Applying for a government employee interest subsidy

Update in progress

Interest subsidies are granted to government employees—i.e., employees who have either general civil servant status, or are covered by the government employee scheme, or by the collective agreement applicable to government workers, who are employed by government administrations and services or by a public institutions—who have taken out a housing loan under certain conditions and according to specific terms.

The interest subsidy is a form of interest aid, provided by the government, that may be granted to reduce the monthly costs incurred when repaying a mortgage taken out for the construction, purchase or transformation of a dwelling used as a primary, permanent residence.

Who is concerned

The subsidy is granted to actively employed government employees with at least one year of service as of 1 January of the year in which the subsidy is requested. If 2 spouses or partners are government employees, the above condition must be met by one of the spouses/partners.

Only one interest subsidy is granted per family or household.

A household is considered to be 2 people living together as a couple, regardless of the legal form of this arrangement.

A government employee may only be granted the interest subsidy once during their employment.

However, if the employee receives this benefit at the moment of their retirement, they will continue to be eligible for the benefit for as long as they have at least one dependant child as of 1 January of the current year.

Prerequisites

A borrower who wishes to receive an interest subsidy must have taken out a mortgage with a banking institution which has been approved in the European Union (EU) and in the European Economic Area (EEA) by no later than 1 January of the year for which they are requesting the subsidy for the purpose of:

  • building;
  • purchasing;
  • transforming;

an owner-occupied dwelling located in the Grand-Duchy of Luxembourg.

"Owner-occupied dwelling" means the only real property that the employee/couple possesses (or will possess), and which is (or will be) effectively and permanently occupied by the employee/couple.

The employee and their spouse/partner must not be the owner, co-owner or rightful user (usufructuary) of a building located in the Grand Duchy or abroad on 1 January of the year of the application.

How to proceed

Submission and processing of the application

The subsidy application must be filed before 1 July, using a special form, with the Ministry of the Civil Service and Administrative Reform (ministère de la Fonction publique et de la Réforme administrative) (Service for Interest Subsidies), which establishes an application file.

Requests for interest subsidy forms should be made at the beginning of the year, by telephone or e-mail, specifying the applicant's national identification number.

If the application is returned for the current year, another application is automatically sent in April of the following year.

If the application is not returned, the file remains on standby until the 15 years have elapsed.

The files are closed after 15 years from the year following the date of the first housing loan.

The subsidy is granted for the term of the loan(s) taken out for a given dwelling, and may not exceed a maximum of 15 years.

For the purposes of granting the interest subsidy and applying the amortisation schedule, only those years for which the subsidy was requested and granted are considered. The first application may be made the year following that in which all or part of the loaned amount was made available to the beneficiaries. In the event of several loans for a single dwelling, the same amortisation schedule will apply to all of the loans.

In the dwelling is being built or transformed, it must be occupied or reoccupied within a period of 2 years as of 1 January of the year following that in which the first application was filed. The Minister for the Civil Service and Administrative Reform may grant an exemption.

In the event of the sale of a dwelling for which an interest subsidy was obtained, and the purchase of a new dwelling, or in the event that a household is dissolved, the amortisation plan continues to apply. In the latter case, each of the former partners can continue to receive the subsidy during the remaining term provided for in the amortisation plan, as long as they meet all of the required conditions.

The employee must provide all information and details to confirm they fulfil all of the conditions for the granting of the subsidy. In the event of false statements, inaccurate information, an administrative error or a failure to comply with the 2-year occupancy period, the beneficiary may be required to reimburse the subsidy.

Amount of interest subsidy

To calculate the subsidy, the family status and balance of the home loan(s) on 1 January of the year for which the subsidy is requested are considered.

The amount of the interest subsidy is calculated with a cap of EUR 150,000, with a 15-year amortisation schedule starting from the date on which the first housing loan was taken out. For an employee or household without any dependent children, the subsidy is 0.50 %, calculated on the balance of the loan, multiplied by the rate specified in the amortisation schedule. It is increased by 0.50 % for each dependant child.

