Fishing licences

A fishing licence is a personal and non-transferable permit granting access to areas designated for fishing as an amateur sporting activity. The purpose of the licence is to preserve natural resources.

There are different types of fishing licences in Luxembourg, which vary depending on the type of fishing and the fishing area:

  • tourist fishing licences;
  • ordinary fishing licences;
  • Class A special licences;
  • Class B special licences.

Who is concerned

Anyone of at least 14 years of age who wishes to fish in the waters bordering with Germany must have a fishing licence. Minors may fish without a license under the supervision of someone aged 18 or older who holds an adult fishing license.

Licences are issued to specific persons only. They are valid throughout the Grand Duchy and must be produced if asked to do so by the police.

Costs

Inland waterway fishing licences

  1. Ordinary licences for fishing in Category 2 waters (non-navigable or non-floatable rivers): EUR 18/year or EUR 4/month ("tourist licences"). Prerequisite: possession of a legally required written authorisation to fish in inland Category 2 waters, issued by the holder of the fishing rights. The written authorisation must be submitted in duplicate to the Water and Forestry Administration (Administration des Eaux et Forêts) for registration;
  1. Class A special licences, comprising the fishing rights granted under ordinary licences, plus the right to fish from the banks of Category 1 waters (public, navigable and floatable waters): EUR 30/year, EUR 6/month ("tourist licence");
  1. Class B special licences, comprising fishing rights granted under ordinary licences and Class A special licences, plus the right to fish from a boat in Category 1 waters (public, navigable and floatable waters): EUR 40/year, EUR 8/month ("tourist licence");

Fishing licences for waters bordering with Germany

  1. Class A special licence (Moselle, Sûre, Our), valid for hand-line fishing from the riverbank, at a cost of EUR 15/year, or EUR 10/month, or EUR 5/week.
    Comment: For fishing in the Our, authorisation from the owner of the waterfront property for access to the riverbank is also required.
  1. Class B special licence (Moselle and Sûre), valid for hand-line fishing from a boat or other similar floating or fixed apparatus. Class B fishing licences grant the rights granted under both Class A and Class B licences. The licences costs EUR 40/year, or EUR 25/month, or EUR 10/week.
  1. Group weekly fishing licences, issued to groups of more than 12 people who fish together. This licence permits fishing only from the riverbank and costs EUR 5 per person.
  1. Fishing licence for the Vianden Dam: an annual licence costs EUR 25 and is issued by the Société Electrique de l'Our (SEO), 2, rue Pierre d'Aspelt, L-1142 Luxembourg. From 1 April to 30 November, tourist licences cost EUR 12.50 for 2 weeks. They may be issued by the Syndicat d'initiative (Tourism Office), 1a, rue du Vieux Marché, in L-9419 Vianden.

The annual fee charged for Class A annual fishing licences is EUR 10 for recipients of cost-of-living allowances and Class B or C priority or disability cardholders.

How to proceed

Types of fishing licences

There are different types of fishing licences in Luxembourg that vary depending on certain criteria:

  • tourist fishing licences are valid for one month for fishing in inland waters. They are not renewable and valid only if presented with an identity document;
  • ordinary licences authorise the holder to fish in non-navigable or non-floatable rivers for which the fishing rights belong to local residents (provided that they are the rightful owner of the fishing rights, or have obtained authorisation from the rightful owner);
  • Class A special licences grant, in addition to the rights attached to ordinary licences, the right to fish from the banks of navigable and floatable rivers for which the fishing rights belong to the State;
  • Class B special licences grant, in addition to the rights attached to ordinary licences and Class A special licences, the right to fish from a boat or other similar floating or fixed apparatus in the navigable and floatable rivers for which the fishing rights belong to the State.

Ordinary fishing licences and Class A or B fishing licences are valid for one year from the date of issue or renewal. They may be renewed for 8 consecutive years. They are issued to one person only and bear a photograph of the holder, who must be at least 14 years old. All licences are valid in the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg only.

