Registering a young person in the intermediate or higher cycle of public secondary technical education

Update in progress

The intermediate and higher cycle of secondary technical education aims to have students learn a profession and prepare for the higher education cycle. In some cases, this level entails completing a practical component at a company under an apprenticeship contract, and attending courses at a technical college.

At the end of the 9th class, students receive guidance counselling based on their academic performance in the lower cycle of secondary technical education (enseignement secondaire technique - EST) as to whether to pursue technical or vocational training in various areas: agricultural, artisanal, commercial, hospitality and tourism, industrial, domestic, paramedical and social.

Schooling is mandatory up to 16 years of age. A student who turns 15 and can begin an apprenticeship satisfies the schooling obligation by attending vocational courses at the same time (practical training with an employer combined with theory-based training at the secondary school).

The intermediate and higher cycles of the EST comprise 3 distinct systems and are spread out over a number of different years depending on the chosen career path (between 2 and 5 years):

  • the technical system (10th-13th, 14th for health and social service professions), which culminates with a technical diploma;
  • the technician training system (10th-13th), which leads to a technician's diploma;
  • the vocational system (10th-12th), which culminates with a vocational aptitude diploma (diplôme d'aptitude professionelle - DAP) or a certificate of vocational ability (certificat de capacité professionnelle - CCP).

Who is concerned

  • EST technical system: for students who, after theory-based learning in 9th class, wish to acquire extensive technical, theoretical and practical training;
  • EST technician system: for students who, after theoretical or general study in 9th class, wish to acquire both theory-based and practical vocational training;
  • EST professional system: for students who, after the 9th class (most often a practical class) and during a 2-3-year training program, are seeking to directly obtain a vocational qualification.

Prerequisites

  • In order to gain access to the technical system, the student must have successfully completed a theory-based 9th class, following the guidance of the steering committee. Furthermore, depending on the divisions chosen, students must meet certain criteria for specific admission to the chosen division – particularly in relation to the annual grades obtained;
  • In order to gain access to the technical system, the student must have successfully completed a theory-based or general 9th class, following the guidance of the steering committee. A student who holds a vocational skills certificate (CATP) or a DAP belonging to the same family of professions may also be accepted into the 12th technical training class. Students must also, depending on the divisions chosen, meet certain specific admission criteria – particularly in regard to the annual grades obtained;
  • In order to get an apprenticeship while working towards a DAP (vocational system – introductory vocational training), the student must have successfully completed a 9th class (theoretical, general or practical), whereas the condition for granting of a CCP (vocational system – basic vocational training) only entails completion of the mandatory schooling.

How to proceed

Terms of registration for 10th class

At the end of the 9th theory, general or practical class, the student decides, based on the guidance received, which training program they will pursue in the next study cycle. Registration is not automatic: the student must complete their own registration for the 10th year (start of the intermediate cycle) – for example during the registration days held around mid-July.

The student must provide the following documents when submitting their application:

  • a registration form to be obtained from the secretary's office of the chosen secondary school;
  • the 9th class report cards;
  • the guidance received from the steering committee;
  • an extract of their birth certificate (to be requested from the communal administration).
Even if the student remains at their original secondary school, they must register to ensure a place is held for them.

To find out which secondary schools offer the chosen training program, it is useful to:

  • contact the secondary school to learn about the divisions offered;
  • obtain information from the Psycho-Social and School Assistance Department (Service psycho-social et d'accompagnement scolaires - SePAS) at the secondary school.

If the student has decided to pursue vocational training under an apprenticeship contract, they should contact the Vocational Guidance Department (Service de l'orientation professionnelle) of the National Employment Agency (Agence pour le développement de l'emploi - ADEM). They must sign an apprenticeship contract with the company or master craftsman/woman, and also register for additional courses at a technical high school.

Specific features of the 3 EST systems

Technical system


The technical system culminates with the secondary school technical diploma.

It consists of 3 divisions:

  • administrative and commercial;
  • general technical;
  • social service and health professions.

It includes 4 or 5 years of training (10th and 11th class of the intermediate cycle and 12th and 13th, or even 14th class of the higher cycle for social service and health professions). It provides access to higher and university education.

Technician training system

The technician training system culminates with a technician's diploma.

It consists of the following 3 divisions:

  • administrative and commercial;
  • agricultural;
  • artistic;
  • chemical;
  • electrotechnical;
  • civil engineering;
  • hotel and tourism;
  • computer science;
  • mechanics;
  • health and social service professions;
  • building equipment.

This extends to the 10th and 11th classes in the intermediate cycle and to the 12th and 13th classes in the higher cycle. This system primarily prepares students for the world of work. Students may take further, higher-level technical education in their chosen field of speciality.

