Joining the Luxembourg national library

The Luxembourg national library (Bibliothèque nationale de Luxembourg – BnL) holds a copy of all publications in Luxembourg and all writings published abroad which pertain to the Grand Duchy. Besides its mission of conserving publications collectively referred to as 'Luxemburgensia', the BnL offers readers an extensive non-Luxembourgish corpus, including collections of books, newspapers and journals in a wide variety of disciplines. It also houses a media library, with classic audiovisual works and language-learning methods.

Thus, the BnL facilitates access to information for all.

After joining the national library, readers have access to:

  • all of the books in both the Luxembourgish and non-Luxembourgish collections;
  • newspapers and journals, including every publication by the Luxembourg press;
  • Luxembourgish films, audiobooks and music CDs from the media library.

They also have access to 'eluxemburgensia'—i.e. to resources digitised by the BnL, including Tageblatt, Luxemburger Wort, d’Lëtzebuerger Land, and a broad collection of scientific articles and journals in electronic format.

Who is concerned

Anyone, aged 14 or over, resident in Luxembourg or in the surrounding regions (the Asylum seekers who do not yet have a fixed address in Luxembourg may nevertheless access the services of the BnL, provided they satisfy certain preconditions.

Prerequisites

To join the BnL and gain access to the services of the library, interested individuals must:

  • be at least 14 years old and live in Luxembourg or the surrounding regions; or
  • be a student enrolled with a State-approved higher-education institution. 
Asylum seekers must produce a copy of the certificate of application for international protection (pink sheet).

Costs

Registration with the Luxembourg national library is completely free of charge.

How to proceed

Initial registration

The initial registration must be made in person, at the front desk of the BnL. A valid identity document (ID card or passport) will be required. Proof of address may also be required.

Students must also provide proof of enrolment at the institution in question (secondary school, university, college, etc.) and their home address. They may register either for the academic year or for the 2-year BnL registration period.

Asylum seekers must show the certificate of application for international protection (pink sheet).

New users are issued a reader's card when they register.

The validity of the reader's card, and hence of the membership, is 2 years. At the end of the 2-year period, the validity of the card can be extended on request, after confirmation of the details on the registration application.

In the case of asylum seekers, the reader's card is valid for 6 months and can be renewed if needed.

Activating the card

Once they are in possession of their reader's card, users immediately have access to:

Account management

After registering, readers can perform documentary searches using the search engine, a-z.lu. To sign in to the system, the user must provide their reader number (appearing on the card) and a temporary password. It is recommended that users change the temporary password when they first sing in for greater security.

On the website, readers can:

  • search for publications and reserve them online;
  • view their current loans and lending history;
  • view their orders/reservations.

Reregistering

Reader's card can be renewed for free at the front desk of the BnL, or by telephone or e-mail. Readers need only confirm the details in the registration file or report any necessary changes (postal address, telephone number, or e-mail address, for example).

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Last update

Sich bei der Nationalbibliothek anmelden

Die Nationalbibliothek Luxemburg (Bibliothèque nationale de Luxembourg - BnL) enthält alle in Luxemburg aufgelegten und im Ausland im Zusammenhang mit Luxemburg veröffentlichten Publikationen. Neben diesem Auftrag der Erhaltung dieser „Luxemburgensia“ genannten Publikationen stellt die BnL ihren Lesern einen großen Bestand an nicht luxemburgischen Werken zur Verfügung, zu dem Sammlungen von Büchern, Zeitungen und Zeitschriften aus allen Themenbereichen zählen. Hinzu kommt eine Mediathek mit den Klassikern aus dem audiovisuellen Bereich und Sprachlernmethoden.

So erleichtert die BnL der Allgemeinheit den Zugang zu Informationen.

Nach der Anmeldung bei der Nationalbibliothek Luxemburg kann der Leser Folgendes nutzen:

  • alle Bücher aus den luxemburgischen und fremdsprachigen Beständen;
  • Zeitungen und Zeitschriften, darunter alle Titel der luxemburgischen Presse;
  • luxemburgische Filme, Hörbücher und Musik-CDs aus der Mediathek.

Er hat ebenfalls Zugang zu eluxemburgensia, d. h. zu den von der BnL digitalisierten Ressourcen, darunter Tageblatt, Luxemburger Wort, d’Lëtzebuerger Land, sowie zu einer umfangreichen Sammlung von wissenschaftlichen Artikeln und Zeitschriften in elektronischer Form.

Zielgruppe

Wer mindestens 14 Jahre alt ist, in Luxemburg oder den angrenzenden Regionen (Großregion) wohnt, kann sich bei der BnL anmelden und ihre Dienstleistungen in Anspruch nehmen. Personen, die internationalen Schutz beantragt haben und daher noch keinen festen Wohnsitz in Luxemburg haben, können dennoch die Dienstleistungen der BnL nutzen, sofern sie bestimmte Zulassungsvoraussetzungen erfüllen.

Voraussetzungen

Um die Dienstleistungen der BnL zu nutzen und sich anzumelden, muss man:

  • mindestens 14 Jahre alt sein und in Luxemburg oder den angrenzenden Regionen wohnhaft sein oder;
  • an einer staatlich zugelassenen Hochschule als Studierender immatrikuliert sein.
Personen, die internationalen Schutz beantragt haben, müssen die Bescheinigung über die Einreichung des Antrags auf internationalen Schutz (rosafarbener Antragsbogen) mitbringen.

Kosten

Für die Anmeldung bei der Nationalbibliothek Luxemburg fallen keinerlei Gebühren an.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Erstanmeldung

Die Erstanmeldung muss persönlich am Empfang der BnL gegen Vorlage eines gültigen Ausweisdokuments (Personalausweis oder Reisepass) erfolgen. Es kann ein Nachweis des Wohnsitzes verlangt werden.

Schüler und Studierende müssen ebenfalls einen Nachweis für den Besuch der jeweiligen Einrichtung (Gymnasium, Universität, Schule usw.) vorlegen und ihre Wohnsitzadresse angeben. Sie können sich für die Dauer eines Schul- bzw. Studienjahres oder für die übliche Mitgliedschaftsdauer bei der BnL (2 Jahre) anmelden.

Personen, die internationalen Schutz beantragt haben, müssen den Nachweis über die Einreichung ihres Antrags (rosafarbener Antragsbogen) vorlegen.

Sobald die Anmeldung erfolgt ist, wird dem neuen Nutzer ein Leseausweis ausgestellt.

Die Gültigkeit des Leseausweises und somit der Mitgliedschaft beträgt 2 Jahre. Nach Ablauf der Gültigkeit kann der Ausweis nach Überprüfung der Daten der Anmeldeunterlagen auf Antrag verlängert werden.

Bei Personen, die internationalen Schutz beantragt haben, ist der Leseausweis 6 Monate gültig und kann bei Bedarf verlängert werden.

Aktivierung des Ausweises

Sobald der Nutzer im Besitz seines Leseausweises ist, hat er sofort folgende Möglichkeiten:

Kontoverwaltung

Nach der Anmeldung kann der Leser die Suchmaschine a-z.lu für seine Dokumentensuche nutzen. Er muss sich mit seiner Lesernummer (auf dem Ausweis eingetragen) und seinem vorläufigen Passwort einloggen. Aus Sicherheitsgründen wird empfohlen, das Passwort bei der ersten Nutzung zu ändern.

Auf der Website kann der Leser:

  • Werke suchen und online reservieren;
  • seine aktuellen und bisherigen Leihvorgänge abrufen;
  • seine Bestellungen/Reservierungen einsehen.

Verlängerung/Erneuerung der Anmeldung

Die Verlängerung des Leseausweises ist kostenlos am Empfang der BnL, telefonisch oder per E-Mail möglich. Es genügt, die Daten der Anmeldeunterlagen zu bestätigen oder etwaige Änderungen (Postanschrift, Telefonnummer, E-Mail-Adresse) mitzuteilen.

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am