Regardless of the type of licence, a distinction is made between fishing:

  1. in inland waters in Luxembourg:
    • Category 1: navigable and floatable waters (public waters):
      1. the Esch-sur-Sûre reservoir;
      2. the Sûre from the mouth of the Alzette to the mouth of the Our in Wallendorf;
    • Category 2: non-navigable, non-floatable rivers (leased waters).
  2. in waters bordering with Germany:
    • Moselle: from Schengen to Wasserbillig;
    • part of the Sûre that forms the border: from Wasserbillig to Wallendorf;
    • Our: from the border waters near Lieler to Wallendorf, including the Vianden reservoir.
To fish in border waters, the only two categories of fishing licences (which may be annual, monthly, weekly or daily group) are Category A and B special licences. They grant the same rights as for fishing in inland waters.

Fishing licences for border waters

Fishing licences for border waters are sold at most communal administration offices.

Fishing licences are also sold at the offices of the Indirect Tax Authority (Administration de l'enregistrement et des domaines – AED) upon presentation of an identity document. 

Fishing licences for the Vianden reservoir are issued by the Société Electrique de l'Our (SEO).

Fishing licences for internal waters

Fishing licences for internal waters may be obtained from most communal administration offices.

Fishing licences are also issued by:

In both of these cases, applicants must first go to the offices of the Indirect Tax Authority to obtain a receipt for payment for the registration of the permit (applicants must provide a recent photo).

To optimise the issuance of their fishing licenses by the Water Management Authority, applicants are advised to arrange a meeting with the Biology and Fisheries Service at the following number:
  • Esch-Belval: (+352) 24 556 236;
  • Diekirch : (+352) 24 556 664.

Annual licences may be extended by affixing a stamp, which can be obtained from the Indirect Tax Authority.

 

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map

Fischereierlaubnisschein

Der Fischereierlaubnisschein (FES, oft auch Angelschein oder Fischereischein genannt) ist eine personenbezogene, nicht übertragbare Erlaubnis. Dieser Schein wurde eingeführt, um die natürlichen Ressourcen zu erhalten, und gewährt Sportfischern Zugang zu bestimmten Zonen, um ihrem Hobby nachzugehen.

In Luxemburg gibt es je nach Fischereiart und Gewässerzone unterschiedliche Fischereierlaubnisscheine:

  • Fischereierlaubnisschein für Touristen;
  • den einfachen Fischereierlaubnisschein;
  • Spezial-Fischereierlaubnisschein A;
  • Spezial-Fischereierlaubnisschein B.

Zielgruppe

Jeder, der das 14. Lebensjahr vollendet hat und in den Grenzgewässern zu Deutschland angeln möchte, muss Inhaber eines Fischereierlaubnisscheins sein. Kinder dürfen unter der Aufsicht eines Erwachsenen, der Inhaber eines Fischereierlaubnisscheins ist, ohne eigenen Schein angeln.

Der Fischereierlaubnisschein ist personenbezogen. Er gilt für ganz Luxemburg und muss auf Verlangen eines Beauftragten der Fischereiaufsicht vorgezeigt werden.

Kosten

Fischereierlaubnisschein für Binnengewässer

  1. Einfacher Fischereierlaubnisschein: einschließlich Fischfang in den Gewässern der 2. Kategorie (weder schiff- noch flößbare Flüsse): 18 Euro/Jahr oder 4 Euro/Monat („Touristen-Fischereierlaubnisschein“). Vorbedingung: Man muss im Besitz einer schriftlichen Genehmigung für die Ausübung des Fischfangs in Binnengewässern der 2. Kategorie sein, die vom Eigentümer des Fischereirechts ausgestellt wird und gesetzlich vorgeschrieben ist (Gewässerschein). Die schriftliche Genehmigung muss der Wasser- und Forstverwaltung (Administration des eaux et forêts) in doppelter Ausfertigung zur Eintragung vorgelegt werden.
  1. Spezial-Fischereierlaubnisschein A: Dieser beinhaltet die Rechte des einfachen Fischereierlaubnisscheins und erlaubt darüber hinaus die Uferfischerei in Gewässern der 1. Kategorie (öffentliche Gewässer, schiff- und flößbar): 30 Euro/Jahr, 6 Euro/Monat („Touristen-Fischereierlaubnisschein“).
  1. Spezial-Fischereierlaubnisschein B: Dieser beinhaltet neben den Rechten des einfachen Fischereierlaubnisscheins und des Spezial-Fischereierlaubnisscheins A noch die Erlaubnis zum Fischfang von einem Boot aus (Nachenfischerei) in den Gewässern der 1. Kategorie (öffentliche Gewässer, schiff- und flößbar): 40 Euro/Jahr, 8 Euro/Monat („Touristen-Fischereierlaubnisschein“).

