Indirect Tax Authority

This page was last modified on 04-01-2018

The Luxembourg Land Registration and Estates Department (Administration de l'enregistrement et des domaines - AED) is one of the 3 tax authorities in Luxembourg, along with the Luxembourg Inland Revenue (Administration des contributions directes - ACD) and the Customs and Excise Agency (Administration des douanes et accises). All fees, taxes and duties related to the legal circulation of goods in particular fall under its responsibility and constitute the main part of indirect taxation.

The AED's online telephone directory allows you to contact any of its departments directly.


The roles of the AED mainly concern the control and recovery of:

The AED is also responsible for the inscription of last wills and testaments.


The Indirect Tax Authority consists of a management team and different departments (taxation departments).


Management deals with all cases that are not settled by the tax departments, such as general affairs, appeals, the preparation of legislation for the attention of the government, the drafting of circulars, etc. It also oversees the inspection and fraud prevention services.

VAT department on the AED website

The VAT department has 12 offices whose main task is to oversee and collect value added tax (VAT).

This tax on turnover is levied on final consumption. The standard VAT rate is 17 %. In some cases, however, citizens can benefit from a reduced VAT rate. In order to encourage the construction of dwellings, and under certain circumstances, housing VAT (TVA Logement) may be refunded or applied straight away at a rate of 3 %, instead of the standard rate of 17 %. Applications must be made to Bureau d'imposition XII – Service Agrément.

Registration and receipts department

This department groups the different registration offices. It collects taxes, duties and levies based on the legal circulation of goods and concerns, in particular:

  • documentation and transfers between living persons. This tax, referred to as the registration fee includes, in particular, fees to be paid when purchasing property, as well as the tax credit granted once the notarial deed documenting the purchase of a personal residence has been drafted. Depending on what has been requested, interested parties must contact one of the competent registration offices in their local region;
  • inheritances and transfers upon death. These inheritance taxes (charged on the value of the estate of a deceased Luxembourg resident) and transfer tax (due, in the event of the death of a non-resident, on the value of property located in the Grand Duchy belonging to the deceased) are estate taxes which come into force following a death;
  • tax stamp contributions and the management of stores selling stamps (dimension stamps (timbres de dimension), adhesive stamps, passports, hunting and fishing licences, ID cards for foreign nationals, and chancellery duties).

Mortgage conservation offices

The AED has several mortgage conservation offices which carry out the formalities involved in registering mortgages and consolidating property transfers as well as collecting mortgage tax.

State domain offices

The AED also has several offices that are responsible for managing the State's property.

Indirect Tax Authority
1-3, Avenue Guillaume
L-1651 Luxembourg

Postal box
B.P. 31 L-2010
Phone: (+352) 247 80800
Fax: (+352) 247 90400
Double click to activate

Einregistrierungs- und Domänenverwaltung

Die Einregistrierungs- und Domänenverwaltung (Administration de l’enregistrement et des domaines - AED) ist eine der 3 Finanzverwaltungen des Großherzogtums Luxemburg, neben der Steuerverwaltung (Administration des contributions directes - ACD) und der Zoll- und Verbrauchsteuerverwaltung (Administration des douanes et accises). Sämtliche Gebühren, Steuern und Abgaben mit Bezug auf Rechtsgeschäfte mit Gütern fallen in ihren Zuständigkeitsbereich und bilden den wesentlichen Teil der sogenannten indirekten Steuern.

Um sich direkt an eine Abteilung der Einregistrierungs- und Domänenverwaltung zu wenden, ist ein Online-Telefonverzeichnis verfügbar.

Aufgaben

Die steuerlichen Aufgaben der AED betreffen hauptsächlich die Kontrolle und Beitreibung:

Aufgabe der AED ist ebenfalls die Eintragung von letztwilligen Verfügungen.

Organisation

Die Einregistrierungs- und Domänenverwaltung setzt sich aus der Direktion und den verschiedenen Abteilungen (Steuerabteilungen) zusammen.

Direktionsabteilung

Die Direktion kümmert sich um alle Angelegenheiten, die nicht von den Steuerabteilungen übernommen werden, wie z.B. allgemeine Angelegenheiten, Widersprüche, Vorbereitung von Gesetzestexten für die Regierung, Verfassen von Rundschreiben, usw. Sie überwacht zudem die Inspektions- und Betrugsbekämpfungsstellen.

MwSt.-Abteilung

Die Mehrwertsteuerabteilung zählt 12 Büros, deren Hauptaufgabe in der Kontrolle und Beitreibung der Mehrwertsteuer (MwSt.) besteht.

Diese Umsatzsteuer wird auf dem Endverbrauch erhoben und beträgt im Normalfall 17 %. In bestimmten Fällen kann der Bürger in den Genuss einer Reduzierung dieses Prozentsatzes gelangen. Um den Wohnungsbau zu fördern, ermöglicht die Mehrwertsteuer Wohnungsbau (TVA Logement) unter gewissen Bedingungen die Erstattung oder die Direktanwendung eines Prozentsatzes von 3 % anstelle der üblichen 17 %, wobei der entsprechende Antrag an das Steueramt XII - Abteilung Zulassungen (Bureau d'imposition XII - Service Agrément) zu richten ist.

Einregistrierungs- und Einnahmenabteilung

Zu dieser Abteilung zählen mehrere Einregistrierungsämter. Sie erhebt die Steuern, Gebühren und Abgaben auf Rechtsgeschäfte mit Gütern, welche insbesondere anfallen auf:

  • Handlungen und Übertragungen unter Lebenden. Diese Steuer namens Einregistrierungsgebühr umfasst namentlich die beim Erwerb einer Immobilie zu zahlenden Gebühren, sowie die Bewilligung der Steuergutschrift, die nach Aufnahme der notariellen Urkunde über den Erwerb von persönlich genutztem Wohnraum erfolgt. Entsprechend seinem Antrag, muss der Betroffene sich mit einer der in seiner Region zuständigen Einregistrierungsstelle in Verbindung setzen.
  • Erbschaften und Übertragungen im Todesfall. Die Erbschaftssteuer (welche auf dem Wert der gesamten Erbmasse eines Einwohners des Großherzogtums erhoben wird) und die Grunderwerbssteuer (welche im Todesfall eines Nicht-Gebietsansässigen auf dem Wert der im Großherzogtum gelegenen Immobilien des Verstorbenen erhoben wird) sind Verkehrsteuern, die infolge eines Todesfalls anfallen.
  • die Steuerentrichtung durch Steuermarken und die Verwaltung der Marken (Gebührenmarken, Wertstempel, Reisepässe, Jagd- und Fischereischeine, Fremdenkarten, Verwaltungsgebühren).

Die Hypothekenämter

Die AED verfügt über mehrere Hypothekenämter, die die Formalitäten bezüglich der Verwahrung von Hypotheken und der Konsolidierung der Immobilienübertragungen sowie der Erhebung der Hypothekengebühr erledigen.

Staatsdomänenabteilung

Zur AED gehören ebenfalls mehrere Ämter, deren Aufgabe die Verwaltung der Staatsdomänen ist.


Einregistrierungs- und Domänenverwaltung
1-3, Avenue Guillaume
L-1651 Luxemburg
Großherzogtum Luxemburg

Postanschrift
Postfach 31 L-2010
Tel: (+352) 247 80800
Fax: (+352) 247 90400
Doppelklick zum aktivieren
Bus