Vocational system

Vocational diploma

In the vocational system, the 12th class or the 3-year apprenticeship culminates with the following certificates:

  • the DAP, issued upon completion of the introductory vocational training program. Holders of this certificate may continue their training to obtain a Master Craftsman's certificate (brevet de maîtrise) which allows them to work as a master craftsman;
  • the CCP, issued upon completion of basic vocational training, which offers a simplified version of the DAP program, especially in terms of theory-based training. It allows the holder to enter the workforce or to move into an introductory vocational training program.

Courses in the professional system are divided into modules.

Terms of registration for an apprenticeship with an employer

Around the beginning of the school year before an apprenticeship would begin, the student must contact the ADEM Vocational Guidance Department.

This ADEM department, and more specifically the Beruffsinformatiouns-Zentrum (BIZ), will provide students with all of the necessary information: open positions, apprenticeship terms, status on the job market, etc. If the student has not yet decided which profession to learn, they may also contact a guidance counsellor at the ADEM to schedule an interview.

Generally, the Vocational Guidance Department provides students with a list of businesses or master craftsmen seeking an apprentice. Students then individually schedule a meeting with one of these employer/mentors. If approved, they return to the ADEM, which provides them with the documents relating to the apprenticeship contract with their future mentor. The student must also register to simultaneously take classes at a technical college.

Apprenticeship contracts must be signed before 1 April, or more generally 1 October (last date to begin an apprenticeship).

Important dates when looking for an apprenticeship

Start of the school year before the apprenticeship

Consulting with the ADEM Vocational Guidance Department

End of school year (mid-July)

Presentation of the necessary documents to the Vocational Guidance Department to receive a letter of assignment for the training company, as well as a certificate for the technical college

Mid-September

Start of alternating courses

1 October

Last date to begin an apprenticeship

Who to contact

Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Double click to activate the map
Last update

Jugendliche für die Mittel- und Oberstufe des technischen Sekundarunterrichts an einer öffentlichen Schule anmelden

Wird derzeit aktualisiert

Ziel der Mittel- und Oberstufe des technischen Sekundarunterrichts ist das Erlernen eines Berufes sowie die Vorbereitung auf ein Hochschulstudium. Der Unterricht enthält in einigen Fällen einen praktischen Teil in einem Betrieb in Form eines Ausbildungsvertrags und den Besuch von Unterrichtseinheiten in einem technischen Gymnasium.

Am Ende der 9. Klasse wird der Schüler entsprechend seinen schulischen Leistungen in der Unterstufe des technischen Sekundarunterrichts (enseignement secondaire technique - EST) in Richtung einer technischen oder beruflichen Ausbildung in verschiedenen Bereichen orientiert: Landwirtschaft, Handwerk, kaufmännisches Gewerbe, Hotelgewerbe und Tourismus, Industrie, Haushalt, Gesundheitswesen und Sozialberufe.

Bis zum Alter von 16 Jahren besteht Schulpflicht. Schüler, die das 15. Lebensjahr erreicht haben und eine Ausbildung antreten können, kommen der Schulpflicht nach, indem sie den begleitenden Berufsschulunterricht besuchen (praktische Ausbildung im Ausbildungsbetrieb in Kombination mit einer theoretischen Ausbildung im Gymnasium).

Die Mittel- und Oberstufe des EST umfasst 3 verschiedene Ausbildungszweige und erstreckt sich je nach Orientierung auf eine bestimmte Anzahl an Jahren, (zwischen 2 und 5 Jahren):

  • den beruflich-technischen Ausbildungszweig (10.–13. Klasse, 14. Klasse für die Berufe der gesundheits- und sozialberuflichen Fachrichtung), der mit einem Abschlusszeugnis des technischen Sekundarunterrichts (Technisches Abitur) (diplôme de fin d'études secondaires techniques) abgeschlossen wird;
  • die Technikerausbildung (10.–13. Klasse), die mit dem Techniker-Diplom (technische Fachhochschulreife) (diplôme de technicien) abgeschlossen wird;
  • den berufsbildenden (dualen) Ausbildungszweig, der mit dem Diplom über die berufliche Reife (Gesellenbrief) (diplôme d'aptitude professionnelle - DAP) oder dem Berufsbefähigungszeugnis (certificat de capacité professionnelle - CCP) abgeschlossen wird.

Zielgruppe

  • Beruflich-technischer Ausbildungszweig des EST: für die Schüler, die nach der 9. Klasse des theoretischen Unterrichts (9e théorique) eine erweiterte technische, theoretische und praktische Ausbildung erwerben möchten.
  • Technikerausbildung des EST: für die Schüler, die nach der 9. Klasse des theoretischen Unterrichts (9e théorique) oder des Orientierungsunterrichts (9e polyvalente) eine sowohl theoretische als auch praktische Berufsausbildung erwerben möchten.
  • Berufsbildender (dualer) Ausbildungszweig des EST: für die Schüler, die nach einer 9. Klasse (in den meisten Fällen einer 9. Klasse des praxisbezogenen Unterrichts - 9e pratique) im Laufe einer 2- bis 3-jährigen Ausbildung einen direkten Zugang zu einer beruflichen Qualifikation suchen.