Fischereierlaubnisschein für Grenzgewässer zu Deutschland

  1. Spezial-Fischereierlaubnisschein A (Mosel, Sauer, Our), gültig für die Uferfischerei mit einer Handangel. Er kostet 15 Euro/Jahr; 10 Euro/Monat; 5 Euro/Woche;
    Anmerkung: Für den Fischfang in der Our ist ebenfalls eine Genehmigung des Eigentümers des anliegenden Uferbereichs für den Zugang zum Ufer erforderlich.
  1. Spezial-Fischereierlaubnisschein B (Mosel und Sauer), gültig für den Fischfang mit einer Handangel von einem Boot oder einer schwimmenden oder feststehenden Vorrichtung aus (Nachenfischerei). Der Spezial-Fischereierlaubnisschein B verleiht neben den mit dem Spezial-Fischereierlaubnisschein B verbundenen Rechten ebenfalls die mit dem Spezial-Fischereierlaubnisschein A verbundenen Rechte. Er kostet 40 Euro/Jahr; 25 Euro/Monat; 10 Euro/Woche.
  1. Wöchentlicher Fischereierlaubnisschein für Gruppen, ausgestellt für Gruppen von mehr als 12 Personen, die gemeinsam angeln wollen. Dieser Sammel-Fischereierlaubnisschein ermächtigt nur zur Uferfischerei und kostet 5 Euro pro Person.
  1. Fischereierlaubnisschein für den Stausee in Vianden: Der Jahres-Fischereierlaubnisschein kostet 25 Euro. Er wird von der Stromgesellschaft der Our (Société électrique de l’Our - SEO), 2, rue Pierre d’Aspelt, L-1142 Luxemburg, ausgestellt. Vom 1. April bis zum 30. November kostet der Fischereierlaubnisschein für Touristen 12,50 Euro für 2 Wochen. Er ist beim Fremdenverkehrsamt, 1a, rue du Vieux Marché, in L-9419 Vianden erhältlich.

Empfänger der Teuerungszulage, Inhaber des Spezialausweises und des Behindertenausweises B oder C bezahlen für den Jahres-Fischereierlaubnisschein A 10 Euro.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Arten von Fischereierlaubnisscheinen

In Luxemburg gibt es verschiedene Arten von Fischereierlaubnisscheinen, die sich anhand bestimmter Kriterien voneinander unterscheiden:

  • Der Fischereierlaubnisschein für Touristen ist einen Monat lang für das Angeln in Binnengewässern gültig. Er ist nicht verlängerbar und nur in Verbindung mit einem Ausweisdokument gültig.
  • Der einfache Fischereierlaubnisschein ermächtigt seinen Inhaber zum Angeln in weder schiffbaren noch flößbaren Flüssen, in denen die Anlieger das Fischereirecht haben (sofern sie Eigentümer des Fischereirechts sind oder eine entsprechende Genehmigung vom Eigentümer eingeholt haben).
  • Der Spezial-Fischereierlaubnisschein A verleiht neben den mit dem einfachen Fischereierlaubnisschein verbundenen Rechten das Recht zur Uferfischerei in schiffbaren und flößaren Flüssen, in denen der Staat das Fischereirecht hat.
  • Der Spezial-Fischereierlaubnisschein B verleiht neben den mit dem einfachen Fischereierlaubnisschein und dem Spezial-Fischereierlaubnisschein A verbundenen Rechten das Recht zum Fischfang von einem Boot oder ersatzweise einer schwimmenden oder feststehenden Vorrichtung aus (Nachenfischerei) in schiffbaren und flößbaren Flüssen, in denen der Staat das Fischereirecht hat.