A dependant child is a child for whom the applicant receives family benefits, or a child up to the age of 27 who is covered by the applicant's health insurance, who lives with the applicant in the dwelling and who has been declared as living there.

For beneficiaries of an effective interest rate below the 2 % reference rate, the calculated subsidy is decreased by the difference between this reference rate and the effective rate of the loan(s) taken out.

No subsidy is allocated if the total amount calculated is less than EUR 25.

Note that public sector employees may not combine the interest subsidy with favourable rates on mortgages granted to either them or their spouse/partner by their public or private sector employer.

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Als Angehöriger des öffentlichen Dienstes eine Zinssubvention beantragen

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am 04.02.2019

Unter bestimmten Bedingungen und nach festgelegten Modalitäten wird Staatsbediensteten (die dem allgemeinen Statut der Staatsbeamten, den Bestimmungen für Staatsangestellte oder dem Kollektivvertrag für Arbeitnehmer im Staatsdienst, die für Verwaltungsbehörden und Dienststellen des Staates oder öffentliche Einrichtungen tätig sind, unterliegen), die ein Wohnungsdarlehen aufgenommen haben, eine Zinssubvention gewährt.

Die Zinssubvention ist eine Zinsbeihilfe des Staates, die gewährt werden kann, um die Belastungen zur Rückzahlung eines Hypothekendarlehens zu vermindern, das für den Bau, den Erwerb oder den Umbau von Wohneigentum, das als dauerhafter Hauptwohnsitz dient, aufgenommen wurde.

Zielgruppe

Die Subvention wird im aktiven Dienst befindlichen Angehörigen des öffentlichen Dienstes gewährt, die zum 1. Januar des Jahres, für das die Subvention beantragt wird, mindestens ein Dienstjahr vollendet haben, jedoch höchstens für 15 Jahre. Wenn beide Ehe-/Lebenspartner Angehörige des öffentlichen Dienstes sind, muss einer der Partner diese Bedingung erfüllen.

Je Familie oder Haushaltsgemeinschaft wird nur eine einzige Zinssubvention gewährt.

Eine Haushaltsgemeinschaft ist eine Lebensgemeinschaft aus 2 Personen in einer Paarbeziehung, unabhängig von der rechtlichen Form dieser Gemeinschaft.

Falls dem Begünstigten diese Zulage beim Eintritt in den Ruhestand noch gewährt wird, besteht der Anspruch fort, sofern er zum 1. Januar des laufenden Jahres mindestens ein unterhaltsberechtigtes Kind hat.

Voraussetzungen

Ein Darlehensnehmer, der die Zinssubvention in Anspruch nehmen möchte, muss spätestens zum 1. Januar des Jahres, für das die Subvention beantragt wird, bei einer in der Europäischen Union (EU) und im Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum (EWR) zugelassenen Bank ein Hypothekendarlehen für folgenden Zweck aufgenommen haben:

  • für den Bau;
  • für den Erwerb;
  • für den Umbau;

von Wohneigentum, das sich innerhalb des Staatsgebiets des Großherzogtums Luxemburg befindet.

Unter Wohneigentum ist nur die Immobilie zu verstehen, über die der Angehörige des öffentlichen Dienstes oder seine Haushaltsgemeinschaft verfügt/verfügen wird und die er tatsächlich und ständig bewohnt/bewohnen wird.

Der Angehörige des öffentlichen Dienstes sowie sein Ehe-/Lebenspartner dürfen am 1. Januar des Jahres der Antragstellung weder Eigentümer noch Miteigentümer oder Nutznießer einer Immobilie in Luxemburg oder im Ausland sein.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Einreichung und Bearbeitung des Antrags

Der Antrag auf Gewährung der Subvention muss vor dem 1. Juli eines jeden Jahres unter Verwendung eines speziellen Formulars bei der Abteilung Zinssubvention (Service des subventions d’intérêt) des Ministeriums für den öffentlichen Dienst (Ministère de la Fonction publique) eingereicht werden, die die zu prüfenden Unterlagen zusammenstellt.

Die Formulare zur Beantragung der Zinssubvention können zu Beginn des Jahres telefonisch oder per E-Mail unter Angabe der nationalen Identifikationsnummer des Antragstellers angefordert werden.

Wird für das laufende Jahr der Antrag zurückgesandt, wird automatisch im April des darauffolgenden Jahres ein neuer Antrag zugesandt.

Wird der Antrag nicht zurückgesandt, bleibt der Vorgang bis zum Ablauf der 15 Jahre unbearbeitet.

Die Subvention wird für die Laufzeit des/der für dieselbe Immobilie aufgenommenen Darlehen(s) gewährt, jedoch höchstens für 15 Jahre.

Hinsichtlich der Vergabe einer Zinssubvention und des Inkrafttretens des Tilgungsplans werden lediglich die Jahre berücksichtigt, für die auf diesen Antrag hin eine Subvention beantragt und gewährt wird, wobei der 1. Antrag direkt nach dem Jahr erfolgen kann, in dem der Darlehensbetrag den Begünstigten ganz oder teilweise zur Verfügung gestellt wird. Bei mehreren Darlehen für dieselbe Immobilie gilt derselbe Tilgungsplan für alle Darlehen.

Im Falle des Baus oder Umbaus muss die Immobilie innerhalb von 2 Jahren ab dem 1. Januar des Jahres, das auf das Jahr des 1. Antrags folgt, bezogen bzw. erneut bezogen werden. Der Minister für den öffentlichen Dienst kann eine Befreiung bewilligen.

Im Falle des Verkaufs der Immobilie, für die die Zinssubvention gewährt wurde, und des Kaufs einer neuen Immobilie oder im Falle der Auflösung der Haushaltsgemeinschaft bleibt der Tilgungsplan weiterhin in Kraft. In diesem Fall kann jeder der ehemaligen Partner die Subvention während der vorgesehenen Restlaufzeit des Tilgungsplans nutzen, sofern alle Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind.

Der Angehörige des öffentlichen Dienstes muss alle Auskünfte und Daten beibringen, die erforderlich sind, um die Erfüllung der Bedingungen zu überprüfen. Bei falschen oder ungenauen Angaben, einem Fehler seitens der Verwaltung oder Nichteinhaltung der Frist für den Bezug der Immobilie innerhalb von 2 Jahren muss die Subvention gegebenenfalls zurückgezahlt werden.

Höhe der Zinssubvention

Bei der Berechnung der Subvention werden die familiäre Situation und die Restschuld des/der Wohnungsdarlehen zum 1. Januar des Jahres berücksichtigt, für das die Subvention beantragt wird.

Der Subventionsbetrag wird für eine Höchstgrenze von 150.000 Euro und einen Tilgungsplan mit einer Laufzeit von 15 Jahren ermittelt. Bei einem Angehörigen des öffentlichen Dienstes oder einer Haushaltsgemeinschaft ohne unterhaltsberechtigte Kinder beträgt die Subvention 0,50 %, berechnet auf die Restschuld des Darlehens und multipliziert mit dem Zinssatz laut Tilgungsplan. Sie wird für jedes unterhaltsberechtigte Kind um 0,50 % erhöht.

Ein unterhaltsberechtigtes Kind ist ein Kind, für das der Antragsteller, sein Ehepartner oder sein eingetragener Lebenspartner Kindergeld erhält, oder ein Kind bis zum Alter von 27 Jahren, das über die Mitgliedschaft des Antragstellers, des Ehepartners oder des eingetragenen Lebenspartners bei der Krankenversicherung mitversichert ist, das mit dem Antragsteller in der Unterkunft wohnt und dort gemeldet ist.

Bei Begünstigten eines effektiven Zinssatzes unter dem Referenzzinssatz von 2 % wird die errechnete Subvention um die Differenz zwischen diesem Referenzzinssatz und dem effektiven Zinssatz des oder der aufgenommenen Darlehen(s) gemindert.

Es wird keine Subvention gewährt, wenn der errechnete Gesamtbetrag unter 25 Euro liegt.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am