Voraussetzungen

  • Um den Unterricht im beruflich-technischen Ausbildungszweig fortzusetzen, müssen die Schüler gemäß dem Versetzungsbeschluss des Orientierungsrats eine 9. Klasse des theoretischen Unterrichts bestanden haben. Zudem müssen sie je nach gewählter Fachrichtung bestimmte fachrichtungsbezogene Zulassungsvoraussetzungen erfüllen, insbesondere in Bezug auf den Notendurchschnitt der erzielten Jahresnoten.
  • Um den Unterricht in der Technikerausbildung fortzusetzen, müssen die Schüler gemäß dem Versetzungsbeschluss des Orientierungsrats eine 9. Klasse des theoretischen oder des Orientierungsunterrichts bestanden haben. Zu einer 12. Klasse der Technikerausbildung können ebenfalls Inhaber einer CATP oder eines DAP aus der gleichen Handwerkssparte zugelassen werden. Zudem müssen sie je nach gewählter Fachrichtung bestimmte fachrichtungsbezogene Zulassungsvoraussetzungen erfüllen, insbesondere in Bezug auf den Notendurchschnitt der erzielten Jahresnoten.
  • Um eine Ausbildung im Hinblick auf den Erwerb eines Diploms über die berufliche Reife (Gesellenbrief) (diplôme d'aptitude professionnelle - DAP) (berufsbildender Ausbildungszweig - berufliche Erstausbildung) zu absolvieren, müssen die Schüler eine 9. Klasse (des theoretische, Orientierungs- oder praxisbezogenen Unterrichts) bestanden haben, während eine Zulassung zur Ausbildung im Hinblick auf das Berufsbefähigungszeugnis (certificat de capacité professionnelle - CCP) (berufsbildender Ausbildungszweig - berufliche Grundausbildung) lediglich eine beendete Schulpflicht voraussetzt.

Vorgehensweise und Details

Anmeldemodalitäten für die 10. Klasse

Am Ende der 9. Klasse des theoretischen, Orientierungs- oder praxisbezogenen Unterrichts entscheidet der Schüler auf der Grundlage des Orientierungsbescheids, in welchem Ausbildungszweig er seine Ausbildung fortsetzen möchte. Die Anmeldung erfolgt nicht automatisch: der Schüler muss sich selbst für die 10. Klasse (Beginn der Mittelstufe) anmelden, zum Beispiel anlässlich der speziellen Anmeldetage, die Mitte Juli stattfinden.

Die Bewerbung des Schülers muss folgende Unterlagen enthalten:

  • einen im jeweiligen Schulsekretariat erhältlichen Anmeldebogen;
  • die Zeugnisse der 9. Klasse;
  • den Orientierungsbescheid;
  • eine Abschrift der Geburtsurkunde (erhältlich im jeweiligen Gemeindesekretariat).
Selbst wenn der Schüler an der gleichen Schule bleibt, muss er sich anmelden, damit ihm ein Platz gesichert wird.

Um genau zu wissen, in welchen Gymnasien die gewählte Ausbildung absolviert werden kann, ist es empfehlenswert:

  • sich beim entsprechenden Gymnasium über die angebotenen Fachrichtungen und
  • bei dem Dienst für schulpsychologische Beratung und Schulorientierung (Service psycho-social et d'accompagnement scolaires - SePAS) zu erkundigen.

Wenn der Schüler die Entscheidung getroffen hat, eine Berufsausbildung unter Ausbildungsvertrag zu absolvieren, muss er sich an die Berufsberatungsstelle (Service de l'orientation professionnelle) der Arbeitsagentur (Administration de l'emploi - ADEM) wenden. Er muss einen Ausbildungsvertrag mit einem Betrieb oder einem Handwerksmeister abschließen und sich ebenfalls für den Berufsschulunterricht an einem technischen Gymnasium anmelden.

Besonderheiten der 3 Ausbildungszweige des EST

Beruflich-technischer Ausbildungszweig


Der beruflich-technische Ausbildungszweig wird mit dem Abschlusszeugnis des technischen Sekundarunterrichts (Technisches Abitur) (Diplôme de fin d'études secondaires) abgeschlossen.

Er umfasst 3 Fachrichtungen:

  • verwaltungstechnische und kaufmännische Fachrichtung;
  • allgemeine technische Fachrichtung;
  • gesundheits- und sozialberufliche Fachrichtung.

Er zählt 4 oder 5 Ausbildungsjahre (10. und 11. Klasse der Mittelstufe und 12. und 13. Klasse der Oberstufe bzw. 14. Klasse der Oberstufe für die gesundheits- und sozialberufliche Fachrichtung). Er berechtigt zum Hochschul- oder Universitätsstudium.

Technikerausbildung

Der beruflich-technischer Ausbildungszweig wird mit dem Techniker-Diplom (Technisches Abitur) (diplôme de technicien) abgeschlossen.

Er umfasst 3 Fachrichtungen:

  • verwaltungstechnische und kaufmännische Fachrichtung;
  • Landwirtschaft;
  • Kunst;
  • Chemie;
  • Elektrotechnik;
  • Hoch- und Tiefbau (génie civil);
  • Hotelwesen und Tourismus;
  • Informatik;
  • Mechanik;
  • Gesundheitswesen und Sozialberufe;
  • Gebäudetechnik.

Sie erstreckt sich über die 10. und 11. Klasse der Mittelstufe und die 12. und 13. Klasse der Oberstufe. Dieser Ausbildungszweig bereitet in erster Linie auf das Berufsleben vor. In der gewählten Fachrichtung ist jedoch auch ein Fachhochschulstudium möglich.

Berufsbildender (dualer) Ausbildungszweig

Diplome des berufsbildenden Ausbildungszweiges

Im berufsbildenden Ausbildungszweig können die 12. Klasse oder die 3 Ausbildungsjahre mit folgenden Zeugnissen abgeschlossen werden:

  • das Diplom über die berufliche Reife (Gesellenbrief) (Diplôme d'aptitude professionelle - DAP) wird nach der beruflichen Erstausbildung (Formation professionelle initiale) ausgestellt. Inhaber dieses Diploms können ihre Ausbildung im Hinblick auf den Erhalt eines Meisterbriefes fortsetzen und sich anschließend als Handwerksmeister niederlassen;
  • das Berufsbefähigungszeugnis (Certificat de capacité professionnelle - CCP) wird nach der beruflichen Grundausbildung (Formation professionnelle de base) ausgestellt, welche vor allem in theoretischer Hinsicht ein vereinfachtes Programm im Vergleich zur DAP-Ausbildung anbietet. Es ermöglicht entweder den Einstieg in den Arbeitsmarkt oder den Übergang zur beruflichen Erstausbildung.

Der Unterricht im berufsbildenden Ausbildungszweig wird in Form von Modulen erteilt.

Anmeldemodalitäten für die Lehre bei einem Arbeitgeber

Zu Beginn des dem Antritt der Lehre vorangehenden Schuljahres muss der Schüler sich an die Berufsberatungsstelle (Service de l'orientation professionnelle) der Arbeitsagentur (Agence pour le développement de l'emploi - ADEM) wenden.

Bei dieser Beratungsstelle der ADEM und insbesondere im Berufsinformationszentrum (BIZ) erhalten die Schüler die notwendigen Informationen: verfügbare Plätze, Ausbildungsvoraussetzungen, Arbeitsmarktlage usw. Sollte ein Schüler sich noch nicht für einen Beruf entschieden haben, kann er sich ebenfalls für ein Gespräch an einen Orientierungsberater der ADEM wenden.

In der Regel erhält er bei der Berufsberatungsstelle eine Liste der Unternehmen oder Handwerksmeister, die auf der Suche nach Auszubildenden sind. Der Schüler vereinbart anschließend selbst einen Termin in einem dieser Ausbildungsbetriebe. Im Falle einer Einigung kehrt er zur ADEM zurück und erhält dort die nötigen Unterlagen für einen Ausbildungsvertrag mit seinem zukünftigen Ausbilder. Der Schüler muss sich ebenfalls für den begleitenden Berufsschulunterricht in einem technischen Gymnasium anmelden.

Die Ausbildungsverträge müssen vor dem 1. April bzw. vor dem 1. Oktober (Fristen, um die Ausbildung zu beginnen) abgeschlossen werden.

Wichtige Etappen bei der Suche nach einem Ausbildungsplatz

Beginn des Schuljahres vor Antritt der Ausbildung

Beratung durch die Berufsberatungsstelle der ADEM

Ende des Schuljahres (Mitte Juli)

Vorlage der erforderlichen Unterlagen bei der Berufsberatungsstelle, um eine Meldeaufforderung (Carte d'assignation) für den Ausbildungsbetrieb sowie eine Bescheinigung für das technische Gymnasium zu bekommen

Mitte September

Beginn des alternierenden Unterrichts

1. Oktober

Letzter Termin, um die Ausbildung zu beginnen

Zuständige Kontaktstellen

Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Doppelklick, um die Karte zu aktivieren
Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am