Der einfache Fischereierlaubnisschein und die Spezial-Fischereierlaubnisscheine A oder B sind ab dem Datum ihrer Ausstellung oder Verlängerung ein Jahr lang gültig. Sie können 8 Jahre in Folge erneut verlängert werden. Sie sind personenbezogen und mit einem Foto des Inhabers versehen, der das 14. Lebensjahr vollendet haben muss. Alle Fischereierlaubnisse gelten nur für Luxemburg.

Unabhängig von der Art des Fischereierlaubnisscheins wird grundsätzlich unterschieden zwischen dem Angeln:

  1. in den Binnengewässern Luxemburgs:
    • 1. Kategorie: schiff- und flößbare Gewässer (öffentliche Gewässer):
      1. im Stausee in Esch/Sauer;
      2. in der Sauer von der Einmündung der Alzette bis zur Einmündung der Our bei Wallendorf;
    • 2. Kategorie: weder schiff- noch flößbare Flüsse (verpachtete Gewässer);
  2. in Grenzgewässern zu Deutschland:
    • in der Mosel: von Schengen bis Wasserbillig;
    • in der Sauer im Grenzverlauf: von Wasserbillig bis Wallendorf;
    • in der Our: vom Dreiländereck in der Nähe von Lieler bis Wallendorf, einschließlich des Stausees in Vianden.
Beim Fischfang in Grenzgewässern unterscheidet man nur 2 Kategorien von Fischereierlaubnisscheinen (die jährlich, monatlich, wöchentlich oder für Gruppen für einen Tag gelten können), nämlich die Spezial-Fischereierlaubnisscheine A und B. Mit ihnen werden die gleichen Rechte wie beim Fischfang in Binnengewässern verliehen.

Fischereierlaubnisschein für Grenzgewässer

Fischereierlaubnisscheine für Grenzgewässer werden bei den meisten Gemeindeverwaltungen ausgestellt.

Sie können ebenfalls über die Geschäftsstellen der Einregistrierungs-, Domänen- und Mehrwertsteuerverwaltung (Administration de l’enregistrement, des domaines et de la TVA) bezogen werden; dazu ist lediglich ein Ausweisdokument vorzulegen. 

Die Fischereierlaubnisscheine für den Stausee in Vianden werden von der Stromgesellschaft der Our (Société électrique de l’Our - SEO) ausgestellt.

Fischereierlaubnisschein für Binnengewässer

Fischereierlaubnisscheine für Binnengewässer werden bei den meisten Gemeindeverwaltungen ausgestellt.

Fischereierlaubnisscheine werden ebenfalls bei den folgenden Dienststellen ausgestellt:

Der Antragsteller muss sich mit einem Foto zur Geschäftsstelle der Einregistrierungs-, Domänen- und Mehrwertsteuerverwaltung begeben, um eine Quittung über die Entrichtung der Anmeldegebühr zu erhalten.

Damit die Ausstellung des Fischereierlaubnisscheins bei der Behörde für Wasserwirtschaft reibungslos abläuft, wird empfohlen, im Vorfeld unter einer der folgenden Telefonnummern einen Termin mit der Dienststelle Biologie und Fischerei zu vereinbaren
  • Esch-Belval: (+352) 24 556 236;
  • Diekirch: (+352) 24 556 664.

Jahres-Fischereierlaubnisse können durch Einkleben einer Gebührenmarke verlängert werden, die bei der Einregistrierungs-, Domänen- und Mehrwertsteuerverwaltung erhältlich ist.

 

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren