten und den von der Krankenkasse erstatteten Kosten) und die Honorarüberschreitungen zu Lasten des Versicherten.

Die Mitgliedschaft bei einer Zusatzversicherung eröffnet den Anspruch auf eine zusätzliche Erstattung folgender Kosten:

  • Kosten für Krankenhausaufenthalte;
  • Kosten für Exoprothesen und Endoprothesen;
  • Betreuungskosten;
  • Kosten für bestimmte Zahnbehandlungen und -prothesen;
  • Kosten für im Ausland erbrachte Gesundheitsdienstleistungen (unvorhergesehene oder geplante Leistungen);
  • Kosten für medizinisches und zahnmedizinisches Mehrhonorar;
  • Kosten für Alternativmedizin (z. B. Osteopath) usw.

Der an einer Zusatzversicherung interessierte CCSS-Versicherte kann zwischen mehreren Dienstleistern wählen.

Die Versicherungen auf Gegenseitigkeit bieten spezielle Leistungen für verschiedene Kategorien von Versicherten (Gebietsansässige, Grenzgänger, Studierende usw.).

Außerdem gibt es eine Reihe Zusatzversicherungen für bestimmte Berufsstände. Die Adressen der staatlich anerkannten Versicherungsvereine auf Gegenseitigkeit stehen auf der Website der Medizinisch-chirurgischen Zusatzkasse (Caisse médico-chirurgicale mutualiste - CMCM) zur Verfügung.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am